We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it :-)”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Loved it :-)”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Having lived in Lancaster as The Midland fell into disrepair, we watched it be boarded up & hoped that one day it would be reopened in all it's glory.
Having celebrated a few family events at the Midland, we never managed to stay - until this week.
Memory lane, fabulous !!! Having moved away some 12 years ago - to spend the time at The Midland, enjoying the coast, the stone jetty, into Lancater - all fantastic.
And then the Midland - fabulous !!! Rooms amazing, breakfast fantastic, the bar, the cocktails, the staff, everything just fantastic.
Loved it x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Ann W

Many thanks for a great review of your long-awaited stay at The Midland.
I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    523
    135
    58
    38
See reviews for
333
1,459
56
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

What a treat to see this lovely building restored to its former glory! The Midland sits well on this rather austere but very beautiful stretch of the Fylde coast. It must surely be the jewel in Morecambe's coronet. The comfortable bedrooms have been creatively re-configured offering every convenience for the 21st century traveller whilst the public spaces have been carefully conserved and remain faithful to the era. Well done Urban Splash!
Sadly the British weather is totally unsympathetic to this style of building. Rain creates water stains down the rendered walls and grey skies cast the whole structure in a dark depressing style reminiscent of the brutalist/communist-block architecture of the 1960's. Enhanced by sunlight, the building demands a high level of maintenance to assure its dazzling beauty. Only five years after its re-opening the exterior is starting to show signs of "wear" and the current owners have a job on their hands if they are to keep the place looking tip-top. Lakeland Hotels have invested a great deal in this project and have taken pains to train their young staff well. They deserve to succeed and I wish them well in their future efforts. We will watch this place with interest and are planning a return visit in the summer.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park which was well appointed, quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thursdayschild1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear thursdayschild1948

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your recent stay.
I was pleased to read that this was enjoyabe and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We cannot understand some of the published adverse reviews for this hotel because it provides an entireky different atmosphere to most whilst maintaining a high standard of accommodation. The staff were welcoming and helpful, the room comfortable and well equiped with a delightful sea view. The good selection of food was outstanding and was well presented. The wine list offered a sensible range of quality wines. I observed how well a lady and her guide dog were looked after by the attentive staff who were careing but not intrusive. All in all a first class experience to be repeated.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must as it is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear John C

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay.
It is certainly a challenge to meet the individual expectations each and every guest, bearing in mind the 'unique' nature of the hotel, although this is of course our ultimate goal!
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I took my husband to The Midland for a birthday wekend. Admittedly we had fantastic weather for November, but the location of the hotel is fantastic with wonderful views, the styling both in the rooms and the communal areas, is really interesting and stimulating, and the staff are exceptionally attentive and obliging.

All the guests are made to feel welcome. The food was good, both in the restaurant and the bar.

We would be happy to return and would recommend the hotel to others. Thankyou Midland for a memorable weekend!!

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room sea facing which was fine, but I wonder if views are even better higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear smonton

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your recent stay at The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back soon and, whilst all our sea -facing rooms benefit from fantastic views, sitting on one of our third floor balconies watching the sun set over Morecambe Bay can be a particularly memorable experience!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A throw back to old fashioned values where you were made to feel welcome from the start with excellent customer service thrown in for good value. Afternoon tea overlooking the bay was a delight and the hotel was peace and tranquility itself, offering a good nights sleep after a lovely meal. Good location with a walk along the prom to burn off the calories. Intend to return.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view overlooking the prom and jetty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Adrian396

Many thanks for taking the time to review your afternoon tea at The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Having spent 1 night at this delightful hotel the staff were attentive but not intrusive and very helpful we stopped in room 217 very nice with a bizare but interesting cuboard space and bathroom the room was warm and cozy and with having a dog was nice wish we had a see view but understand with having the dog only certain rooms available will return shame about the town that needs more tlc

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Robin D

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at The Midland. Just to clarify, our dog friendly policy does apply to all room types, and there is no restriction on sea view rooms. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future when you can all enjoy the view!

Best regards
Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Our second visit and we are already planing a third.Warm welcome.....good food and excellent value for money.This hotel has got it right and fully deserves its good reputation in our opinion.Do go and see for yourself.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Derek G

Many thanks for your review of your stay at The Midland.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards
Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing