We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quattro Bonnet de Douche”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago and again recently - it was as good second time round.

Great building which has been lovingly restored. Right on the seafront so views of Morecambe Bay are great from rooms on that side. Rooms are a good size, well equipped and comfortable. Ensuites are rather good too - I had a big bath, walk in shower and the toilet is hidden away behind the bathroom door.

Didn't eat in the restaurant this time but it was really good the last time I stayed. Breakfast was good with a large choice and great service.

I would always stay here when in the area so hope to return sometime.

Room Tip: Sea side of the hotel - with a balcony in summer, if it's nice. They're a bit more pricy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,563 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Midland is an enchanting hotel and very different from all other hotels I have stayed in. Reception is so understated, but the rooms are really modern whilst also being retro with some very clever fittings. The restaurant is lovely with great views over the sands and the bay. The food is excellent and all four in our party were well satisfied. We also thought the cost was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Sea view looks out to sea !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Davancar

Many thanks for a great review of your recent stay.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had wanted to stay here or some time and finally got round to it last weekend. The hotel building is fabulous - totally dominating that area of Morecambe and set next to the fast flowing sea. The staff at the hotel were without exception polite, friendly and helpful. Our evening meal was good although my wife was not overly taken with her chicken but the dessert almost made up for it. For me the best meal was breakfast - the Eggs Benedict was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had, It wasn't massive but it was divine. The rooms are small but comfortable and the designers have made great use of the space available.
Now...the reason why it didn't get 5 stars.....there was a wedding on in the function room which meant our evening meal was accompanied by Steps, The Nolans and other such wedding favourites as well as a DJ rambling on. The soundproofing from function to main area is not as good as it could be! That's half a mark....it lost the other half because our room was quite hot, even with the windows open (only about 6" though as they have locks to stop people launching themselves out!) - we had no radiators on and it wasn't exactly warm outside. Not sure what it would be like in the summer, but it robbed me of some sleep.
Both these points are fairly minor and our overall impression of the place was very positive and we would definitely stay again. Well worth a visit - by far the best hotel on the North West coast and great value for money too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear peter g

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your constructive comments thereon.
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Midland very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I thought the price was a little high but the attitude of the staff and the level of service was outstanding.
The room was comfortable and the bathroom ingeniously intriguing with lots of nice touches. As we had taken afternoon tea, and that was an experience to be repeated, the smoked salmon sandwiches were excellent, we didn't have dinner, we couldn't, we were too full. The menu looked really interesting and tempting and if the breakfast was anything to go by, the food would have been delicious.
I'm not a fan of Morecambe but the Midland is so good, We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Even our ordinary room had a sea view but the ones overlooking the beach must be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Eric R

Thank you for posting a great review of your stay at The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautifully renovated to a high standard this hotel takes you back to another era. Rooms are spacious with unusual fitments. Rooms with a sea view are extra but worth it if this is your first visit. Staff are very friendly and professional. The bar menu is great and not overpriced. The dinner menu doesn't disappoint either. A wonderful experience all round. Morecambe is disappointing but nearby Lancaster is the main shopping area or the hotel is ideally situated for visiting the Lake District.

Room Tip: Sea view is extra but ask for a room on the corner as you have a sight of the sea for no extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Trelly1947

Many thaks for a fantastic review of your stay at The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We enjoyed an overnight weekend stay at The Midland for a celebration In early Nov. Having enjoyed Afternoon Tea here once we were excited to partake in the full experience. The room we stayed in (number 312 - take note!) was absolutely fantastic, comfortable, luxurious and modern with a separate living room area, kitchen, toilet (in addition to the main ridiculously gorgeous bedroom and bathroom) and balcony that stretched around the suite, giving the most beautiful views across Morecambe Bay. We could live in it easily! To say it was the most comfortable nights sleep we had would be an understatement! The number of unique art deco features throughout the hotel added an extra special element and were truly beautiful and the Rotunda takes the notion of a bar to a complete other level. Dinner was delicious and relaxed with an excellent dining and cocktail menu available. The staff were absolutely lovely, Poppy on reception was a particular gem who couldn't do enough for us! You have two true raving fans who cannot wait to return, thank you for a fabulous trip!

Room Tip: Room 312 is a must stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Jasper C

Thank you for a great review of your stay at The Midland.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Having lived in Lancaster as The Midland fell into disrepair, we watched it be boarded up & hoped that one day it would be reopened in all it's glory.
Having celebrated a few family events at the Midland, we never managed to stay - until this week.
Memory lane, fabulous !!! Having moved away some 12 years ago - to spend the time at The Midland, enjoying the coast, the stone jetty, into Lancater - all fantastic.
And then the Midland - fabulous !!! Rooms amazing, breakfast fantastic, the bar, the cocktails, the staff, everything just fantastic.
Loved it x

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Ann W

Many thanks for a great review of your long-awaited stay at The Midland.
I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
6.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
704 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range: £122 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing