We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,713)
Filter reviews
2,713 results
Traveller rating
1,872
592
144
61
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,872
592
144
61
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoafternoon teaurban splasheric gillsun terracesea viewmorecambe bayspiral staircasebeautiful hotelmain restauranticonic buildingthe penthousefloor to ceiling windowsoriginal featuresspecial occasionfeature roomwine list
Filter
Updating list...
1,538 - 1,543 of 2,713 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked The Midland for a midweek birthday treat after seeing it on the television. Arrived on a miserable wet Wednesday which probably didn't do justice to the building. Staff polite and friendly and no problem with checking in 1/2 hour early. Initial room was a disappointment as cold due to a problem with the window which wouldn't close properly. Quickly provided with an alternative room when this was highlighted to reception. Second room very nice. Spacious and with a nice layout including seating area and walk-in shower. Little design details such as the hidden bathroom and WC and storage for the TV and kettle, tea and coffee make it extra special. Whilst there we had drinks in the bar (£14 for 2 large wines) and had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Food and service were both excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Annmarie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Annmarie 1967

Many thanks for a great review of your recent birthday treat. I was glad to read that, despite the initial hiccup with the temperature in your room that was quickly resolved, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Iconic building. Dined in the restaurant at lunchtime and we were fortunate to have picked a good day with wonderful views across the Bay to the Lake District.
Could not fault the food or staff who were friendly, polite and efficient.
However, a little surprised that there appeared to be no dress code in place for the restaurant. Not wishing to appear rude but when the vast majority of people dining had made an effort, you don't expect people in walking gear and rucksacks to be seated in the restaurant. The couple concerned should have been politely directed to the bar area.
Another surprise, after dining, was walking down the corridor to look at the bar, to see the double doors to the kitchen propped wide open to reveal an untidy mess with waste bin by the open door, cutlery and waste food on the floor around it and the shelving piled high untidily with assorted boards and pots.
Would have had second thoughts about dining if I had seen the kitchen chaos first but no regrets after experiencing the food on offer.
Review marked down on these points otherwise would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Prisoner7

Many thanks for a positive review of your recent visit to The Midland.
Please accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction relaitng to our kitchen - unfortunately, we had a equipment malfunction at the time of your visit which led to a backlog with dirty crockery which was visible through our automatic kitchen doors. This has, of course, now been addressed.
I was pleased to read, however, that your meal was thoroughly enjoyable.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have wanted to stay here for a while, mainly as I am a fan of everything art deco.
The hotel did not disappoint.
We arrived last Sunday and the hotel was manic as it was the day of the Morecambe Carnival and a bank holiday so they were busier than usual with afternoon tea visitors and guests alike.
We were an hour earlier than check in but only waited 30 minutes for the room to be ready, they apologised as the people in our room had paid for a late check out.
We went to the bar and although very busy were served promptly and with a smile.
Prices at the bar are as you would expect at any hotel.
Once we had the keys to the room we made our way up to the 3rd floor, take the stairs and not the lift, it's an experience in itself.
We had booked a Feature Sea View Room which was honestly stunning. Fantastic décor, amazing huge smart tv, great furniture and very comfy bed ( pillows not the best !)
The 'hidden' toilet/bathroom area very clever design.
Bath is great, very deep design so plenty of room for the ultimate soak.
All the little touches you would expect for the price you pay to stay here including a bath robe.
Shampoo/body wash not the best so I would advise you take your own.
Decent hairdryer and iron/board facilities.
Fridge and great little coffee machine.

The view was great even on a grey day, balcony was huge and they even provide you with a pair of binoculars.

We had booked the 'sunday stay over deal' which included a 3 course evening meal and breakfast.
The a la carte menu was exactly that, high class food and presentation.
The breakfast too was very nice with decent coffee.

After dinner we had planned to go into the Rotunda cocktail bar but was disappointed to find it closed at 10, a little early to be honest.
The main bar is open 24 hours.

The staff here are a credit to the hotel, so lovely.
We had the same waitress at dinner and breakfast, only 17 and doing a great job considering this hotel chain pay their young staff under £4 an hour.
Chatty, informative about the hotel and very welcoming.
We asked if they had to share tips so that we could do so accordingly and were shocked to hear that they have to share the tips with the shift manager, who we saw for a fleeting minute, and only get paid a percentage of tips dependent on hours worked during that time period every 3 months.
Come on English Lakes Hotel Group, time to be fair.

Overall a fantastic stay and we will definitely return for at least 2 nights next time.
The stay here is all about the hotel as unfortunately not much else going on in Morecambe.

Room Tip: Choose the top floors for best views and no noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Jojo187069

Many thanks for a very positive review of your recent stay at The Midland.
Please rest assured that our policy on staff tips is designed to ensure that each and every member of the team receives their fair share of these - particularly important when one considers those whose roles are not necessarily guest-facing.
I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the very near future

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Being a fan of Eric Gill we decided to spend a night at The Midland. This hotel has been restored to its Art Deco origins with a modern slant. We asked for a room with a sea view which is a must and when we arrived the Morecambe Carnival was in full swing and the whole of the sea front was full of people who had come to watch. Subsequently the staff at the hotel were under extreme pressure as the place was full, but nonetheless were absolutely charming. Our room had a balcony and the view was amazing. Lots of people watching. We enjoyed the food which was better than most hotel fare and the breakfast was particularly good. Kim and her colleague on reception deserve a specific mention as they both have excellent knowledge of the hotel and surrounding areas and are also extremely efficient.

Room Tip: Have a sea view otherwise you are looking at the car park.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Silverhighway

Thank you for a great review of your stay at The Midland.
I will, of course, share your comments with the team in general and Kim in particular.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had seen this hotel last year when passing through Morecambe and loved the look of the building,right on the promenade and especially seeing everyone with their afternoon teas in the conservatory right on the promenade.
Booked for a two night stay to celebrate landmark birthdays. Lady on the telephone was very helpful when I made the booking which was a two night deal including dinner and breakfast which I felt was good value for what was included and the most cost effective way of staying here. I also booked an afternoon tea for our arrival.
Warm welcome from reception, and great first impression of the original features...floor mosaics, cantilever staircase, some original doors, frieze etc.
We had a seaview room with balcony with fabulous views across to the Lake District and along the full sweep of coast at Morecambe. Wonderful to watch the ebb and flow of the fast tides and beautiful sunsets. The room had every convenience required all hidden away in the cupboard unit including TV, iron, tea/coffee/biscuits, kettle, fridge etc. Lovely bathroom with hidden toilet, the whole bedroom/ ensuite was very cleverly designed, modern with a twist but sympathetic to the original hotel building. Other nice touches were soft toy dog with do not disturb label, the magnetic wall calendar, freestanding fan and reading lamp and the tree coat hanger.
Afternoon tea was lovely with a good assortment of finger sandwiches, warm scones with plenty of jam and cream and home made cakes. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening dinners, good range of choices and plenty of local produce included and breakfast was equally acceptable with a wide choice including kippers. Lovely to eat with uninterrupted views over the bay and service was excellent, all staff being very attentive and polite.
The bar area is very interesting with wall friezes, amazing chandelier and period furniture. A wide variety of cocktails were available here and also bar snacks. It is worth walking around both the inside and outside of the hotel to appreciate all the Art Deco detailing.
There is a spa treatment area which we did not use but we did use the pool at The Lancaster House Hotel a few miles away, you just show your booking form for The Midland for access to these facilities which include steam and sauna rooms, indoor and outdoor hot tubs.
Morecambe itself has little of interest,very run down apart from the regenerated prom with sculpture trail, great for bracing sea walks and there is a lovely art gallery and a high quality gift shop near the clock tower. There are plenty of places of interest a short drive away including Lancaster City, Williamson Park, the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District itself.
We shall most definitely return sooner rather than than later!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthtravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear earthtraveller

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your birthday celebration.

I hope to welcome you back to The Midland very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews