We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,717)
Filter reviews
2,717 results
Traveller rating
1,875
592
145
61
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,875
592
145
61
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoafternoon teaurban splasheric gillsun terracesea viewmorecambe bayspiral staircasebeautiful hotelmain restauranticonic buildingthe penthousefloor to ceiling windowsoriginal featuresspecial occasionfeature roomwine list
Filter
Updating list...
1,540 - 1,545 of 2,717 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed overnight to celebrate a birthday. Overall experience exceptional, highly recommended, and would love to return when we can.
Recently extensively restored in art deco style, the hotel has enjoyed much favourable publicity in recent years, and we rather feared perhaps a superior or pretentious reception. Not a bit of it ! The reception staff at the booking stage and at arrival were delightful: courteous, helpful, down-to-earth and efficient.
Room was immaculate. Clean, spacious, many innovative design ideas, and beds really comfortable. We had a sea-view room, panoramic vistas of Morecambe Bay and over to the Lake District.
The Sunday night dinner-bed-and -breakfast deal was good value. The dinner menu had a good range of choices, the food was well prepared and very nicely served. Waiting staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice for all tastes.
One lovely touch:- the booking staff had picked up my casual comment about it being my wife's birthday, and there in the room was a birthday card waiting for her ! Well done the Midland.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room, it's worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyke_in_Exile_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Tyke_in_Exile_9

Many thanks for a great review of your birthday celebration!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautifully restored this Art Deco masterpiece is a great base for a visit to Morecambe and South Lakes, and is a destination in its own right.
It is looking a little tired in places and I do hope it's owners give this building the love and attention it deserves.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbrush74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Chrisbrush74

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked The Midland for a midweek birthday treat after seeing it on the television. Arrived on a miserable wet Wednesday which probably didn't do justice to the building. Staff polite and friendly and no problem with checking in 1/2 hour early. Initial room was a disappointment as cold due to a problem with the window which wouldn't close properly. Quickly provided with an alternative room when this was highlighted to reception. Second room very nice. Spacious and with a nice layout including seating area and walk-in shower. Little design details such as the hidden bathroom and WC and storage for the TV and kettle, tea and coffee make it extra special. Whilst there we had drinks in the bar (£14 for 2 large wines) and had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Food and service were both excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Annmarie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Annmarie 1967

Many thanks for a great review of your recent birthday treat. I was glad to read that, despite the initial hiccup with the temperature in your room that was quickly resolved, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Iconic building. Dined in the restaurant at lunchtime and we were fortunate to have picked a good day with wonderful views across the Bay to the Lake District.
Could not fault the food or staff who were friendly, polite and efficient.
However, a little surprised that there appeared to be no dress code in place for the restaurant. Not wishing to appear rude but when the vast majority of people dining had made an effort, you don't expect people in walking gear and rucksacks to be seated in the restaurant. The couple concerned should have been politely directed to the bar area.
Another surprise, after dining, was walking down the corridor to look at the bar, to see the double doors to the kitchen propped wide open to reveal an untidy mess with waste bin by the open door, cutlery and waste food on the floor around it and the shelving piled high untidily with assorted boards and pots.
Would have had second thoughts about dining if I had seen the kitchen chaos first but no regrets after experiencing the food on offer.
Review marked down on these points otherwise would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Prisoner7

Many thanks for a positive review of your recent visit to The Midland.
Please accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction relaitng to our kitchen - unfortunately, we had a equipment malfunction at the time of your visit which led to a backlog with dirty crockery which was visible through our automatic kitchen doors. This has, of course, now been addressed.
I was pleased to read, however, that your meal was thoroughly enjoyable.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have wanted to stay here for a while, mainly as I am a fan of everything art deco.
The hotel did not disappoint.
We arrived last Sunday and the hotel was manic as it was the day of the Morecambe Carnival and a bank holiday so they were busier than usual with afternoon tea visitors and guests alike.
We were an hour earlier than check in but only waited 30 minutes for the room to be ready, they apologised as the people in our room had paid for a late check out.
We went to the bar and although very busy were served promptly and with a smile.
Prices at the bar are as you would expect at any hotel.
Once we had the keys to the room we made our way up to the 3rd floor, take the stairs and not the lift, it's an experience in itself.
We had booked a Feature Sea View Room which was honestly stunning. Fantastic décor, amazing huge smart tv, great furniture and very comfy bed ( pillows not the best !)
The 'hidden' toilet/bathroom area very clever design.
Bath is great, very deep design so plenty of room for the ultimate soak.
All the little touches you would expect for the price you pay to stay here including a bath robe.
Shampoo/body wash not the best so I would advise you take your own.
Decent hairdryer and iron/board facilities.
Fridge and great little coffee machine.

The view was great even on a grey day, balcony was huge and they even provide you with a pair of binoculars.

We had booked the 'sunday stay over deal' which included a 3 course evening meal and breakfast.
The a la carte menu was exactly that, high class food and presentation.
The breakfast too was very nice with decent coffee.

After dinner we had planned to go into the Rotunda cocktail bar but was disappointed to find it closed at 10, a little early to be honest.
The main bar is open 24 hours.

The staff here are a credit to the hotel, so lovely.
We had the same waitress at dinner and breakfast, only 17 and doing a great job considering this hotel chain pay their young staff under £4 an hour.
Chatty, informative about the hotel and very welcoming.
We asked if they had to share tips so that we could do so accordingly and were shocked to hear that they have to share the tips with the shift manager, who we saw for a fleeting minute, and only get paid a percentage of tips dependent on hours worked during that time period every 3 months.
Come on English Lakes Hotel Group, time to be fair.

Overall a fantastic stay and we will definitely return for at least 2 nights next time.
The stay here is all about the hotel as unfortunately not much else going on in Morecambe.

Room Tip: Choose the top floors for best views and no noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Jojo187069

Many thanks for a very positive review of your recent stay at The Midland.
Please rest assured that our policy on staff tips is designed to ensure that each and every member of the team receives their fair share of these - particularly important when one considers those whose roles are not necessarily guest-facing.
I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the very near future

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews