We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Midland
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Auckland Hotel(Morecambe)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Morecambe(Morecambe)(Great Value!)
US$61
Travelodge
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Craigwell(Morecambe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,629)
Filter reviews
2,629 results
Traveller rating
1,808
577
139
61
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,808
577
139
61
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrotunda barart decoafternoon teaurban splasheric gillsun terracesea viewmorecambe bayspiral staircasebeautiful hotelmain restauranticonic buildingthe penthousefloor to ceiling windowsoriginal featuresspecial occasionfeature room
Filter
Updating list...
1,451 - 1,456 of 2,629 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice breakfast indeed in a room with a super view.

A iconic building that has been commented about in many other reviews that I will not add to other than to say it is worth a look and I did enjoy the building.

For dinner I had a steak and chips which were superb.
I then had cheese and biscuits to follow. The type of biscuits that are served are not real crackers but these coloured shapes of cardboard and one of the colours does not taste good at all. Two cheeses were to my palate but four were very bland.
May I suggest that you offer a choice of cheese boards - a mild one and a strong/mature one - but give us biscuits and not cardboard please.

All perfect then?

Not quite. I found the room to be quite hot. There is no way to cool it other than to open the windows which let in noise from the front car park and road.
About 4 am I was woken by a council road sweeper. The internal plumbing of the building means there is a whoosh of running water that comes up from the drain in the shower- and that disturbs your sleep.

So many great features about the Midland balanced by disturbed sleep.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear expectant customer

Thank you for a very positive review and constructive comments relating to your recent stay.
I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed overnight to celebrate a birthday. Overall experience exceptional, highly recommended, and would love to return when we can.
Recently extensively restored in art deco style, the hotel has enjoyed much favourable publicity in recent years, and we rather feared perhaps a superior or pretentious reception. Not a bit of it ! The reception staff at the booking stage and at arrival were delightful: courteous, helpful, down-to-earth and efficient.
Room was immaculate. Clean, spacious, many innovative design ideas, and beds really comfortable. We had a sea-view room, panoramic vistas of Morecambe Bay and over to the Lake District.
The Sunday night dinner-bed-and -breakfast deal was good value. The dinner menu had a good range of choices, the food was well prepared and very nicely served. Waiting staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice for all tastes.
One lovely touch:- the booking staff had picked up my casual comment about it being my wife's birthday, and there in the room was a birthday card waiting for her ! Well done the Midland.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room, it's worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyke_in_Exile_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Tyke_in_Exile_9

Many thanks for a great review of your birthday celebration!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautifully restored this Art Deco masterpiece is a great base for a visit to Morecambe and South Lakes, and is a destination in its own right.
It is looking a little tired in places and I do hope it's owners give this building the love and attention it deserves.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbrush74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Chrisbrush74

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked The Midland for a midweek birthday treat after seeing it on the television. Arrived on a miserable wet Wednesday which probably didn't do justice to the building. Staff polite and friendly and no problem with checking in 1/2 hour early. Initial room was a disappointment as cold due to a problem with the window which wouldn't close properly. Quickly provided with an alternative room when this was highlighted to reception. Second room very nice. Spacious and with a nice layout including seating area and walk-in shower. Little design details such as the hidden bathroom and WC and storage for the TV and kettle, tea and coffee make it extra special. Whilst there we had drinks in the bar (£14 for 2 large wines) and had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Food and service were both excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Annmarie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Annmarie 1967

Many thanks for a great review of your recent birthday treat. I was glad to read that, despite the initial hiccup with the temperature in your room that was quickly resolved, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Iconic building. Dined in the restaurant at lunchtime and we were fortunate to have picked a good day with wonderful views across the Bay to the Lake District.
Could not fault the food or staff who were friendly, polite and efficient.
However, a little surprised that there appeared to be no dress code in place for the restaurant. Not wishing to appear rude but when the vast majority of people dining had made an effort, you don't expect people in walking gear and rucksacks to be seated in the restaurant. The couple concerned should have been politely directed to the bar area.
Another surprise, after dining, was walking down the corridor to look at the bar, to see the double doors to the kitchen propped wide open to reveal an untidy mess with waste bin by the open door, cutlery and waste food on the floor around it and the shelving piled high untidily with assorted boards and pots.
Would have had second thoughts about dining if I had seen the kitchen chaos first but no regrets after experiencing the food on offer.
Review marked down on these points otherwise would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Prisoner7

Many thanks for a positive review of your recent visit to The Midland.
Please accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction relaitng to our kitchen - unfortunately, we had a equipment malfunction at the time of your visit which led to a backlog with dirty crockery which was visible through our automatic kitchen doors. This has, of course, now been addressed.
I was pleased to read, however, that your meal was thoroughly enjoyable.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews