We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just had our 7th short break at The Midland. Food and service as always very good. Staff friendly and efficient. Special mention to Lesley in Restaurant and Brian and Anthony on Reception. Only disappointment this time was a terribly loud, disrespectful, and uncouth wedding party on 16th May. Lot's of shouting and running up and down corridors, never had this before at the hotel, just hope it was a one off? Hope you will start to reinvest soon in some areas which are starting to look tired, exterior, the stair carpet, Rotunda Bar to mention. We love the hotel and it would be such a shame if it wasn't kept up? Rooms, Restaurant, service all great. We will be back.

Room Tip: We like 201 and 101 but wrong end of building when a function on. Usually would give very good sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Lynda B

Many thanks for a positive review of your 7th and most recent stay with us here at The Midland.
Please rest assured that, whilst we do to some extent rely on guests behaving in an appropriate manner,the events to which you refer were very much isolated in nature.
We are, of course, firmly committed to ensuring that this iconic building is maintained both inside and out and will shortly be undertaking a scheduled full exterior clean - a necessity bearing in in mind our location. We will also soon be replacing our main staircase carpet and other areas of flooring within the hotel which have proved to be less hardwearing that we would have liked and were installed as part of the hotel's refurbishment prior to our involvement.
I hope you will be pleased with the results of this continued investment when we (hopefully) have the pleasure of welcoming you back for an 8th visit!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,539 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked the meal on Valentines Day and it was amazing...

The staff were incredible and the food and champagne was to die for... The Midland shouldn't surprise me but it does, we visited at Christmas for a party night and I am very impressed how they manage to pull off such a superb menu for a large quantity of guests over and over again... (well done the Chef!!!)

The evening was wonderful, if I could have a small comment it would have been that it was a dinner dance as oppose to just a meal... We will be back :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JaxGallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear JacquieGallaghan

Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review of your Valentine's dinner at The Midland.
I was delighted to read that this was enjoyable, and that you particularly enjoyed the champagne - a result of our ongoing close relationship with Laurent Perrier.
I will discuss your suggestion regarding a Valentine's dinner dance with my team and hope to welocme you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice breakfast indeed in a room with a super view.

A iconic building that has been commented about in many other reviews that I will not add to other than to say it is worth a look and I did enjoy the building.

For dinner I had a steak and chips which were superb.
I then had cheese and biscuits to follow. The type of biscuits that are served are not real crackers but these coloured shapes of cardboard and one of the colours does not taste good at all. Two cheeses were to my palate but four were very bland.
May I suggest that you offer a choice of cheese boards - a mild one and a strong/mature one - but give us biscuits and not cardboard please.

All perfect then?

Not quite. I found the room to be quite hot. There is no way to cool it other than to open the windows which let in noise from the front car park and road.
About 4 am I was woken by a council road sweeper. The internal plumbing of the building means there is a whoosh of running water that comes up from the drain in the shower- and that disturbs your sleep.

So many great features about the Midland balanced by disturbed sleep.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear expectant customer

Thank you for a very positive review and constructive comments relating to your recent stay.
I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed overnight to celebrate a birthday. Overall experience exceptional, highly recommended, and would love to return when we can.
Recently extensively restored in art deco style, the hotel has enjoyed much favourable publicity in recent years, and we rather feared perhaps a superior or pretentious reception. Not a bit of it ! The reception staff at the booking stage and at arrival were delightful: courteous, helpful, down-to-earth and efficient.
Room was immaculate. Clean, spacious, many innovative design ideas, and beds really comfortable. We had a sea-view room, panoramic vistas of Morecambe Bay and over to the Lake District.
The Sunday night dinner-bed-and -breakfast deal was good value. The dinner menu had a good range of choices, the food was well prepared and very nicely served. Waiting staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice for all tastes.
One lovely touch:- the booking staff had picked up my casual comment about it being my wife's birthday, and there in the room was a birthday card waiting for her ! Well done the Midland.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyke_in_Exile_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Tyke_in_Exile_9

Many thanks for a great review of your birthday celebration!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautifully restored this Art Deco masterpiece is a great base for a visit to Morecambe and South Lakes, and is a destination in its own right.
It is looking a little tired in places and I do hope it's owners give this building the love and attention it deserves.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbrush74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Chrisbrush74

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked The Midland for a midweek birthday treat after seeing it on the television. Arrived on a miserable wet Wednesday which probably didn't do justice to the building. Staff polite and friendly and no problem with checking in 1/2 hour early. Initial room was a disappointment as cold due to a problem with the window which wouldn't close properly. Quickly provided with an alternative room when this was highlighted to reception. Second room very nice. Spacious and with a nice layout including seating area and walk-in shower. Little design details such as the hidden bathroom and WC and storage for the TV and kettle, tea and coffee make it extra special. Whilst there we had drinks in the bar (£14 for 2 large wines) and had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Food and service were both excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Annmarie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Annmarie 1967

Many thanks for a great review of your recent birthday treat. I was glad to read that, despite the initial hiccup with the temperature in your room that was quickly resolved, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Iconic building. Dined in the restaurant at lunchtime and we were fortunate to have picked a good day with wonderful views across the Bay to the Lake District.
Could not fault the food or staff who were friendly, polite and efficient.
However, a little surprised that there appeared to be no dress code in place for the restaurant. Not wishing to appear rude but when the vast majority of people dining had made an effort, you don't expect people in walking gear and rucksacks to be seated in the restaurant. The couple concerned should have been politely directed to the bar area.
Another surprise, after dining, was walking down the corridor to look at the bar, to see the double doors to the kitchen propped wide open to reveal an untidy mess with waste bin by the open door, cutlery and waste food on the floor around it and the shelving piled high untidily with assorted boards and pots.
Would have had second thoughts about dining if I had seen the kitchen chaos first but no regrets after experiencing the food on offer.
Review marked down on these points otherwise would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Prisoner7

Many thanks for a positive review of your recent visit to The Midland.
Please accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction relaitng to our kitchen - unfortunately, we had a equipment malfunction at the time of your visit which led to a backlog with dirty crockery which was visible through our automatic kitchen doors. This has, of course, now been addressed.
I was pleased to read, however, that your meal was thoroughly enjoyable.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
346 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,421 reviews
6.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range: £119 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing