We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,717)
Filter reviews
2,717 results
Traveller rating
1,875
592
145
61
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,875
592
145
61
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoafternoon teaurban splasheric gillsun terracesea viewmorecambe bayspiral staircasebeautiful hotelmain restauranticonic buildingthe penthousefloor to ceiling windowsoriginal featuresspecial occasionfeature roomwine list
Filter
Updating list...
1,525 - 1,530 of 2,717 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our second trip to the Midland was as we remembered - the staff attentive, the food excellent. The wine great, if a little pricey. We were impressed that the 5 day forecast was emailed to us in advance, what a good idea. Well done!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathrynmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear kathrynmoira

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your latest visit.
I was pleased to discover that this was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A tasteful restoration of an iconic hotel in the best possible position on the seafront. Staff very helpful and friendly and food overall was excellent in content and presentation. The rooms were pleasantly different with period artistically designed storage and en-suite, with period furniture and lighting. The management and staff are constantly trying to improve the experience, by trying to keep on top of the ongoing repairs and restoration which is a battle they are slowly winning. A great break which was memorable for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Robert R

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your stay.
We hope to welcome you back to The Midland very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for two nights.
The hotel is in a great location, extremely clean and on the whole we enjoyed our stay, the rooms are a little quirky and lacking in storage space but great for a short stay. The view from the balcony was stunning. The room was very hot with no visible heating on.
Hubby had I to send his steak back at dinner as it was too salty, and the waiter slapped the bill on the table indicating that our meal was over. We did not ask for the bill and felt this was very rude especially as we had guests with us!
We went out for the day only to come back and find that the one room card on the electricity box had gone and the balcony door was not only unlocked but also open. We had checked before we went out. The reception staff changed our room cards but it shouldn't happen.
Would we return again? Yes however I do think the restaurant is over priced.

Room Tip: Any on the third floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear katzka

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Midland.
I was pleased to read that, overall, this was enjoyable, although I will certainly discuss the areas in which you feel we did not quite meet our usual high standards with my team as part of our ongoing guest feedback initiatives.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

In planning a cycling holiday from John O'Groats to Lands End, we decided that as it was virtually halfway on our route we would spend two nights here as a well done treat.
We were not disappointed. A very friendly welcome and bikes stored safely and securely in a store room. Fantastic view for our room which was well appointed with interesting storage and wc facilities!!
Dinner each night and breakfast each morning was excellent with attentive friendly staff for each. Again views from the restaurant are outstanding.The only slight downside was the wedding taking place on the Saturday, or rather the noisy guests coming back to their rooms the worst for wear at 3 in the morning.
Still, it didn't stop us enjoying a wonderful short stay at this iconic hotel.
Hard to believe that it ever fell into disrepair in the 1990's.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear kev p

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay here at the Midland.

I was glad to read that it was enjoyable and that you found all the facilities and the service to be of a high standard. I do hope that your cycling holiday was a success and that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Hannah McQuire
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Got married here a week last Saturday and it was absolutely perfect. From initial visit 12 months ago to check out they were considerate and professional. Exemplary when dealing with dietary requirements and other specific requests. On the day everything was tightly managed in a way that let you relax, trust them and enjoy the day. The staff from service staff to the management were polite, more than competent and helpful from start to finish. Special mentions to Vicky Cruse, Lee and Stuart who oversaw the day. Can't wait to visit for our anniversary stay but we'll be back before then.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room and if you can stretch financially go for the suite with the hot tub.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonnyh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Jonnyh1980

Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review following your Wedding which was held here at the Midland.

I was delighted to read that the day ran smoothly and that we made your big day special for you. I will of course ensure that Vicky, Lee and Stuart read your kind comments.

We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Hannah McQuire
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews