We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Poirot”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The exterior os quite stunning, although attention is needed to the fabric and the inside is absolutely in keeping. The rooms were not luxurious with a strange combination of modular furniture and bathroom that would have had benefitted from instructions on usage. However, the staff were very friendly and efficient a,d the food comparable with any good restaurant in Brussels. The shallot tarte tatin was fabulolus, fish cooked perfectly and congratulations to the chef who cooked perfect broccolli and asperagus - how rare. Also rare to find all English staff. The seafront is so pretty with its gardens, palms and mosaics in the digue opposite Morecambe Bay. Enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear SaraBruxelles

Thank you for a great review of your stay at The Midland.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,446)
There are newer reviews for The Midland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,243 - 1,249 of 2,446 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I've wanted to stay here since it re opened but never had the finances. My boyfriend booked us a surprise overnight and I have to say it surpassed my expectations. The room we had was quirky like a cabin on a cruise the toilet was tucked away as was the fridge etc
Such a lovely room comfy bed little balcony with a sea view the red spiral staircase down to the restaurant is lovely
Food was amazing but the staff were so kind and helpful and that is what made it
Drinks on the sun terrace, gorgeous breakfast with lots of choice
Literally could not fault it
Will be saving up to go back

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear jill b

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at The Midland.

I was delighted to read that this was enjoyable and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Really enjoyed our visit for my Daughters Baby Shower & Afternoon Tea .
Very American I know, but lovely all the same.
Met some really nice people & enjoyed the whole experience.
Can't wait for the Baby to arrive now.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquishadowhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Jacquishadowhunters

Thank you for a great review of your daughter's baby shower and afternoon tea.
I was pleased to read that this was thoroughly enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back to The Midland in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

100% recommend - really wonderful hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff especially Anthony Voyle and Lesley (at breakfast) - they could not do enough for us. Stunning sunset from our room, clean room, comfortable bed, yummy breakfast - could not fault this great hotel. We will be back and we will tell our friends to visit you too.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in a Sea View room on the - 3rd Floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAOD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear SAOD62

Thank you for your review and kind comments relating to your recent stay.
I will share this with the team as a whole, and both Anthony and Lesley in particular.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is an architectural wonder - a beautifully restored art deco buliding. The internal decor has been carefully chosen to compliment the building in every way. The rooms were lovely, ours had a balcony with sea view. Probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Little touches like a pair of binoculars to look across the bay.The breakfasts were delicious. I'm vegetarian and I have never been offered veggie bacon before. All in all a memorable stay.

Room Tip: The sea view was worth paying a bit extra for
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireBroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear YorkshireBroads

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following your recent stay here at the Midland.

I was delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one. I will of course pass your kind comments onto all the team here.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Hannah McQuire
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in late April.
The hotel has been renovated beautifully, in keeping with the original style, but it is not a museum piece.
We had a room with a sea view, which was well worth the additional cost. The views are just amazing, whatever the weather!
Free wifi is provided. (Hurrah!) The rooms are decorated in a funky modern style, with great space saving solutions. Tea and coffee supplies are provided, along with a tiny bottle of fresh milk. (A great touch, infinitely better than the more usual UHT pots!)
The loo was totally hidden by a wooden wall which pulls out concertina style and creates a door to the bedroom! The only downside of this arrangement is that the bathroom light is situated within the bedroom, (near the head of the bed.) So if the bathroom is used overnight, the light shines into the bedroom, until you have pulled across the "wall"!
We had booked in advance to have dinner, and the food was excellent. The dinner service was enthusiastic, although perhaps a little amateur. The food was of a high quality. The previous day had been a bank holiday, so we were told the mussels included in my husband's starter were not available. (Although bizarrely all other fish or shellfish on the menu was available!)
Breakfast the following morning was of a very high standard too. A buffet style selection of the usual items and also hot dishes to order.
We managed to fit in a cocktail before dinner in the Rotunda bar which is lovely! This looks as if it's well used during the day by locals too.
I left my pashmina behind after dining in the restaurant. Thankfully I realised this, as no message or call was made to our room to alert me to this. Even on checkout neither of the staff mentioned it, which I found a little disappointing. (Pretty sure it's not that uncommon an event for a guest to leave something.)
Once we'd checked out we strolled along the prom to see Eric Morecombe's statue and then went to Carnforth railway station and the southern lakes. (Both an easy journey.)
Will definitely be returning for another stay and perhaps a day trip for afternoon tea!

Room Tip: Splash out and go for a sea view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Mrs Picky

Many thanks for a positive review of your recent stay at The Midland.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were treated to afternoon tea at the Midland Hotel.
We had to book in advance as it is so busy.
The staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The atmosphere and surroundings were lovely with a fantastic view over the Bay.
The food was lovely and included a variety of sandwiches, scones with jam and cream, sponge cake, fruit tarts and chocolate eclairs. There was too much to eat but the waitress supplied a box to take our remaining cakes home.
The only criticism is that we would have preferred to eat later.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janweb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Janweb23

Many thanks for a great review of your afternoon tea at The Midland.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
198 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,360 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range: £127 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing