We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights at the Midland, Morecambe”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Made a last minute decision as I had not been very well and needed somewhere quiet to complete my recovery. Excellent location, amazing views across the bay. Ambiance in the hotel first class as were the staff and the food. Wonderful large bedroom with three windows all overlooking the bay. Best of all was the fridge with fresh milk each day instead of the horrid little UHT containers - made my day ! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay most enjoyable and I certainly felt better at the end of our stay. Would have no hesitation at all in returning - soon I hope.

Room Tip: We had an end corridor room (222) large and airy with three windows - all overlooking the bay. Well...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Anne S

Many thanks for such a positive review of your stay at The Midland.

I do hope you are now better and that we may welcome you back at some point in the future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,449)
There are newer reviews for The Midland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

A stunning art decor hotel situated next to the beach with stunnung views across morecambe bay towards the lake district. The meals were outstanding catering for every need, with the food locally sourced. The staff were excellent, very polite, well spoken and excellent at Silver Service. The room was perfect modernised with a lovely en suite but without ruining the appearance and art decor feel. Easy access from the m6.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaDawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear HelenaDawes

Thank you for a great review of your stay at The Midland.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed last week and I must say that it was very enjoyable. From the start Reception staff were very accommodating is assisting us with an early check in. We had booked a room with a sea view and it was fabulous, especially as the sun was shining. The room was spacious, had iron, ironing board and proper hairdryer as well as good mirrors, the only downside was the lighting (a problem we find in lots of hotels). A drink at the bar before dinner was excellent with staff going out of their way to be helpful (especially Adam). The menu was extensive as was the wine list and our dinner was first rate, especially as we dined watching the sun set over Morecambe Bay. At breakfast poached eggs were perfect and kippers enjoyed as was everything else set out on the buffet. We shall return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOldies186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear TheOldies186337

Many thanks for taking the time to post a fantastic review of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our second stay at The Midland. We stayed in the autumn when the wind was ferociously rattling the windows. During that stay we joined in both a Murder Mystery event and a Noel Coward evening; both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The food for the events was reasonable given that the kitchen was producing many dinners at the same time. For this stay, we did not eat in the restaurant either evening. During both stays we have been extremely pleased with the breakfast service, believing that it offers a great start to the day, with something for everyone. My partner highly praises the Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon.
This stay, because of the light nights and the lovely weather we chose to have a cocktail in the Rotunda Bar on both evenings. The fantastic décor is somewhat let down by insufficiently trained bar staff. We chose to give up on trying to get a second drink on Saturday because we waited far too long at the bar, with no one very aware of us!
We love staying in a room on the third floor because whatever time of the year, the views of the bay are phenomenal. This, for us, is the reason to stay. We loved the addition of the coffee machine in the room since our last visit. However, whilst understanding that everyone comments on the lack of storage space, we found the wooden chest of drawers a somewhat incongruous addition to the furniture!
Overall, this is a lovely place to stay, and I am sure we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andromeda86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Andromeda86

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Midland.
I was pleased to read that this was enjoyable, although will of course discuss your comments with my team in an effort to recify the areas in which you felt we did not quite meet our usual standards.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in hotel for wedding. My daughter and are are both coeliacs and had informed them on booking, in our room on arrival there were gf biscuits with the tea and coffee. Breadfast had gf bread and we were informed they also had gf sausages if we qanted for part of the fry up. Beautiful sea views and loved having small balcony. The modern style of the bedrooms did seem to compliment the Art Deco building.

Wedding was run very smoothly, lovely food and amazing gf afternoon tea. Perfect wedding venue.

Only downside was food stops being served at bar at 9pm, nearly ended up with group of friends arriving from round country with no food available. Later service, particularly over weekend would be nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Emma M

Many thanks for a great review of your recent stay.
I was pleased to read that this was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

3rd visit cant fault it excellant staff just the right amount of attention when needed pity about the wedding party who failed to control their kids. Didn't spoil the weekend though. Food is superb and locally sourced will be returning. Would recommend a seaview room excellent views worth that little bit extra. The bathroom facilities are quirky wouldnt recommend if you are not that well aquainted with your partner as you may need to turn up the tv when they use the facilities.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Pauline T

Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review of your third and most recent stay here at The Midland.
We do hope to welcome you back for a fourth stay in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Myself and my friend stayed here on a Friday night in June. We were attending a Rocky Horror night 'After Dark Mystery night'. When we arrived, we were told we had been upgraded to a Sea view room. The room was lovely - it was a twin room - fairly spacious - great decor and a fantastic view of Morecambe bay. We had everything we needed in the room - tv, coffee and tea making facilities, hairdryer, iron, safe, fridge, bath towels and robes.The bathroom was also great - toiletries, a shower (wet room) and a roll top bath. The hotel even provided binoculars for the sea view, which I thought was a lovely extra touch.

The 'After Dark event' was excellent. However I wasn't overly impressed with the food provided by the hotel's food. The portions were very small and nouvelle cuisine style. If you have an appetite of a sparrow, then you'd be happy - it was very tasty, (but tiny amounts) of food. Thankfully there is a Kentucky almost opposite-which we visited. The breakfast, in comparison, was wonderful. There was plenty of choice: cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt, toast and other cooked breakfasts on the menu.

My only real cristicism of the hotel was the lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms. Even with the windows open - our room was stifingly hot, which made it difficult to sleep in.

Would I stay again? Definitely - the decor and sea views are second to none. However, without air conditioning I wouldn't stay on a hot summer's night.

Room Tip: Try and get a Sea view - views of Morecambe bay, Grange and Lake district are beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Joanna S

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Midland.
I was delighted to read that this was enjoyable and, although I am unaware of any similar comments relating to portion size on the evening in question, please rest assured that I will discuss your comments with my head chef and monitor any further feedback in order to better cater for future guests.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
198 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range: £128 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing