We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Art Deco Experience”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Art Deco Experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We wanted to stay here just to experience the amazing art deco design. A little weather beaten, but not disappointing. 1930s music plays in the lobby and bars, which is a nice touch. We were given a feature a room with wonderful views over Morecambe bay. I loved the shower and seperate bath tub, which had a strip of clear glass allowing you to enjoy the view while taking a shower or bath. We opted for dinner and cocktails in the Rotunda bar instead of the restaurant. Staff were attentive and we had a great stay.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit more for a feature room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smultronpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Smultronpod

Thank you for a very positive review of your stay at The Midland.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    530
    135
    59
    39
See reviews for
339
1,494
58
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,021)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

As a retiring architect partner from my Practice, with mainly non architects as former partner colleagues I thought for my farewell weekend I'd bring 20 of my former partners (their wives and some children) up to Morecambe to celebrate my retirement within a design classic.

The rooms were wonderfully functional and had some very clever innovations. Some housed on the lower floors were amused as they could not initially find the WC, but when they did appreciated the clever thinking behind its positioning.

On the Saturday morning a wonderful member of staff took us on a tour of the hotel to explain its history and points of detail.

On the Saturday evening we had a twenties themed event and the staff caught the spirit and greatly helped the evening go well. The weather was also superb, whilst on the sea front there was a kite festival all weekend.

The food was good, particularly when thinking of the numbers they had to cater for, whilst the wine was also of a good quality.

All 40+ of us had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to anyone. Stunning building in a superb location overlooking the bay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Nigel N


Many thanks for a great review of your retirement celebration at The Midland.

I was delighted to read that this proved to be memorable and best wishes from all the team for a long and happy retirement.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was really looking forward to my first stay at the Midland and I wasn't disappointed. The exterior and reception area were an art deco delight. Check in was quick and easy and I took the lift to my 3rd floor room. The day was sunny and hot and it came as quite a shock when opening the door to the room just how hot and stuffy it was. However, once I opened the two large sliding doors to the balcony, the room cooled and, with the tide in, as I sat on the bed, it felt like I was on board an ocean liner.
The room was modern, clean and well-appointed and I just loved the view. After a good night's sleep, I went down for breakfast at 7.30 and it was already quite busy. A friendly and helpful couple of waitresses on duty and the food was tasty and well cooked.
I really want to re-visit this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank furgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear furgus

Thank you for a great review.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My boyfriend took me to the midland hotel for afternoon tea, which I have always wanted to do and so I was extremely pleased! It met all of my expectations and more.... the afternoon tea itself was amazing, a lovely selection of sanwiches, cakes and scones along with freshly brewed coffee or tea. And to top all this off, we had a glass of champagne and I received a marriage proposal! The staff were so lovely and accommodating, and they even gave us a complementary glass of champagne and box of chocolates! The midland will truly hold a place in my heart forever.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Katy G

Mnay thanks for a great review of you visit to The Midland and congratualtions once again from myself and all the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were a group of 8 friends visiting Morecambe to take part in the cross bay walk. My wife and I had stayed at the Midland once before on our wedding night in 1974 so it was a repeat visit, albeit 40 years later. I cannot find one criticism or complaint regarding our week- end stay; friendly and knowledgeable staff, excellent breakfast and evening meal, well designed and imaginative rooms with great amenities. It is true that we got a really great deal as we booked last year but even at full price we would not have been disappointed.

Room Tip: Clearly the prime rooms are those that face directly out to the sea but if you are staying during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gffryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear gffryt

Thank you for a great review of your long-awaited stay at The Midland.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have spent a fabulous afternoon at The Midland. The amazing weather and view across the bay set the scene but the service and food at the venue stole the show. We enjoyed one of their house special Razzamatazz cocktails and a spicy Mojito on the terrace to whet the appetite - beautiful and unique drinks. Then we moved in to the restaurant area for afternoon tea to be served. We were early but were taken through to our table so we could enjoy the view. When it arrived the afternoon tea was well worth waiting for. Tasty sandwiches with ample fillings. All cakes were made on the premises and delicious. We enjoyed a bottle of rose with our afternoon tea. It was wonderful. A final cocktail then time for home. The service was fabulous - well worth the trip xx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza9173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Kazza9173

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Midland for what sounds like a great way to spend an afternoon!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Tried to book a couple of nights for this w/e back in March, fully booked. So opted to make a reservation for afternoon tea, as an anniversary treat.
Lovely hotel, (apart from the public bar area) could have been in any sea side bar rather than an opulent deco hotel.
Afternoon tea was reserved for 3.15, we arrived just before 3 in order to enjoy the space and have a drink. At 3.15 we approached a member of staff expecting to be seated, no - still setting up tables, Were seated at 3.20 so not a problem.
However having noticed two table seated after ourselves had their orders taken, I asked if we could order a tea. I was told that the orders were being taken in the order seated!!
Eventually received out tea/coffee at 3.50, afternoon tea arrived at 4.15.... an hour after our arrival.
The afternoon tea itself - well I have to say that the scones appeared to be home made and were delicious, the jam accompanying them looked and tasted industrial. The sponge cake - another story looked and tasted as if it had been purchased from a local supermarket, in fact as did the other two cakes. I would be extremely surprised if they had been baked in house. The sandwiches were the usual commercial white and brown bread, with ok fillings. I guess I was expecting a far better standard of food and certainly service. There was one older female member of staff who could not be faulted. Otherwise we may as well have been invisible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueperswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear sueperswift

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and please accept my apologies for this.
Please rest assured that all our afternoon items are made in-house on a daily basis.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
187 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing