We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style & Class at the Midland Hotel Morecambe”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Style & Class at the Midland Hotel Morecambe”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My 1st visit to the Midland Hotel to celebrate my 50th Birthday and it couldn't have been better. Very stylish building, lovely big bedrooms very cleverly designed with very comfortable beds and fabulous views over the bay, great to have a room with a balcony. Lovely afternoon tea. Gourmet food, great wine selection, fast efficient service from very friendly, helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone who wants a hotel with style & class but which is also a relaxed comfortable place to take break from it all and celebrate life.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with a balcony are great, wanted penthouse room but unfortunately already booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Sharon C

Thank you for a great review of your 50th birthday celebration at The Midland.

We hope to welome you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    542
    138
    60
    39
See reviews for
350
1,521
59
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Booked the hotel as a birthday celebration to find after checking in that the outside was being sprayed to be cleaned. Wasn't advised prior to visit or even at check in. A notice was just put on the front of the room door. A poor way to be told by a hotel that is supposed to present a positive image and famous for given the Art Deco interior. The spraying of outside meant that you couldn't relax or open your windows given the heat being uncomfortable within the room. To add to this when discussing with reception and the duty manager as to our disappointed and the fact of being uncomfortable in the room meant nothing to them both. The response was just the hotel is full all I can offer is my apologies no drink offer or anything from this high profile hotel to encourage your stay with them. Aside from this hotel was clean and breakfast was of good standard. Staff just let this down by their attitude looks giving a sense of intimidation. No wonder everyone was going out of the hotel to other establishments to enjoy their evening in good atmosphere. Please also if you stay here although the shower is good and designed well the floor is slippery as they didn't think to make this non slip which may have been an oversight. In summary to stay here good design and Art Deco however staff let it down unfortunately. Not value for money either given the price you pay to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear John F

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Midland.
I was sorry to read that we were unable to manage your expectations regarding our annual building clean and that, depite our efforts to minimise any inconvenience to guests, you were left disappointed by this.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Probably our 6th visit here and still our favourite hotel. I had to go to Carlisle for a meeting so what better excuse to stay at the Midland again - particularly since we took advantage of a good offer which included a bottle of Prosecco! The summer offer of Razzmatazz cocktails was also very good!
Room and food as good as ever - all made better by the lovely weather so we could even sit outside for an hour or so after we arrived. A little walk after dinner made for some stunning sunset photos too. We'll be back again just as soon as I can think of an excuse!
The only slightly negative comment applies to most hotels: as vegetarians we often order egg and mushrooms for breakfast, but can never understand why you get the same amount of mushrooms you would get with a full English i.e. 2 or 3. It's mushrooms not Beluga caviar ... Also the dinner portions seemed rather small this time - £20 for a tiny piece of brill did seem a bit steep.

Room Tip: All are as good in my experience. I have never bothered with the extra cost of a sea view because y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyplush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Monkeyplush

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your 6th stay at The Midland.

I was pleased to read that, overall, this was enjoyable and hope to welcome you back for a 7th visit very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our third visit over, I think, five years. The positives are the view from the room balcony and the very high quality food (not perhaps if volume is your thing but a relief from the blow-out culture of the rest of Morecambe eateries).
But what has happened to the service that used to underpin the Ocean Liner fantasy?
- Reception welcome delivered by rote in a completely disinterested way
- Milk in Fridge stale - replacement promised immediately - gave up after half an hour and went down to breakfast
- No attempt made to properly tuck in bottom sheets on bed
- Ice cube trays not filled. The ones we filled removed from the icebox in the morning and put in the fridge to melt
- Red Wine brought to the table with the cork in at the same moment as the main course
- Wrong sauce (choice of two) brought with steak
- All the waiters shimmying between occupied tables as a short cut to the kitchens
- Tables being relaid for breakfast as they came empty from 9:00pm despite people on the tables next door having barely started their meals
For some reason, in the restaurant, there does not seem to be a Maitre D' or even a head waiter. There is just a feeling of everyone doing their own thing. A passing disinterested "Everything OK?" from a waitress both nights was the closest to dining support.
So, our experience seems to be a very different one to those of most other commentators. I can only believe that they found what they wanted to find and to find fault would lesson their memories of a special event.
What we found was a dear old timer with fabulous kitchen but setting its service levels at those of a "just off the motorway" four star business hotel
We just hope it has hit the bottom and will swing back up

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms with balconies on the second and third floors. The third floor room include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Peter S

I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and indeed that we failed to live up to the 'fantasy' to which you refer.
I will, of course, share your comments with my team and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visited this restaurant yesterday for lunch. The views are quite something watching the tide come in. Very efficient service and the food was well cooked with a good variety on offer. Both my wife and I were delighted with the lunch and will return for a stay in the hotel to sample the dinner.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear johnheap

Thank you for a very positive review of your lunch in our restaurant.
Perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for an overnight stay in the not too distant future?

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for a weekend and occupied an end room on the second floor. The room was large and comfortable but the strange shape meant that the TV was positioned on a side wall which meant it was almost impossible to view from the bed.
However, the real joy of staying here is the restaurant where we ate dinner on both nights. The food is truly wonderful, particularly the steaks and the Morecambe Bay shrimps.
Service was excellent throughout our stay and we found the front desk staff particularly helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear 99ray

Thank you for a great review.
I was pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable, although please do not hesitate to contact a member of the team during a future stay so that we can ensure your tv is angled appropriately.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were pleased to see the hotel and car park was so busy. We waited for our family in the foyer, having previously booked a table, we were ushered in by one of the waitresses at the appointed time. It was difficult to choose which afternoon tea to have. We had had no lunch so picked the mid priced tea. What a spread it was! Various moist flavourful finger sandwiches beautifully arranged on a 3 tiered rack. The other plates contained delicious fruit and plain scones - which melted in the mouth, plus a full dish of jam and thick cream. The other plate held a delightful array of cakes and pastries. So much that we were, thoughtfully, provided with cartons to take the cakes we didn't eat home. The staff were all polite and attentive and very good at asking if everything was alright. One young lady even offered to take a photo of the four of us. Just a couple of small points which would make the service of tea more enjoyable - if there are more than two people it would be better to have two jugs of milk. Also, and this is not a complaint, the scones were on the big side. Finally, I would have appreciated retro cake stands and old-fashioned daintier cake forks, more in keeping with the art-deco era. We have had dinner bed breakfast and lunch on various occasions at the Midland this completes the set but we will return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vectis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Vectis8

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit for our Midland afternoon tea.

I was pleased to read that this was enjoyable and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
190 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,344 reviews
6.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing