We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midland, Morecombe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brechin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Midland, Morecombe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Thus is an excellent hotel. The building is iconic, keeping key features of the original design, but with some well designed modern fixtures an fittings. The staff go out of their to be helpful, supportive. The good was excellent and the room design is a treat.

Room Tip: Go and try it! The staff are fantastic and seem to really enjoy their job!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Steve D

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay at The Midland.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    514
    133
    58
    38
See reviews for
332
1,436
55
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my partner order 3 courses off the menu and was really impressed with the quality of the food. The sea view from the restaurant is beautiful and the decor is nice. The dress code for the restaurant is quite formal, possibly because the hotel is occupied by business clients.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Gill187064

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Midland.
I was pleased to learn that your dining experience was enjoyable and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Absolutely loved the building and the way the original 30s architecture has been refurbished. The room was great , comfortable , very designer although I found some of the features not to be user friendly - what do they imagine we are going to put in all those shelves, and where are clothes supposed to go? I did like the clever design of the bathroom. The views were spectacular. Food was excellent.
Service let it down a bit - not up to the standard I would have expected for this type of hotel so cant score it excellent.

Room Tip: I would chose a sea view every time, worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear willowNorthYorks

Many thanks for a great review, although I was sorry to read of the areas in which we did not quite meet your expectations on this occasion.
We hope to welocme you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I really wanted to give The Midland the top score. After all, the layout of the hotel is excellent, our room on the first floor was extremely spacious (and with a sea view), a fridge was laid on in the room (with an initial pint of fresh milk - a very nice touch), there was a deep bath and wet room-style shower in the bathroom, we had a very enjoyable three course meal on one of the evenings of our three night stay, there was an excellent choice at breakfast, and the service couldn't be faulted.

So why not the top mark, then?

There are three reasons. The first one is perhaps trivial. The toilet, as part of the design, was hidden behind some panelling which also serves as the door to the bathroom. Unfortunately, this means a fair amount of opening and moving of the "door" in order to use it. Not great if this happens to be during the night which, at our age, is becoming more and more frequent! The design did seem a case of "style over substance".

The second relates to the restaurant area. This is almost totally built in glass and provides a wonderful view over Morecambe Bay, facing due West. Unfortunately, on hot days (and they do happen in Morecambe!) the temperature in the restaurant can get extremely high, and the hotel appears to have given little thought to addressing this.

The third reason relates to the plumbing. This is a newly-refurbished and not cheap hotel yet, each night, we were aware of toilets being flushed and water running in other rooms. It actually sounded as if the activity was taking place in our bathroom!

Despite these reservations though, we would have no hesitation in returning to The Midland on a future visit to the area.

Room Tip: The problem with the "plumbing noise" MAY not be an issue on the top floor but, without st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Eamonn M

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - I was glad to read that, overall, this was enjoyable.
We were sadly not involved with the hotel during or immediately following its refurbishment and subsequent managemnt by Urban Spalsh, and are constantly looking at ways in which we can enhance various elements of fixtures and fittings for the benefit of future guests. Please rest assured that your comments will be discussed as part of this ongoing process.
We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed Mon, Tues & Weds nights in July and it seemed very busy. The restaurant was booked up early on Mon with big party's, so we reserved a table for Wed night. We ate in the Rotunda bar outside Mon & Tue, the food was really good, fresh, lots of it and good value.
Our room had a sea view and a small balcony where you could sit inside with the doors open and the sun streaming in. We did have exceptionally good weather and fabulous sunsets.
The staff were always polite and helpful, but could do with more training for a hotel of this calibre and they could have done with a lot more staff at the very popular Rotunda bar.
On the Wed night we arrived for dinner in the sea facing restaurant, had a drink and decided it was far too hot to eat in there, (full glass front & roof and no air con) so we moved outside to the Rotunda bar and ate off the bar menu again.

Room Tip: sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maturegappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear maturegappers

Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review of your stay at The Midland.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband booked dinner b&b as a surprise for my birthday. Our room was fabulous, on the third floor with a spectacular view from the balcony. The meal was superb and the staff had decorated the table for me. I didn't complete their in house feedback for individual staff as they were all excellent. They could possibly do with air con in the rooms as it was the hottest day of the year but I guess it wouldn't be used that often in Morecambe!

Room Tip: Top floor fantastic views and floor to ceiling glass doors open onto a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Judith R

Thank you for a great review!
We hope to welcome you back to The Midland very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The midland is a lovely hotel, however wasn't quite the Art décor that I had pictured in my head, It has a beautiful stairway that spirals upwards, and has the original floor, would have thought more would have been made of the original hotel, like more pictures. On arrival it was a very wet and windy night and we were in need of some food, but felt very under dressed to be heading for the restaurant. So went across the road to a local pub. It was only in the morning that we realised there was in fact a bar area that sold food on a less informal basis, but is hidden away so felt this isn't pointed out to you. The room was very clean and large, with a sitting room, you have to play hunt the bathroom as it was hidden behind almost a secret wall panelling. Breakfast was lovely , although had to wait sometime for it, but sat enjoying the lovely view over looking the sea. Think it didn't live up to my expectations, but set those aside it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room. We had a room on the right corner of the hotel so had 3 windows with sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanti00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear shanti00

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review of your stay.
I was sorry that the hotel was not quite how you imagined it to be.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
6.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing