We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in iconic building”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in iconic building”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night as a surprise birthday treat for my partner. The building itself is really beautiful and lots of the original features have been retained and restored. The room was a really good size with lots of smart design features, the bath was the biggest I have ever seen and was definitely appreciated after a stormy walk along the sea front. I though the fresh milk in the fridge was a nice little touch. I definitely recommend paying extra for a sea view room as the views over the bay are fantastic. One of the highlights of the stay was the excellent local food - we had a 3 course meal in the restaurant which was absolutely delicious. My partner is a very fussy eater and even he didn't leave a mouthful. Breakfast the next morning was equally lovely. The staff were all very friendly and attentive without being overbearing which helped make this an overall fantastic stay.

Room Tip: sea view room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Beth842014

Thank you for a great review of your stay at The Midland last Sunday.
I was pleased to read that youu enjoyed your dining experience and do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    525
    134
    60
    39
See reviews for
338
1,478
56
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Midland has been returned to its original glorious 1930s style. Loved the sweeping staircase, extravagant lighting and use of colour. Our room faced the sea, as did the restaurant where we ate dinner on 2 nights, entertained by the sun slowly sinking over the sea. All tables have great views through a wall of windows. Service was excellent and the choice of food pleasantly varied, well presented and very tasty. Our room was spacious with quirky design and a more interesting shape than the usual 'box' and we appreciated the fresh milk which waited for us in the fridge. Would have liked fresh coffee as well!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear HelenC29

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Midland.
I was delighted to read that this was enjoyable and hope that you will be pleased to learn we are in the process of introducing fresh ground coffee bags into all of our classic rooms!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Thus is an excellent hotel. The building is iconic, keeping key features of the original design, but with some well designed modern fixtures an fittings. The staff go out of their to be helpful, supportive. The good was excellent and the room design is a treat.

Room Tip: Go and try it! The staff are fantastic and seem to really enjoy their job!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Steve D

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay at The Midland.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my partner order 3 courses off the menu and was really impressed with the quality of the food. The sea view from the restaurant is beautiful and the decor is nice. The dress code for the restaurant is quite formal, possibly because the hotel is occupied by business clients.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Gill187064

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Midland.
I was pleased to learn that your dining experience was enjoyable and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Absolutely loved the building and the way the original 30s architecture has been refurbished. The room was great , comfortable , very designer although I found some of the features not to be user friendly - what do they imagine we are going to put in all those shelves, and where are clothes supposed to go? I did like the clever design of the bathroom. The views were spectacular. Food was excellent.
Service let it down a bit - not up to the standard I would have expected for this type of hotel so cant score it excellent.

Room Tip: I would chose a sea view every time, worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear willowNorthYorks

Many thanks for a great review, although I was sorry to read of the areas in which we did not quite meet your expectations on this occasion.
We hope to welocme you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I really wanted to give The Midland the top score. After all, the layout of the hotel is excellent, our room on the first floor was extremely spacious (and with a sea view), a fridge was laid on in the room (with an initial pint of fresh milk - a very nice touch), there was a deep bath and wet room-style shower in the bathroom, we had a very enjoyable three course meal on one of the evenings of our three night stay, there was an excellent choice at breakfast, and the service couldn't be faulted.

So why not the top mark, then?

There are three reasons. The first one is perhaps trivial. The toilet, as part of the design, was hidden behind some panelling which also serves as the door to the bathroom. Unfortunately, this means a fair amount of opening and moving of the "door" in order to use it. Not great if this happens to be during the night which, at our age, is becoming more and more frequent! The design did seem a case of "style over substance".

The second relates to the restaurant area. This is almost totally built in glass and provides a wonderful view over Morecambe Bay, facing due West. Unfortunately, on hot days (and they do happen in Morecambe!) the temperature in the restaurant can get extremely high, and the hotel appears to have given little thought to addressing this.

The third reason relates to the plumbing. This is a newly-refurbished and not cheap hotel yet, each night, we were aware of toilets being flushed and water running in other rooms. It actually sounded as if the activity was taking place in our bathroom!

Despite these reservations though, we would have no hesitation in returning to The Midland on a future visit to the area.

Room Tip: The problem with the "plumbing noise" MAY not be an issue on the top floor but, without st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Eamonn M

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - I was glad to read that, overall, this was enjoyable.
We were sadly not involved with the hotel during or immediately following its refurbishment and subsequent managemnt by Urban Spalsh, and are constantly looking at ways in which we can enhance various elements of fixtures and fittings for the benefit of future guests. Please rest assured that your comments will be discussed as part of this ongoing process.
We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed Mon, Tues & Weds nights in July and it seemed very busy. The restaurant was booked up early on Mon with big party's, so we reserved a table for Wed night. We ate in the Rotunda bar outside Mon & Tue, the food was really good, fresh, lots of it and good value.
Our room had a sea view and a small balcony where you could sit inside with the doors open and the sun streaming in. We did have exceptionally good weather and fabulous sunsets.
The staff were always polite and helpful, but could do with more training for a hotel of this calibre and they could have done with a lot more staff at the very popular Rotunda bar.
On the Wed night we arrived for dinner in the sea facing restaurant, had a drink and decided it was far too hot to eat in there, (full glass front & roof and no air con) so we moved outside to the Rotunda bar and ate off the bar menu again.

Room Tip: sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maturegappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear maturegappers

Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review of your stay at The Midland.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing