We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Midland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Auckland Hotel(Morecambe)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Headway Hotel(Morecambe)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Royal Kings Arms(Lancaster)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Toll House Inn(Lancaster)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (2,604)
    Filter reviews
    2,604 results
    Traveller rating
    1,790
    573
    138
    60
    43
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,790
    573
    138
    60
    43
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsrotunda barart decoafternoon teaurban splasheric gillsun terracesea viewmorecambe bayspiral staircasebeautiful hotelmain restauranticonic buildingthe penthousefloor to ceiling windowsoriginal featuresspecial occasionfeature room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,311 - 1,316 of 2,604 reviews
    Reviewed 27 August 2014

    This was a return visit for afternoon tea and we were not disappointed food wise. But as we were stood waiting by the restaurant doors to be seated there were several staff milling around ignoring us, 2 ladies who walked past me as i was waiting were seated first, leaving us feeling rather inferior and a disheartened beginning to our treat.Once seated I noticed a mess under our table..crumbs! But the delicious freshly made sandwiches, éclairs,fruit flans and the all important scones with clotted cream and jam made up for the bad start.Pristine white table cloths and napkins,fresh leaf tea...all wonderful. Our only criticism food wise is maybe we would prefer another sandwich or two and 1 less cake.We had to take our left overs away with us...too full! The atmosphere was buzzing and the retro music played along in the background.Lovely views over Morecambe bay. We rounded this treat off by staying the night for our wedding anniversary.The room was amazing, we had fun opening doors and finding the cupboards,tv and even the toilet! Thick soft white towels and robes added to the luxury.Also the toiletries available to use were wonderful, as was the power shower.Big comfy bed which I felt I had to climb up onto, was expecting many mattresses with a pea underneath! Our room looked out over the front of the hotel, but I'm quite happy to people watch and there was no problem with noise levels.The evening meal was truly suberb,once again a lovely place to sit and enjoy the view.Staff were friendly and efficient, esp the young lad on work experience.On returning to our room we required some more milk cartons, but instead were given a jug of fresh milk, so much nicer and there was a fridge in the room anyway.Breakfast in the morning was again wonderful. Self service for cereals, porridge(highly recommend!), toast and pastries, then waitress service for any cooked order. Hubby enjoyed kippers, not allowed at home due to their smell! We were sad to leave this place with all its luxuries, but no rush as check out was until 11am.Highly recommend this hotel and everything about it as a treat.

    Room Tip: sea view rooms are extra
    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank magicOldham
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

    Dear magicOldham

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit which, depsite a couple of issues encountered, I was pleased proved to be enjoyable.
    We hope to welcome you back soon.

    Best regards

    Matt Stanaway

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 August 2014

    We have just returned from a Sunday night break and, once again, it was fantastic. As a birthday treat, my husband had booked us into a feature room and we were given Room 312, which is the apartment suite. It was just amazing and we didn't want to leave! With the walls in the lounge and bedroom being glass, the view is out of this world! Sitting with all the balcony doors open, listening to the roaring sea, is my idea of heaven. The views from the balconies (which wrap around the whole of the apartment) are spectacular. The food was, as always, delicious. The fish board with local shrimps (of course!) is the best ever. Fact! The staff are friendly and helpful (I don't understand the reviews which say otherwise) and it is a lovely, welcoming hotel. We won't be waiting very long until our next visit. Can you tell that we love it?

    Room Tip: Book a room on the third floor if you can. You won't be disappointed!
    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Johnthered54
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

    Dear Johnthered54

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay at The Midland.

    Pleas do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay so that I can ensure you are offered the best rate avaiable.

    Best regards

    Matt Stanaway

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2014

    This refurbished Art Deco style hotel did not disappoint. From the original 1930s floor in the foyer to the bright, sunny sea view bedrooms and function rooms, everything was great.The spiral staircase was a perfect platform for a wonderful group shot on those all important wedding photos. We had fun finding the 'amenities' in our rooms which were all neatly hidden away behind wooden panelling! ( although we had the 'heads up' from a friend who had stayed before!) Our evening meal and the wedding breakfast were delicious and well cooked and presented ( one of our party was well catered for with special dietary requirements) We are planning a return visit to sample the afternoon tea on the sun terrace.

    Room Tip: Sea view with a balcony if you are staying for more than one night. Corner rooms have sea view but no balcony.
    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Lynda S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

    Dear Lynda S

    Thank you for a very positive review and I was pleased to read that the wedding was memorable.
    We look forward to welcoming you back to The Midland very soon.

    Best regards

    Matt Stanaway

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2014

    Been here on several occasions and it never fails to impress it is quite simply the best place for afternoon tea. On my latest visit I took my mum for the first time, it was her birthday and from arrival she was made to feel special, just little things but they go a long way. The tea was, as always superb with plenty for the 2 of us and all fresh, selection of sandwiches, scones, pastries and cake. I even persuaded my mum to try the limited edition Razzamatz cocktails which she really enjoyed - so much we even had a second one each! We have booked a return visit for Sept this time combining it with a visit to the spa. Book now, you won't regret it!

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank ShirazMerlot
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

    Dear ShirazMerlot

    Many thanks for a great review of your afternoon tea.

    We hope to welcome you back soon.

    Best regards

    Matt Stanaway

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 August 2014

    What fun like going back in time .I expected to see Poirot walk through the door . The drinks are good and not too expensive . Sunset over the bay , a gin and tonic , nothing better.

    there is a spa too and the rooms look good , ideally it would be good to have the rooms with the bay view .

    Room Tip: Just popped in for a drink
    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank 50Pauline
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

    Dear 50Pauline

    Many thanks for a great review of your visit.

    We hope to welcome you back very soon.

    Best regards

    Matt Stanaway

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews