We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - best I've stayed in in England”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We had suite 302 for Valentines Weekend and it was fab - gorgeous room, wonderful views and excellent wrap around balcony complete with hot tub. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and also a cocktail in the rotunda bar - the bartender was very knowledgeable and helpful. A lovely stay and would def recommend this hotel, perfect architecture and atmosphere for a nice relaxing stay

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DArcher931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear DArcher931

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your stay in suite 302 last weekend, and I was delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally prior to a future stay so that I am able to ensure you are quoted the very best rate available, and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Midland in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,276 - 2,282 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2011

As a local I have visited this hotel a number of times but today was shown round the hotel by Brian, an expert in the history of this iconic place. I loved the Eric Gill frescoes, especially the glorious map of the North West. Hadn't realised how many famous people had stayed here including Coco Chanel & Sir Laurence Olivier. We had a look at 2 of the suites with their great views over Morecambe Bay. Excellent afternoon tea - loved the profiterole & carrot cake. Not stayed overnight so can't comment on that but definitely worth calling in for a very stylish tea.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank QuirkyTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear QuirkyTraveller09

Many thanks for taking the time to post a fantastic review following your recent visit for a tour and afternoon tea - I will ensure that your kind comments are shared with the team as a whole, and Brian in particular.
Please do let me know the next time you are planning a visit so that I can ensure this is equally as memorable.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This Hotel is so lovely, we stayyed in room 302 a suite, it was like being in a 007 movie. Everything was just ace, jacuzzi on the outside terrace, bit wet and windy to use but great though. Four huge opening doors, amazing views. Great, peacefull, chilling out open spaced room. The bathroom has a huge round bath and huge shower head, proper wet room, two sinks and toilets. The staff are all very helpfull, George is very good in the resturant. Food amazing. We loved every minute. If you want a special treat do book this great Hotel, it puts Morecombe on the map, a great piece of history that you must see for yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindapaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear lindapaws

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your stay in suite 302 - it certainly is a fantastic room and the sunset across the Bay is something I think everyone should experience (although sitting with a glass of champagne in the balcony hot tub does make it that bit extra special).
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Midland very soon, and will ensure that George is also made aware of your kind comments.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is a period hotel which meets modern standards. We had a basic double room not facing the sea but it was a lovely room with a quirky bathroom design: it was especially a challenge to find the loo. In fact because of the nature of Morecambe Bay we did have a sea view.
Our friends upgraded to a sea view room which was the same as ours only bigger and had a terrace. They took their dog and it was welcomed by the staff and other residents. One member of staff even fetched it some beef from the kitchen as a treat. The dog was even allowed to sit in the lounge area.
Dinner was included in our rate and there was a good selection over three courses with very few options carrying a surcharge. We did return the Morecambe Bay shrimps saying they had no taste. They were replaced with the staff saying that they and the chef agreed with our comment.
Breakfast was very good. All the usual options offered on the buffet with a varied cooked menu. There was the usual full breakfast and locally smoked salmon and kippers. The salmon with scrambled eggs were particularly tasty.
All of the staff have been trained to a high standard. They were all efficient and very friendly.
We enjoyed all aspects of our short stay at the Midland. We will definitely return and try other hotel in the Lakes Hotel Group.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear buts

Many thanks for posting a great review of your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to a future visit should there be anything at all I may be of assistance with.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Midland in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel as part of a girly weekend of 14. It was brilliant the staff very helpful and friendly, the food brill the rooms very clear and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a relaxing break in very beautiful surrounding of the hotel. The art deco style throughout is very impressive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcgirr077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear mcgirr077

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Midland - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My wife and i stayed for one night at the Midland Hotel,several weeks ago to surprise our daughter on her birthday who is studying at lancaster university.It was a cold dark monday and after driving for hours,we were welcomed very warmly,check in was quick and the rooms were unique and very clean.The hotel building is one of a kind,with a stunning spiral staircase,that my wife adoured.Staff were friendly and helpfull,even to the point where the young night porter overheard us discussing our trip to the university,and presented me with a printed map of the directions.And allso de-iced my car,as we left at half six in the morning,its the little things that shows they care about our trip and not just the bill.I am allready planning my next trip there in the summer,to soak up what i can only describe as "a very unique hotel".

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTmacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear TTmacman

Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review of your stay at the Midland - I will ensure that your kind comments are shared with the rest of the team, and look forward to welcomig you back in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Enjoyed our stay here. Rooms are quirky but very comfortable with wonderful sea views. Hotel itself is the star of Morecambe and well worth a visit, Service was very good, particularly reception and rotunda bar. Restaurant has great views and liked the live music (piano) during dinner. As far as food goes - Rotunda bar: Food was good, service excellent. Restaurant: Food was ok but not exceptional. Scallops were beautifully cooked, but presentation of a melon starter were poor - sauce on this looked awful, but tasted ok. Limited desert menu as well. Breakfast could also be better - did not like having to get up and make our own toast when having a cooked breakfast. I expect this if staying at a Premier Inn, not here. It would be better to serve this if you're having the cooked breakfast and let people make their own for buffet breakfast. Overall though, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear Happy_Couple52

Many thanks for taking the time to post great review of your stay at The Midland.
During your stay, the hotel's restaurant was operating a daily table d'hote menu whilst preparing for the launch of it's new seasonal a la carte offering. I was sorry to read that some of the dishes did not live up to your expectations on this occasion, and will discuss your observations with my head chef.
Thank you once again

Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
343 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
279 reviews
6.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range: £120 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing