We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the most helpful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the most helpful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for just one night, so we could get the early start needed for our short trip into Lancaster, we booked B&B only to find breakfast didn't start until 8.15 and no offer of an early breakfast, but still took the full £65 pound for a few hours in a room with very dated furnishings and two very creaky single beds.
Can't comment on the rest of the hotel or the food, so the host once when i handed over my money and received my keys, no one around when we had to leave at 7.15.
Good point:- Good view over the bay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    38
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
17
32
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here purely as a work base, as I was shipped to Morecambe to work for 2 days.

The check-in was from 2pm, and finding my room the first time was like running through a rabbit warren, and with lots of fire doors to go through. My room was at the back, facing over the car park, but as I said, it was just for somewhere to sleep.

The room was spotless, if a little dated. My room was a twin, with an en-suite. This was via a slide door into a narrow bathroom, with shower, wc, and basin.

The bed and other furnishings were old, but servicable, and the obligatory coffee facilities were good. I cannot comment on the breakfast, although they were included within my tariff.

Location-wise, the Clifton is right on the promenade, and with some good sea-views overlooking the bay. Yes, the area around is very run down, but if you are looking at somewhere purely for a base to either work or explore, then I would have no hesitation in recommending it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Used this hotel for an overnight stay and was happy with the hotel and breakfast.

As some reviews have said it is a little dated but was spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and to be honest I am not looking for anything more than that as a hotel to me is just a place to sleep. The cooked breakfast was very nice and the view out across the bay was fantastic. Although I would be the first to admit that Morecambe does have its problems it is by no means any worse than any other seaside town in the uk and would make an ideal base to explore the Lake District if you were on a budget. I would have no objections to staying here again.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms would always be the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tripper989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hard to believe anyone could class this place as anything other than basic, ok the host lady was friendly but the room was claustrophobic,the furniture WAY past its use by date. The breakfast was only warm.Had i known what a depressing place morecambe is i would have avoided it as i suggest you do.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morecambe hotels

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for one night.

I had a single room, which was comfortable and had everything I needed in it and free WiFi. Yes it was quite small, but I didn't need much space.... it was en suite and that was the main thing. The shower was a good shower, plenty of hot water - and that's always a bonus.

Yes, its a bit dated and could do with a bit of a freshen up, but it was clean and the owners were very welcoming.

My room was on the main road, and had fantastic views, but there was a lot of traffic noise. I am a light sleeper so it kept me awake.....

Breakfast was between 0815 & 0900 - which is a very short time to fit everyone in I felt..... but if it works for them, then that's fine.
Breakfast was good and had I known beforehand, you can request eggs on toast if you prefer, but I didn't know that so had the full breakfast. It was only because another couple had that, or I wouldn't have known you could request anything else.....

If you want a cheap room and aren't bothered about decor - then this is the place for you. If you want new and swanky, then you'll be disappointed.
But for the money, it was adequate - and as I said before - clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bay-Pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at the Clifton for 3 nights during a very hot spell in July 2013. I was made to feel very welcome on arrival and throughout my stay by owners Lydia and Paul. My single room on the 1st floor had great views across the bay, Although the room was a bit small, as single rooms like these usually are, it was clean and comfortable, and adequate for my needs. The ensuite bathroom, again, was small but had a very good shower. Being at the front of the hotel, and on a main road, there is inevitably some traffic noise, but this did not disturb my sleep. I found the hotel to be clean and inviting throughout. Breakfasts were nice, served by a pleasant young lady in a light and spacious dining room overlooking the sea front. Although the hotel is run as a B&B, with no evening meals, it does have a downstairs bar, complete with karaoke set up. On going down for a drink in the evening I was persuaded by Paul to have a go a singing. There is even a drum kit in the bar area which Paul was kind enough to let me have a go on. My non existent talent for singing and drumming was sadly all too evident. Although there is unrestricted parking on the main road outside the hotel it does get busy at times and I felt lucky to be able to find a spot nearby. The town centre and other amenities are a few minutes walk away but all on a level location. This was my first visit to Morecambe, it is a good base for exploring further afield. I liked the resort more than I expected to and I certainly liked the Clifton Very good value for money as well. I intend to make a return visit this year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Clifton has the potential to be a really pleasant guest house. However, I stayed for two nights and was disappointed. The lounge and the dining room are lovely and spacious. However, my single bedroom was on small side and the en suite bathroom was ridiculously cramped. Worse, everything seemed to be tightly rationed. Despite the strong winds outside, the central heating went off early at night. My sleep was ruined by the discomfort of only one pillow. In the morning, whilst the cooked breakfast was fine, a top-up for the coffee pot and additional rounds of toast were not offered. Free wi-fi was advertised but, whilst the signal remained strong, after the first night, I was completely unable to log on to it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
1.0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
0.9 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Trevelyan Guest House
The Trevelyan Guest House
#1 of 26 in Morecambe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berkeley GuestHouse
Berkeley GuestHouse
#2 of 26 in Morecambe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Property: Clifton Hotel
Address: 43-46 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing