We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”
Review of Auckland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auckland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have recently returned from the "New Year" package at this hotel. We stayed in room number 211. Unfortunately there were a combination of matters which made for a very disappointing and bad experience. The package was organised by a coach holiday business and their representative was less than helpful in resolving the issues. These included broken floorboards in the room, to which an emergency temporary repair (not entirely successful) had to be made. Diplomatically putting it, the plumbing was unpredictable, rendering the shower unusable for the whole of the stay. The toilet roll holder cover was broken and had been wedged into place by a piece of folded toilet paper, the ensuuite waste bin was broken, the room heating was uncontrollable, and so on. This was reported to the member of staff on housekeeping the first morning and nothing was done. The food was average to poor and one waitress at News Years Eve luncheon was rude and offensive to my wife and myself. We received a weak and insincere apology at the end of our stay and we should have gone home after the first morning. The final straw came when we discovered by accident the final night a stained mattress cover beneath the sheet on our bed with what appeared to be a human faeces stain that had not been laundered. We will not be wasting our money again with either the organising business or this hotel.

Room Tip: Never accept a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

The aukland is a very good well run hotel.as a coach driver the staff and management always make passengers and drivers feel welcome and look after us well.the food is excellent and the staff are very helpful.the rooms are clean and comfortable. On the whole a great place to stay in a good location overlooking Morecambe Bay. Rob yeomans travel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peakey1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here as part of a 4night stay on coach tour with Eclipse Breaks,rooms very small and cramped only suitable for singles,food good but service very slow not enough staff to deal with a coach party of 42 very well situated on Morecambe sea front but that's all

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAMES S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Auckland Hotel is a typically English seaside hotel, the rooms were small but very clean and the view from our room was stunning. The meals were good English fare and beautifully cooked always served hot, the dining room staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful even though some of the members of our party were extremely fussy, the staff dealt with them in a patient and pleasant way and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was warm when we needed it and cool when necessary. The entertainment was good and the bar staff were excellent. We were on a coach trip and this hotel didn't treat us as though we were second class citizens as many hotels do. There was always a choice of starters and main meals , but although the choice was slightly limited what was served was well cooked, nicely served and just the right amount., we were never rushed and coffee and mints were served at the end of the meal, we will certainly return to this hotel, I was not very impressed with Morecombe itself but the hotel made up for that, thanks to all the staff and management.

Room Tip: The front rooms are the best although the back room are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hello Mitch

Thank you very much for the lovely review you have taken the time to write. It was lovely meeting you all and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Laura Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Internet not available, why??
Staff said it was because we have used our limit.
Suprised as this was on the day we checked in!!
Breakfast
Do u want kippers with your salt ?, sorry but really poor food but served with a smile
Rooms boiling hot
Staff are overall very pleasant
Overall ok but for 84 pounds overpriced really
Be prepared to struggle getting out of the very tight car park

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidc288119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear David

I am sorry to hear that you thought our hotel is overpriced, the majority of our customers find our rates extremely good value for money. In regards to the wifi in the last year we have been able to offer free wifi to all customers staying with us and for the first time we had managed to reach our limit. I would like to stress that this limit had been met by all of the guests in the hotel and no by you presonally. Since then we have managed to increase our limit and we hope to never have that problem again. The only alternative is to do what many hotels are doing and charge people to use the wifi however we would like to offer good value for money and therefore offer it free of charge.

I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast. I am sure that if you had chosen to send it back they would have been able to solve the problem.

I would also like to address the problems you managed to find with the bedroom and the parking. If you had spoken to a member of staff I am sure they would have been able to point out to you that you can adjust your own thermostat in your room which is located on the radiator. Also if you had spoken to a member of staff about struggling with the car park I know they would have been more than happy to help navigate you. We are very pleased to offer free car parking to our guests which I am sure you will agree adds to the good value for money.

Kind Regards

Laura Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner is disabled and we booked this hotel as it seemed to particularly cater for our age group and the facilities seemed just what we needed. We were offered a adapted ground floor room which had a very large wet room with safety adaptations and a large bedroom with very comfortable beds. Unfortunately it was at the back of the hotel with no view at all, just another wall a few feet away, but we were aware of this on booking and all the adapted rooms are on the same corridor we accepted this. On arrival Jason made sure our luggage was collected from the car and he and all the other staff were very helpful over the 4 days we spent there. We had particular problems with my partner's wheelchair but Jason contacted a mobility centre and they came and fixed it immediately.

Meals at the Auckland were delicious; home cooked and big portions. Dining room staff were very pleasant and the whole hotel has a friendly, pleasant air about it. We felt very much at home there. Evening entertainment each night was enjoyable but definitely aimed at the older clientele, which suited us but maybe not everyone, although most of the guests were in our age bracket and appeared to have a good time. One gentleman, a very keen dancer, visits several times a year as the style of music enables him to show his ballroom dancing skills.

If we visit Morecambe again the Auckland would definitely be our choice as we felt very welcome. Thanks to Jason for coming to our rescue when the wheelchair broke, but I'm sure had he not been on duty other staff members would have been equally kind. It's that sort of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lidolil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Lidolil

Thank you very much for the lovely review you have written about our hotel. We are very pleased to offer a fully adapted bedroom and also 6 disabled friendly bedrooms. Unfortunately in order to offer this we have had to build the bedrooms at the back of the building so we didn't loose our public rooms at the front.
Jason would especially like to thank you for the kind words you said about him. He works extremely hard to make sure that everybody is cared for and has an enjoyable stay. As you have also noticed this care is shown by all our members of staff who strive to ensure every guest has a lovely and relaxing stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind words, they are most appreciated.

Kind Regards

Laura Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

we have stayed at the Auckland three times now.what a brilliant week we have had excellent food, lovely clean room, really friendly staff and an atmosphere second to none, would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hello Tracey

Thank you for writing such a lovely review about our hotel. It is always a pleasure to see you and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Laura Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,559 reviews
0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 10 in Morecambe
214 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Address: 312-5 Marine Road Central | Central Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a well-established, family run hotel in Morecambe consisting of 5 family partners. We have been specialising in providing bed and breakfast accommodation for both coach party & individuals for the last 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing