We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was Fab!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse

Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thai Rose is a first for Morecambe. Sited in an iconic building with panoramic views over the bay. Our renowned Thai chef has over 25years experience of Thai Cuisine so you are assured of a true taste of Thailand. All dishes are individually prepared so freshness is what you will receive. Thai food is wholesome and healthy, we won't disappoint you; try us and you will be hooked for life.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was Fab!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went a couple of weeks ago, I had prawn toast for starters & Thai green curry for my main meal it was delicious! Can't wait to go back....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisabyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ande2212, General Manager at Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review of us.
Our original style of authentic Thai cuisine we believe is the best available in the area and these reviews help to promote and confirm the same. You make our chef feel very proud that she is doing the best possible.
The menu is constantly being updated with new choices which we hope will stimulate interest even more. Hope to see you again in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    106
    25
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cartmel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dont let the exterior put you off!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The food and service at Thai Rose (so glad you changed the name) is always fantastic. A lot of people comment on the decor and the toilets being so far away on the reviews on here! Does that really matter!? And you wont get a better view of the amazing Morecambe sunsets in a restaurant anywhere else on the front! Been loads of times now and tried lots of dishes.......the crispy belly pork is a favourite! And all the food is fresh and beautifully presented! The owner and staff always makese you feel welcome and they cant do enough to accommodate you. Looking forward to our next visit! If you have never been - make a date to go!! :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beccy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ande2212, General Manager at Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi beccy and thank you for your review and support.
I think everyone must agree that the exterior is far improved from the original version, the colourful orange is designed to make us stand out from the crowd so to say and for all reviews and comments it has the right effect. I believe the original design of the building which extended over other property's had toilets on the top and ground floor but when sections were sold off in the past it meant the current building only had top floor facilities, having said that at least everyone gets a chance to admire the views on the way up :)
We like to think of ourselves as a no thrill restaurant where you can come and enjoy top quality authentic Thai cuisine at a very competitive price all freshly cooked to order, we have to admire the owner/chef as she prepares and cooks all the main dishes herself to ensure everyone receives the same quality dish. No wonder she was the second best chef in Thailand before, and we are lucky to have her here in Morecambe.
Thank you again beccy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thai food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We called in on a week night following reading the reviews on here. We love Thai food and were not disappointed after trying the set banquet for two with a bottle of Pinot. My wife & I, think it was by far the best Thai meal we have ever eaten. The restaurant was empty (so I can't really rate atmosphere) but we enjoyed having the place to ourselves.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ande2212, General Manager at Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Nice to hear you love Thai food, even better to hear you rate us so highly, I would like to thank you for that. Morecambe is very unpredictable, we can be busy Tuesday this week and very quiet the following Tuesday, its a hard one to follow.
As you say at least you hard peace and quiet :)
One thing that you can be sure of is that our style and quality is always the same.
Thank you very much for your review and hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I normally use a Thai restaurant in Lancaster, but this evening decided to stay in Morecambe. I ordered the swordfish and the wife a sweet and sour noodle dish. It was quite honestly the worst food i had ever been served. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ande2212, General Manager at Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Sorry that your visit with us did not meet your approval. I found your comments very disturbing and obviously this matter was looked into. However I would have hoped that if you were not satisfied for any reason you would have complained to the waitress or even with the gentleman you paid at the bar when you were asked if everything was okay for you.
Swordfish is a new menu option but since its appearance on the fish/seafood menu it has proved very popular. Fresh Swordfish topped with a freshly made Panang sauce. Highly desirable and regularly ordered. Same with the Sweet n Sour, Freshly made sauce with all fresh ingredients including the pineapple, its not from a tin but freshly made on site. This applies to the whole menu, nothing is bought in ready made but all made on site with fresh ingredients. Maybe our style of Thai cuisine did not suit you, it is very fresh, real and authentic. I cant say this is what you would find around the area.
I would recommend people try our style if they want to experience the freshest food available. We appreciate all comments.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looking forward to a return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Not an easy decision where to eat with our best friend on her birthday. After searching google, I decided on the Thai Rose. Totally amazed. It was a Tuesday evening and very few people eating. We were seated by a very pleasant, quiet young lady, thought it better to order drinks as we looked at the menu. It took us ages, as we kept changing our minds. The menu is to be desired! The torment! lol.
We eventually decided on individual starters, but I had to order a couple of extras to share. Phew! Everything was totally better than ever imagined. We were asked if we needed any help with decisions, however, I think that we managed admirably. Our mains were not quite what we expected. In fact, they were much much better.
Our experience of dining at the Thai Rose restaurant went above and beyond any expectation that we had. The food was excellent, just smelling the different herbs and spices was something else, the taste, well, just plain scrummy. More than plentiful. My other half actually left some food on his plate. All in all, very little. But I have never known that before. We were all very happy and very full of perfect Thai food. The perfect end to the meal was to realise that my friend`s mother in law was actually filmed there as a waitress in the film "The Entertainer". It`s a small world,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paniwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ande2212, General Manager at Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive view of us.
We pride ourselves on the quality of the food our chef/owner produces. Every menu item is produced from scratch and individually cooked. You wont find anything fresher than our style of Thai cuisine. We all operate as a family here and try to reflect that to our customers with a warm welcome and service throughout their visit. Really pleased you think so highly of us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse also viewed

 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Thai Rose & Bay Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing