We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
69
74
41
30
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
74
41
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaspect barsea viewsuperior roomsea frontfamily mealmorecambe baylocal producegreat showerlovely hotelcomfy bedlake districtfantastic viewsgreat weekendfull englishafternoon teaweddingrefurb
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Me and my partner decided to go for a drive lunchtime saturday. Bevause neither of us had been to morecambe for at least 25 years, we thought we would give it a try. When we eventually got there, we drove up and down the prom a couple of times. Mainly to find some public toilets. Non existent. So i suggested we stay the night and this was first hotel with vacancies that looked ok from outside. So i ran in to see if the had a room snd cost. Was told £80 room & breakfast. Thouggt great. Looked nice enough. Little did i know about the room. Small. Bathroom. Not a bath a quarter bath. Very old suite. Partner kept banging himself when he went to the toiket on the toilet roll hokder. Rooms were clean. But very sad. During the night, somehow, we ended up with fesueas in the toiket that didnt belong to us. Uh!. Breakfast?. Juixe/ cereals - great. You would expect more choice on a cooked breakfast apart from one bacon, two sauges that i dont think anyone in the hotel ate, they were disgusting,'one fried egg, beans, rock hard fried bread. Toast was cheap nasty thin loaf. Cant fault the bisrro/ restaurant for excellent evening mea but needs more variety. What yhey hadon the menu was not traditional home cooked food.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay here. If this rating system allowed me to tick 'Good' I would have done so ! My reason for choosing 'Average' is that having booked via The Laterooms.com site and found that there was only 1 'Superior' sea-view 4room, we went for this as we did want a sea-view ! As I always try to be very honest with my reviews on Trip Advisor I felt that the use of the word 'Superior' was an overstatement really for the following reasons:- the bathroom was too small and really in need of updating. It would appear that the 'Expelair' had been removed leaving a dirty pipe full of dust. The toilet paper was the cheapest and thinnest that I have come across. The door handle to the room had two screws missing and was only held in with 1 screw and was unusable really. No sugars or milks on the tea/coffee tray. One of the mugs was chipped. The valance on the bed-base had not been put on properly and was extremely creased. There was no sheet between ourselves and the duvet.
We included in our costs two breakfasts on two mornings. The buffet table of cereals/juices etc. could not be faulted. The cooked breakfasts however were found to be a little wanting. Our eggs were swimming in fat which was very offputting. However, the hotel staff were very welcoming, speedy and helpful. It is obvious in these hard times and the further demise of Morecambe since our last visit that keeping and running a hotel of this size is getting more difficult. If it didn't have the views of Morecambe Bay we maybe would not return ? The Lothersdale was however more superior than our last stay in Morecambe at disgusting place next door but one, The Eidsforth. Which I am pleased to report is now closed and up for sale !
I would add that we did not mention any of our concerns etc. whilst we were there !

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which is directly above the bar. It was very noisy with music sounds so if you are wanting a quiet retreat check you are not in room 10 !!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKent001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My sister and I have just spent 7 days here, the service was excellent the room was a good size and very clean, the towels were changed every day it also had an iron with board come trouser press. The food was very good the staff were friendly and very helpful nothing was to much trouble, good location

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUSAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good location and pleasant sea views from the lounge and bar. Stayed on a room only basis so cannot comment on food.
Previous reviewers state they had an updated, sea view or superior room. This did not appear to be the case in my experience as I did not have any of these benefits.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We intended to stay here for just the Friday night over the bank Holliday weekend but were having such a good time that we stayed for the Saturday night
We checked in early and left our car on the hotels car park to wonder around Morecambe, it was a bit windy but we dropped in to a few places for a drink to keep us warm
On returning we were shown to our room and asked the nice chap on reception suggestions for eating out as we only booked b&b. he suggested the Hotels own restaurant but we wanted somethin elsewhere, in the end settling for the Chinese on the next block.
Our room was really nice with lovely wallpaper and a fab view of the bay. Bathroom was a little on the small side for us but it had a great shower, was really clean and loads of hit water to warm us up after being blown with the wind
We returned to the hotel after our meal and went in to the bar which is just fabulous, it's amazing and I live the carpet and leather chairs
That night we decided to stay a second night. The Saturday was glorious so after breakfast which was really filling, fab sausages, we went out in the car for the day.
Parking when we got back was busy so we parked in the car park outside the front which was free
We'd seen the menu for the hotels restaurant and decided to eat there on the Saturday night. It was amazing, well worth the extra night and it made our weekend. We were going to stay a third night but the hotel was full.
All weekend the service has been fabulous and the staff are all really helpful and cheery. The hotel is a great find and had our bathroom been larger we would have said it was a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews