We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Do not stay in this hotel, on arrival our room was not cleaned from the previous guests there was even used toilet paper left in the toilet.We Complained to manager who could not care less. We later discovered a hole in the floor of the bedroom which resulted in a sprained ankle complained again to the manager who said he already knew it was there but did not think to warn us. Food is bland battered fish and sprouts was one meal we were served. Bar prices are well overpriced.If you have already booked this hotel cancel now and get your money back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFHotels-Lothersdale, Owner at Best Western Lothersdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

We feel it is important for accuracy and balance to provide some further details of your visit.
On arrival you asked for a sea-view room, unfortunately the Hotel was fully booked for the bank holiday weekend at which point you stated that you would post a horrible review on Trip Advisor unless we provided you with an upgraded room.

As you did not wish to stay in your room, we offered a full unequivocal refund. This you turned down and chose to stay in the room.

There is a range of meals offered at the Hotel and the main course chosen by yourself one evening was the Breaded Haddock with the vegetables. This was double checked by the restaurant team and served as requested.

Again, we are deeply sorry that the room had not had the final inspection prior to your occupancy which would have shown us that the toilet cleansed strip was not attached. It was though your choice to stay in the room after refusing a full refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

we stayed at this hotel wednesday 7th august, as we were looking for somewhere else to stay after being in the ribble valley the day before, its a 3 star, and as far as we were concerned it was very nice, clean,and staff were very friendly, we just managed to get the last room available through the tourist office, we were on the second floor at the back, but coudnt fault the room we had, after all you dont spend all day in your room, its carpeted throughout, they have there own in house entertainment on some evenings, and there own restourant, we decided to eat out, but found it difficult to find anywhere decent, so in the end we ended up have a meal at the Frankie @ Bennys at the top end of the road on a retail park, sadly morcambe is how can i say, ( dead) in the evenings, which is a shame as its got a lovely beach,and during the day its a totallly different place completely, as to the hotel we would recommend it , no problem, so if you see any negatives then i would say ( ignore them ) !!!!!!!

Room Tip: we were on second floor, and was very quiet, you would probably have to pay more for a sea view , bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our Alfa holiday to the lakes and dales , What a big let down ..... such a small twin room very old fashioned and in need of a modern update , the decor was poor but the worse was yet to come !! the bath room eg the tiny shower room which you really could'nt swing a cat in or turn yourself around in it was terrible .. there was mould all around the shower,The curtain was black with mould and the toilet and floor was very dirty , and old toothpaste stuck on the mirrored cabinet ... I know it was only a 3 star rating but really it was letting itself down ,If i owned it i would re-decorate all the rooms and the dinning room ....
The food was ok but there was not much choice , and very tiny portions.. The entertainment was so so when they had it which was twice..
and we were not allowed to sit in the front bar of the hotel that was for other guests , Not sure that was very fair . sadly that was the only nice part of the hotel ..i can't believe Alfa put us in such an awful place as the holiday was not that cheep . Also Morecambe was such a let down with nothing to do , everything seemed closed down it was a ghost town , but very clean . The only good things about it was nice views and the Eric morecambe statue ... i would never go back there or to the hotel until it was modernised ......

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms are better if your not in a coach party .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFHotels-Lothersdale, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lothersdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are sorry to hear via Trip Advisor of your concerns from your recent visit to us. Had you spoken with us at the time of your visit we could have corrected some of the issues you have mentioned.

In the interests of accuracy we'd like to correct a few inaccuracies in your review. The menu has a wide range of dishes on it and they change daily. For our Alfa Coach guests a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 desserts plus tea or coffee is always offered. The restaurant staff also carry out service checks during each course and are happy to provide additional or larger portions for those travellers with a healthier appetite. Again had you mentioned this at any point during your stay the staff would have been happy to oblige.

The Entertainment was arranged as requested by the coach group on 4 nights out of the 6 during your visit. The 4 artistes being Al Robins, Tony Jackson, John Jeffries and Ade.

Our resident and non-residents bars are for use by all of our guests, we do not place any restrictions on residents enjoying a drink in either of our bars and a good range of seating is provided in both bars. We also offer a residents quiet area where they can sit and watch the wonderful view over the Bay.

Morecambe is a fabulous base for touring the Lakes & Dales, as per your tour itinerary, most of the shopping in Morecambe closes around 5pm but there is 2 excellent markets plus other attractions in both Morecambe and the surrounding areas including Theatres, Cinemas, Parks, along with Historical buildings and a multitude of walks and nature sites.

We do hope that you will revisit the area, may be on a self drive holiday where you get more time to appreciate the many varied attractions and places to visit that a coach tour doesn't allow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 4 consisting of myself my boyfriend his sister and their mum who is disabled.
On arriving at the hotel we were shown to the first room which was supposed to be a twin with a sea view, turned out it was a triple with NO sea view but the receptionist quickly sorted it out and changed the room quickly and efficiently. both rooms were clean and tidy an the view was amazing.
We ate at the restaurant for dinner which was reasonably priced and tasted ok, would I stay here again for the price that was paid prob not, but it was a pleasant trip to the Lothersdale Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRS-PEEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Public areas comfortable and welcoming. Dining room has frosted glass in the windows and is dark and depressing, reminding me of school. Our twin room was adequate and the beds were very comfortable but the bath wasn't cleaned on a daily basis and at the end of my stay, I wrote "clean me" on the top of the wardrobe....it wasn't a tall wardrobe and could be reached without stretching....black mark for that!
Food was ok but, like previous comments, the sausages were truly awful. No imagination in the menu really but what we had was tasty apart from the cod and the aforementioned sausages.
I don't think I will return.....

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank PurrdyWurrdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Me and my partner decided to go for a drive lunchtime saturday. Bevause neither of us had been to morecambe for at least 25 years, we thought we would give it a try. When we eventually got there, we drove up and down the prom a couple of times. Mainly to find some public toilets. Non existent. So i suggested we stay the night and this was first hotel with vacancies that looked ok from outside. So i ran in to see if the had a room snd cost. Was told £80 room & breakfast. Thouggt great. Looked nice enough. Little did i know about the room. Small. Bathroom. Not a bath a quarter bath. Very old suite. Partner kept banging himself when he went to the toiket on the toilet roll hokder. Rooms were clean. But very sad. During the night, somehow, we ended up with fesueas in the toiket that didnt belong to us. Uh!. Breakfast?. Juixe/ cereals - great. You would expect more choice on a cooked breakfast apart from one bacon, two sauges that i dont think anyone in the hotel ate, they were disgusting,'one fried egg, beans, rock hard fried bread. Toast was cheap nasty thin loaf. Cant fault the bisrro/ restaurant for excellent evening mea but needs more variety. What yhey hadon the menu was not traditional home cooked food.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay here. If this rating system allowed me to tick 'Good' I would have done so ! My reason for choosing 'Average' is that having booked via The Laterooms.com site and found that there was only 1 'Superior' sea-view 4room, we went for this as we did want a sea-view ! As I always try to be very honest with my reviews on Trip Advisor I felt that the use of the word 'Superior' was an overstatement really for the following reasons:- the bathroom was too small and really in need of updating. It would appear that the 'Expelair' had been removed leaving a dirty pipe full of dust. The toilet paper was the cheapest and thinnest that I have come across. The door handle to the room had two screws missing and was only held in with 1 screw and was unusable really. No sugars or milks on the tea/coffee tray. One of the mugs was chipped. The valance on the bed-base had not been put on properly and was extremely creased. There was no sheet between ourselves and the duvet.
We included in our costs two breakfasts on two mornings. The buffet table of cereals/juices etc. could not be faulted. The cooked breakfasts however were found to be a little wanting. Our eggs were swimming in fat which was very offputting. However, the hotel staff were very welcoming, speedy and helpful. It is obvious in these hard times and the further demise of Morecambe since our last visit that keeping and running a hotel of this size is getting more difficult. If it didn't have the views of Morecambe Bay we maybe would not return ? The Lothersdale was however more superior than our last stay in Morecambe at disgusting place next door but one, The Eidsforth. Which I am pleased to report is now closed and up for sale !
I would add that we did not mention any of our concerns etc. whilst we were there !

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which is directly above the bar. It was very noisy with music sounds so if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKent001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,559 reviews
0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
288 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lothersdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lothersdale Hotel

Address: 320-323 Marine Road Central | Central Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AA, England (Formerly Lothersdale Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range: £43 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lothersdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lothersdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lothersdale Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing