We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Auckland Hotel(Morecambe)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Trevelyan Guest House(Morecambe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Headway Hotel(Morecambe)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Morecambe(Morecambe)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
65
71
36
29
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
71
36
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaspect baraccess codesea viewsuperior roomsea frontfamily mealmorecambe baysingle roomlovely hoteltapasgreat showerwould stay againlake districtcomfy bedfantastic viewsgreat weekendfull english
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The room we were given was wheelchair accessible, the hotel had moved us to the ground floor and let us check the room first. On arriving the welcome was warm, friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was clean and easily accessible, my husband really enjoyed the food, I thought it was okay. If you needed to eat their each day it would have been expensive. The breakfast was not to my taste but again my husband enjoy the food. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend going to this hotel and they are just across the road from the promenade which was excellent, even for wheelchair use. So excellent hotel and good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited the Lothersdale Hotel on a four day Leisuretime break to the Lakes and Dales. Our first impressions of the hotel were good. The room was clean and tidy, although the bathroom was small, it had the walk in shower we had requested. However, when we went to have a drink before our evening meal, the cost of a pint of lager and a glass of wine was very expensive; when we commented to the manager about this he basically said " if you don't like it, drink somewhere else" (which we did for the rest of the break). We then went to have our evening meal and the first night's meal wasn't too bad although the waiting staff were abrupt, unfriendly and moaned about being too busy; although if our coach party hadn't been in, the hotel would have been empty. The breakfast was OK but on the second night the food was awful, meat that had been boiled not roasted, cauliflower that had not been cooked full stop and roast potatoes that looked like they had been cooked in the morning and warmed up in the microwave, (we later found out that they had been warmed up by cooking in a deep fat fryer before serving). All in all not a good experience, for the first time in a long while I was quite happy to go home. Not the nicest or friendliest place to stay. The only good thing was the view from the 'Aspect Bar' but as we didn't stay for a drink there we were not able to appreciate the view. Morecambe itself was lovely and the people friendly but that did not extend to the staff and manager at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFHotels-Lothersdale, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lothersdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

We're pleased that we were able to meet your requests for a room with an accessible shower and that you found the room clean, tidy and comfortable. Our room sizes do vary due to the age of the building and it's construction in the late 1800's.

We aim to keep the pricing in our public bar in line with similar establishments in the area and are pleased to say that on comparison we are more competitive on price. We do not though aim to compete with large national pub chains who compete on price point only. Our products are all premium brands and our wines are specially selected with many winning national and international wine awards.

We have fed back your comments to the kitchen team who have assured me that none of the meats were boiled. The Roast Potatoes are done prior to service, not microwaved and the Cauliflower is steamed to retain the flavour and crunch to it - had you wished for the vegetables to be cooked to a soft texture they would have been happy to oblige.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with the staff and management was not friendly. The Hotel has an excellent reputation for the friendly staff and high level of hospitality, the annual inspection from the Tourist Board highlights the hospitality and friendly staff each year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Do not stay in this hotel, on arrival our room was not cleaned from the previous guests there was even used toilet paper left in the toilet.We Complained to manager who could not care less. We later discovered a hole in the floor of the bedroom which resulted in a sprained ankle complained again to the manager who said he already knew it was there but did not think to warn us. Food is bland battered fish and sprouts was one meal we were served. Bar prices are well overpriced.If you have already booked this hotel cancel now and get your money back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFHotels-Lothersdale, Owner at Best Western Lothersdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

We feel it is important for accuracy and balance to provide some further details of your visit.
On arrival you asked for a sea-view room, unfortunately the Hotel was fully booked for the bank holiday weekend at which point you stated that you would post a horrible review on Trip Advisor unless we provided you with an upgraded room.

As you did not wish to stay in your room, we offered a full unequivocal refund. This you turned down and chose to stay in the room.

There is a range of meals offered at the Hotel and the main course chosen by yourself one evening was the Breaded Haddock with the vegetables. This was double checked by the restaurant team and served as requested.

Again, we are deeply sorry that the room had not had the final inspection prior to your occupancy which would have shown us that the toilet cleansed strip was not attached. It was though your choice to stay in the room after refusing a full refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

we stayed at this hotel wednesday 7th august, as we were looking for somewhere else to stay after being in the ribble valley the day before, its a 3 star, and as far as we were concerned it was very nice, clean,and staff were very friendly, we just managed to get the last room available through the tourist office, we were on the second floor at the back, but coudnt fault the room we had, after all you dont spend all day in your room, its carpeted throughout, they have there own in house entertainment on some evenings, and there own restourant, we decided to eat out, but found it difficult to find anywhere decent, so in the end we ended up have a meal at the Frankie @ Bennys at the top end of the road on a retail park, sadly morcambe is how can i say, ( dead) in the evenings, which is a shame as its got a lovely beach,and during the day its a totallly different place completely, as to the hotel we would recommend it , no problem, so if you see any negatives then i would say ( ignore them ) !!!!!!!

Room Tip: we were on second floor, and was very quiet, you would probably have to pay more for a sea view , but we werent botherd.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our Alfa holiday to the lakes and dales , What a big let down ..... such a small twin room very old fashioned and in need of a modern update , the decor was poor but the worse was yet to come !! the bath room eg the tiny shower room which you really could'nt swing a cat in or turn yourself around in it was terrible .. there was mould all around the shower,The curtain was black with mould and the toilet and floor was very dirty , and old toothpaste stuck on the mirrored cabinet ... I know it was only a 3 star rating but really it was letting itself down ,If i owned it i would re-decorate all the rooms and the dinning room ....
The food was ok but there was not much choice , and very tiny portions.. The entertainment was so so when they had it which was twice..
and we were not allowed to sit in the front bar of the hotel that was for other guests , Not sure that was very fair . sadly that was the only nice part of the hotel ..i can't believe Alfa put us in such an awful place as the holiday was not that cheep . Also Morecambe was such a let down with nothing to do , everything seemed closed down it was a ghost town , but very clean . The only good things about it was nice views and the Eric morecambe statue ... i would never go back there or to the hotel until it was modernised ......

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms are better if your not in a coach party .....
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFHotels-Lothersdale, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lothersdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are sorry to hear via Trip Advisor of your concerns from your recent visit to us. Had you spoken with us at the time of your visit we could have corrected some of the issues you have mentioned.

In the interests of accuracy we'd like to correct a few inaccuracies in your review. The menu has a wide range of dishes on it and they change daily. For our Alfa Coach guests a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 desserts plus tea or coffee is always offered. The restaurant staff also carry out service checks during each course and are happy to provide additional or larger portions for those travellers with a healthier appetite. Again had you mentioned this at any point during your stay the staff would have been happy to oblige.

The Entertainment was arranged as requested by the coach group on 4 nights out of the 6 during your visit. The 4 artistes being Al Robins, Tony Jackson, John Jeffries and Ade.

Our resident and non-residents bars are for use by all of our guests, we do not place any restrictions on residents enjoying a drink in either of our bars and a good range of seating is provided in both bars. We also offer a residents quiet area where they can sit and watch the wonderful view over the Bay.

Morecambe is a fabulous base for touring the Lakes & Dales, as per your tour itinerary, most of the shopping in Morecambe closes around 5pm but there is 2 excellent markets plus other attractions in both Morecambe and the surrounding areas including Theatres, Cinemas, Parks, along with Historical buildings and a multitude of walks and nature sites.

We do hope that you will revisit the area, may be on a self drive holiday where you get more time to appreciate the many varied attractions and places to visit that a coach tour doesn't allow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews