We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Booked in for an overnite on room only. Had room 17 at the side of the property. Very comfy bed. Toilet is a bit tight in the bathroom. Only met two of the staff because of the time. both were very helpful. Car park to rear can get full. Advised office would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights b&b.

I grew up in Morecambe and family still live there so stayed here for family celebration.

The room was great, view was probably the best I've ever had in a hotel room, right over the bay.

TV was huge and everything was clean and well stocked. The man on reception in the evening was genuine and friendly. The bar was quiet, sadly, as it's a great spot to watch the sun go down.

As I have said before in reviews, if you want everything bland but nice then maybe this isn't the place for you, but if you are happy with quirks and regional, local staff, the odd creak in the floor and the very best views then have a go. Price is reasonable.

I also liked that it was a cooked to order hot breakfast. Continental buffets are fine but when it comes to hot food I prefer a short wait and waitress service to those horrible self serve hot buffets in large steel containers!

Room Tip: Ask or book a room with a sea-view without doubt!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROOMVITHAVIEW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent hotel, brilliant position on sea front, lovely food and brilliant staff throughout stay. Would highly recommend! We booked in as a last minute because the previous hotel we booked was horrid, but everything was perfect from booking in to checking out. The staff were all friendly, we just got a basic room at rear of hotel but it was very adequate, some people could be picky if you want top of the range bathrooms, but this room served us well!! Lovely bar and dining room at good prices for top quality food ! I will definately be going back again !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bernadetteallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A super hotel, right on the sea front. Clean, tidy rooms and great food.
An ideal place to stay for a trip to Morecambe or Lancaster. Good value and friendly helpful service.
It is worth paying the little bit more for a room facing the front. The rooms have good double glazing and there is not issue with noise.
It is a short gentle walk along the front to the main shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank traveller64Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a fab bank holiday weekend here thanks. The service from the staff and manager was fab and they couldn't do enough to help us.
The room was spacious and perfectly clean, bathroom was a tad small but very clean and fine for our weekend away
We added breakfast to our booking as we'd booked through laterooms and it was really nice. The sausage and bacon were really nice and the waitress was really friendly telling us where we could spend the day.
We ate in the Aspects restaurant at night and the food was stunning as was the view
We'd definitely stay here again, but perhaps when they don't have a coach party as a few of them were quite nasty towards the waitresses at breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barryscott12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The room we were given was wheelchair accessible, the hotel had moved us to the ground floor and let us check the room first. On arriving the welcome was warm, friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was clean and easily accessible, my husband really enjoyed the food, I thought it was okay. If you needed to eat their each day it would have been expensive. The breakfast was not to my taste but again my husband enjoy the food. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend going to this hotel and they are just across the road from the promenade which was excellent, even for wheelchair use. So excellent hotel and good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited the Lothersdale Hotel on a four day Leisuretime break to the Lakes and Dales. Our first impressions of the hotel were good. The room was clean and tidy, although the bathroom was small, it had the walk in shower we had requested. However, when we went to have a drink before our evening meal, the cost of a pint of lager and a glass of wine was very expensive; when we commented to the manager about this he basically said " if you don't like it, drink somewhere else" (which we did for the rest of the break). We then went to have our evening meal and the first night's meal wasn't too bad although the waiting staff were abrupt, unfriendly and moaned about being too busy; although if our coach party hadn't been in, the hotel would have been empty. The breakfast was OK but on the second night the food was awful, meat that had been boiled not roasted, cauliflower that had not been cooked full stop and roast potatoes that looked like they had been cooked in the morning and warmed up in the microwave, (we later found out that they had been warmed up by cooking in a deep fat fryer before serving). All in all not a good experience, for the first time in a long while I was quite happy to go home. Not the nicest or friendliest place to stay. The only good thing was the view from the 'Aspect Bar' but as we didn't stay for a drink there we were not able to appreciate the view. Morecambe itself was lovely and the people friendly but that did not extend to the staff and manager at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFHotels-Lothersdale, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lothersdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

We're pleased that we were able to meet your requests for a room with an accessible shower and that you found the room clean, tidy and comfortable. Our room sizes do vary due to the age of the building and it's construction in the late 1800's.

We aim to keep the pricing in our public bar in line with similar establishments in the area and are pleased to say that on comparison we are more competitive on price. We do not though aim to compete with large national pub chains who compete on price point only. Our products are all premium brands and our wines are specially selected with many winning national and international wine awards.

We have fed back your comments to the kitchen team who have assured me that none of the meats were boiled. The Roast Potatoes are done prior to service, not microwaved and the Cauliflower is steamed to retain the flavour and crunch to it - had you wished for the vegetables to be cooked to a soft texture they would have been happy to oblige.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with the staff and management was not friendly. The Hotel has an excellent reputation for the friendly staff and high level of hospitality, the annual inspection from the Tourist Board highlights the hospitality and friendly staff each year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 10 in Morecambe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lothersdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lothersdale Hotel

Address: 320-323 Marine Road | Central Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AA, England (Formerly Lothersdale Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range: £51 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lothersdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Best Western Lothersdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lothersdale Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing