We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Morecambe
SOUTH WEST U.K.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Arrived late one Tuesday evening and was the only place with a double room and parking.
We thought it a little overpriced, but the staff where helpfull and polite, the evening meal and breakfast where both good, the bedroom was clean and bright with a great veiw, but you did have to be very skinny to use the bathroom.
A little better planning i.e. moving the wall between the bathroom and bedroom another 12-18inches would have solved this problem, and have made it a much better experiance which you could then have charged more for.
OVerall a very pleasant experiance and we would stay there again though not very impressed with Morecombe itself.

Room Tip: Must be a sea view on the 1st floor for the best views, and very quite. large and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    61
    29
    24
    24
See reviews for
31
68
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Booked in for an overnite on room only. Had room 17 at the side of the property. Very comfy bed. Toilet is a bit tight in the bathroom. Only met two of the staff because of the time. both were very helpful. Car park to rear can get full. Advised office would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights b&b.

I grew up in Morecambe and family still live there so stayed here for family celebration.

The room was great, view was probably the best I've ever had in a hotel room, right over the bay.

TV was huge and everything was clean and well stocked. The man on reception in the evening was genuine and friendly. The bar was quiet, sadly, as it's a great spot to watch the sun go down.

As I have said before in reviews, if you want everything bland but nice then maybe this isn't the place for you, but if you are happy with quirks and regional, local staff, the odd creak in the floor and the very best views then have a go. Price is reasonable.

I also liked that it was a cooked to order hot breakfast. Continental buffets are fine but when it comes to hot food I prefer a short wait and waitress service to those horrible self serve hot buffets in large steel containers!

Room Tip: Ask or book a room with a sea-view without doubt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROOMVITHAVIEW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent hotel, brilliant position on sea front, lovely food and brilliant staff throughout stay. Would highly recommend! We booked in as a last minute because the previous hotel we booked was horrid, but everything was perfect from booking in to checking out. The staff were all friendly, we just got a basic room at rear of hotel but it was very adequate, some people could be picky if you want top of the range bathrooms, but this room served us well!! Lovely bar and dining room at good prices for top quality food ! I will definately be going back again !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernadetteallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

A super hotel, right on the sea front. Clean, tidy rooms and great food.
An ideal place to stay for a trip to Morecambe or Lancaster. Good value and friendly helpful service.
It is worth paying the little bit more for a room facing the front. The rooms have good double glazing and there is not issue with noise.
It is a short gentle walk along the front to the main shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank traveller64Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a fab bank holiday weekend here thanks. The service from the staff and manager was fab and they couldn't do enough to help us.
The room was spacious and perfectly clean, bathroom was a tad small but very clean and fine for our weekend away
We added breakfast to our booking as we'd booked through laterooms and it was really nice. The sausage and bacon were really nice and the waitress was really friendly telling us where we could spend the day.
We ate in the Aspects restaurant at night and the food was stunning as was the view
We'd definitely stay here again, but perhaps when they don't have a coach party as a few of them were quite nasty towards the waitresses at breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barryscott12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The room we were given was wheelchair accessible, the hotel had moved us to the ground floor and let us check the room first. On arriving the welcome was warm, friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was clean and easily accessible, my husband really enjoyed the food, I thought it was okay. If you needed to eat their each day it would have been expensive. The breakfast was not to my taste but again my husband enjoy the food. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend going to this hotel and they are just across the road from the promenade which was excellent, even for wheelchair use. So excellent hotel and good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 11 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
Address: 320-323 Marine Road Central | Central Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AA, England (Formerly Lothersdale Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lothersdale Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing