We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Strathmore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Midland(Morecambe)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Hotel(Morecambe)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kings Arms(Lancaster)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
    Headway Hotel(Morecambe)
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (396)
    Filter reviews
    396 results
    Traveller rating
    134
    172
    69
    14
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    134
    172
    69
    14
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsour waitershearings hotelsself driveshearings holidaycoach drivernational holidaysinclusive breaksea viewbar managerweekend breakevening entertainment was excellentmeal timesenjoyable holidaymonday to fridayevery eveninglake districtsuperior room
    Filter
    Updating list...
    269 - 274 of 396 reviews
    Reviewed 26 October 2013

    Went with shearings lovely hotel ,very good food we had a lovely waiter. Nice room and very clean just one complaint shower was very small good job im slim because anybody overwait would not get in. The trips were another thing we had a nice trip to windermere on the boat but that was it .,It would have been nice to have a drive round the mountains and lakes instead of shopping for three days. but overall it was a good holiday.

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 459TONY
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

    Dear 459TONY,

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will inform the staff of your kind comments.

    Hope to see you again in the future,

    Kind Regards

    Gemma Alingham
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 October 2013

    Morecambe is in urgent need of improvement – the nostalgic Victorian West End ‘shopping’ in particular.
    Situated east, 1km away along the coast, the Strathmore overlooks the wide extensive bay with distant views into the Lake District. Inside the now weary hotel the friendly staff are all very efficient and most helpful with good meals excellently served.
    However this octogenarian couple , enjoying the very best room, found an enormous bath within a raised platform – we could not risk breaking bones by slipping and falling in with no handles for support. The four-poster bed with wide wooden sides was easy enough to climb into but the sunken mattress made it almost impossible to get out!
    Nevertheless we greatly enjoyed the many trips out - floating on the peaceful canal to the Lune viaduct, riding the nostalgic East Lancs. steam railway, exploring the ancient Yorkshire town of Skipton, visiting the beautiful renowned Kirkby Lonsdale set in beautiful countryside and the slow 6 mile ride viewing Blackpool’s famous Illuminations, not now as memorable as last seen on a day trip some 65 years ago. The crowning visit on the last day was the ‘brief encounter’ at Carnforth railway station.

    Room Tip: Sea view is essential
    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank EJD84_13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

    Dear EJD84_13


    Thank you for your review. I am sorry that Morecambe was not to your liking however I am very pleased that you think our staff are friendly and efficient.
    We hope to see you again in the future.

    Kind Regards

    Gemma Allingham
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 September 2013

    We didnt stay over here at the Strathmore but I came to a wedding last Saturday. The bride and groom chose to have all day here, including the service.

    So starting with the service, it was beautifully set out in a clean and spacious function room. You could tell it had taken some time to put it all together and it was lovely.

    We then went through to the bar area afterwards which was also clean and tidy etc.

    The meal was absolutley fantastic.
    I had the soup to start, followed by the beef (just a little chewy but was fine for me) and the chocolate fudge cake for dessert.

    They then turned the function room round afterwards into a disco etc which was great. The staff were friendly and overall it was an absolutley wonderful day.

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank lvwearing
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

    Dear lvwearing,

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your friend’s wedding and you thought it was a wonderful day. I will pass on your praise to all the staff. We take pride in our weddings here at the Strathmore Hotel and we feel honoured when we get to be part of their special day. We hope to see you at the hotel again soon, perhaps at a Christmas Party!

    Kind Regards

    Gemma Allingham
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 September 2013

    Excellent hotel. Had a standard plus room which was clean and fresh and well furnished. Lovely view of the bay and well worth the extra. Meals were good and the dining room staff are friendly and efficient. Will be looking out for offer so we can enjoy another short break at this hotel.

    Room Tip: Worth paying that little extra for the beautiful sea view.
    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank pauline s
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

    Dear pauline s,

    Thank you for your lovely comments. Our standard plus rooms are lovely and the view over the Bay compliments them beautifully, especially our sunset! I will pass on your praise to the Chef and the Restaurant staff. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the Strathmore Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Kind Regards

    Gemma Allingham
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 September 2013

    Excellent hotel, Our room looked over the bay, Really friendly staff and food excellent .Only draw back is the restaurant is laid out like school canteen, our waitress was really lovely, always bubbly and smiling. The biggest downside was the coach trip with Shearings holidays was!, we got on the coach in Ipswich then journeyed down to London where we picked up our coach to Morecombe. A nine hour trip!!! Morecombe itself is like many seaside towns these days is dated and run down with lots of vacant shops, but on the up side it has a wonderful sandy beach. As for the included trips give them a miss except, for the trip to the lakes. if you do go to the lakes take out a bank loan because the toilets will cost you forty pence (the days of spending a penny have long gone there).visit Eric Morecombe(good value) bar and statue.

    Room Tip: Ask for sea view, because its nice to wake with the early morning sun in your and to look out over the bay
    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank kaztel4969
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

    Dear Kaztel4969,

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you thought the hotel was excellent and I will pass on your praise to all the staff. I do agree with you that our beach is lovely, there has been new sand brought to the town recently and in fact they are also putting more down today!. Eric is a wonderful statue and well worth a visit we are very proud of him here in Morecambe.
    Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

    Kind Regards

    Gemma Allingham
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews