We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 5 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great 5 day break”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

just returned from a 5 day break with shearings,we booked late deal,and we were made very welcome by all the staff at the strathmore,we were on the rear of the hotel,but next time will book a room with a sea view,paid a very reasonable price for holiday,but the food was very good and hot which is very important,leon our waiter was such a nice ,comical man,he was so busy but made time for everyone,trish on reception and behind bar was lovely,our room was kept spotless,but we did not get too see who did that for us,the comedian dave davies was so funny,but also an excellent singer and playing insruments was another of his many talents,lager prices more than local pubs,but to be expected when staying in a hotel with entertainment,then the added bonus gala dinner on wednesdays and 4 free drinks of your ,bchoice that same day,go on book a break at the strathmore,also bus stop straight outside the hotel each way if you want to sight see,thanks to you all

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaside009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Seaside009,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are always pleased to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay.

I will inform all the staff of your kind comments.

I agree with you that our holidays are a good price for everything that is included and paying that little bit more for a sea view is well worth it. The views across the Bay to the Lake District are beautiful.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gemma Allingham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    157
    64
    13
    6
See reviews for
52
216
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

we came under our own steam to the bay strathmore hotel the parking is plentyfull on the promanade outside the hotel the staff are all very friendly ,the waiting staff cannot do enough for you espially our waiter tomaz who seemed to go the extra mile to be helpfull,the food was good & plenty of choice ,entertainment was very good too ,lasty thank you to alan the coach driver on the excursions who's local knowelage is second to none

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Keith j,

It is always nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their holiday. Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to write a review.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gemma Allingham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Outside, Strathmore Hotel impressive, reception tiny, lift minute, says 5 people only, 3 average-size people a squeeze, used once just for the thrill of a 1940's experience! Paid extra £28 per person for a sea view, ROOM 111 gives a view of the large plastic pyramid over the entrance, what a con, only a partial sea view but not a partial price. Room fine, but one problem, quilt does not fit the bed, it's exactly the width of bed, once two people in bed you cannot cover both, still, room very hot, so didn't freeze. Would avoid sea view rooms as very very noisy until traffic stops at about 1am, starts again before daylight about 5.30am! Food varied, tasty and arrives hot, good choice, waiting staff (both of them) work hard. Entertainment much better than at other Shearings hotels I've been to. All in all, would recommend, and will go again. Bus stops directly outside hotel with timetable, go into Lancaster and get bus from bus station into Windermere, Ambleside, Keswick, great day trip. Just one dislike, carpets could do with a steam clean, feel a bit 'sticky' underfoot, take slippers!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SFord1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear SFord1163,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry you did not like the sea view from your room. I am glad that you mentioned it to me when you arrived as it gave me the chance to offer you an alternative room. It is unfortunate you decided to stay in room 111 where you were not happy.
It disappoints me that you did not mention about your quilt whilst you were here It would have been no issue for us to get it changed for you. Had you also mentioned about your carpet, we would have investigated it and got it cleaned straight away.
We want our guests to be comfortable during their stay and it is a shame when we do not get the chance to rectify things whilst you are here.
Our hotel is over 100 years old and therefore the lift is in keeping with the building, however I am sure you agree despite the vintage appearance it works fine and provides our guests with the service they need.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food here at the Strathmore Hotel and I will pass on your kind comments to the chef. I will also pass on your praise to the restaurant staff they do work very hard. I agree with you travelling around is so easy with the bus stops just outside the hotel. We are a great base for visiting the surrounding areas. It is great that you would recommend us and that you will visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gemma Allingham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

just had three day weekend break. staff very good and helpful. food good shearings standard. only complaint was there where five lights of different sorts in our room 217 fitted with economy bulbs.not one bright enough to read by

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melvyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Melvyn B,

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you enjoyed your break and that the hotel staff were helpful. I will pass on your kind comments to the Chef.
I am very sorry the lighting in your room wasn’t to your satisfaction. Hopefully we will see you again, where we will do our upmost to ensure you have suitable reading light.

Thank you once again,

Gemma Allingham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and and I and two friends spent a weekend break there in February. Our room (102) was clean and well maintained. The food at dinner and breakfast was more than adequate and was well presented. Although Morecambe itself is nothing to write home about, the hotel is well situated for trips into teh Lake District. For those with a bus pass, there is a bus stop directly outside the hotel with buses every 15 minutes (number 3 and 4) to both the town centre and Lancaster.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank preece60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Preece60,

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you liked your bedroom and enjoyed the food here at The Strathmore Hotel. I will pass on your kind words to our Head Chef and our Housekeeping Manager.

We are in an ideal location as a base to explore the surrounding area and we are very lucky with a good bus service just outside our front door! I am glad you found it easy to travel about and enjoy your holiday.

Kind Regards

Gemma Allingham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Travelled to the Bay Strathmore with National Holidays from Yorkshire! Hotel experienced prompt check in - possibly abit too quick as we felt like various bits of paper where just thrown at us.... quickly followed by a key! Was expecting some sort of welcome pack with all info together.

We stayed on 3rd floor sea view nice views for Febuary...

Room nice enough dated furniture and dark peach decor floral curtains - en suite bathroom with bath (a rubbish shower - no power) and a loo - basic toiletries provided and towels. Bed Firm and a few worn out springs - antiquated Analogue Tv with 5 channels well 4 as channel 1 picture not legible - we did however manage to connect via Wifi from our room to watch tv on our computer.

Cannot stress how lovely breakfast and dinner were throughout break and excellent service from laila. Bar Service excellent - cant be a set tarriff thou as bar tab prices varies each night for same drinks. Good selection of 4 free drinks on "Gala" night.

Morcambe

Been of the younger generation we found Morcambe quite boring really the beach isnt a sandy seaside beach as is stereotypical complete with quick sand apparently! Lancaster well worth a visit and the lakes not too far.

National Holidays Bus Driver John Was Fabulous

Overall the break was good but not excellent but you do definately get what you pay for I believe! The hotel staff are a credit to their management!



Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nuckingfutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear nuckingfutz,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.
Firstly may I apologise that you thought check in was too quick. As a company our procedure is to come on the coach and give a welcome speech to you all, this is where we state the main pieces of information you need and explain what the paperwork is that you will be given once you come into the hotel.
As you can understand giving the welcome speech to each person at the reception desk when you check in can cause long queues. We explain what each piece is on the coach so that when you come in, we can just hand it out quickly to avoid you waiting out in the cold.

There is also welcome pack in each bedroom with extra information about the hotel and the surrounding area. I apologise if you did not have one.

Regarding your bedroom, I apologise if it was not to your liking. We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms and the T.V’s. Perhaps in the future you’ll have the pleasure of staying in one of the new rooms.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food here at The Strathmore Hotel and I will pass on your lovely comments to our Chef and Laila, they will both be very pleased to hear them.

It is a shame you did not like the beach here at Morecambe, we have a beautiful sandy beach further down the promenade, about a 15 minute walk from the hotel that does get very busy in the summer months. Luckily the quicksand is only if you go too far out.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. As you will see from many other reviews, our staff are constantly praised on their friendliness and helpfulness. They all work extremely hard and I agree with you, they are a credit to this hotel.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gemma Allingham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We booked this as a much needed break on a self drive as we are only about hour and half away.The reception staff very very helpful and friendly.
This was a Friday to Monday 3 night stay so excellent value.
Our room was 3rd floor overlooking the bay which we did pay a little extra for but worth it.
The room itself was very comfortable and good size bathroom with bath and shower.
The only slightly negative comment was the quite old tv which had few channels and bbc1 a bad picture.We do like to watch the early morning news so this was the only negative comment.
The food was very very good, a varied menu and the choice excellent. Top marks to the kitchen staff.Also a mention to the wating staff, all very polite and well trained with good manners.
There was entertainment on all 3 nights......1st night was a male singer....Bruce ( cant remembers surname) But he was brilliant!!!!! Im the lady who requested Billy Joel and Bruce sang a Billy Joel song absolutedly great.!!! Thankyou Bruce!!!! 2nd night was a female singer, she also very very good, she did a wider range but her classical ones, top notch.3rd evening a guitarist/singer , also very good, good voice....So Top Marks Strathmore for entertainment!!
I would thouroughly recommend this hotel and well done to the manager and staff.

Room Tip: pay a supplement for a sea view . we were able to watch different birds on the beach from the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breakawayHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear breakawayHalifax,

Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you so much for your kind words. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and that everything was to your liking. We apologise for the inconvenience with the T’V’s and can assure you that this is being taken care of. I will inform all the staff and entertainers of your lovely comments. I know Chef will be happy you enjoyed his food he loves a good compliment! I agree that our breaks are brilliant value for money. I would also recommend that little bit extra for the sea views. They are beautiful and I feel very lucky to be looking out at it right now!
Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Gemma Allingham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,423 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Strathmore Hotel

Property: Bay Strathmore Hotel
Address: Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Strathmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located on the beautiful East Promenade of Morecambe, this hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay and Lakeland Fells. The beautiful restaurant and cocktail bar is complemented by the stunning sea view across Morecambe Bay. The pleasant bar and lounges also have a great ambience in which to relax and enjoy the warm and friendly hospitality. The Strathmore benefits from a lift to all floors and there is plenty of parking available in the hotel car park which is located on the promenade. This hotel is close to many attractions and places of interest, but also offers the perfect base from which to explore the neighbouring Lake District and Lancaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing