We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Strathmore Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Headway Hotel(Morecambe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Auckland Hotel(Morecambe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    The Midland(Morecambe)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Royal Kings Arms(Lancaster)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (393)
    Filter reviews
    393 results
    Traveller rating
    133
    171
    69
    13
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    133
    171
    69
    13
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsour waitershearings hotelsself driveshearings holidaycoach drivernational holidaysinclusive breaksea viewbar managerweekend breakevening entertainment was excellentmeal timesenjoyable holidaymonday to fridayevery eveninglake districtsuperior room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    234 - 239 of 393 reviews
    Reviewed 2 July 2014

    We have just had a weekend break at the "Strathmore Hotel" it obviously badly needs updating,
    but having said that our bedroom was acceptable, but the bathroom was badly lacking shelving for toiletries etc., the only good thing was the light over wash basin!
    The food was average, and the waiter attentive, but please supply a few more menus, i counted 3 for the whole restaurant,so poor waiter was having to nearly run round the tables!!
    On the Sunday evening being the last night of our stay, we where looking forward to the entertainment to round the weekend off, we could not believe NO ENTERTAINMENT!! not even background music! although after locating a member of staff a tape was produced, borrowed from the previous evenings act, and that was it!
    As for the bar prices it was unbelievable! i know you expect to pay a little more when away but
    the prices were way over the top!!

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank oxfordroad1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

    Dear reviewer
    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your weekend break.
    New menus have recently been introduced and we have one per person plus spares I apologise if this was not the case at the time of your stay.
    As part of the Bay Hotels brand we have a brand bar tariff as other Bay Hotels and have entertainment 5 of 7 nights, background music is played when no entertainment is on such as during the day and 2 evenings. I apologise that this didn’t happen automatically during your stay.
    Regards
    Joanna Wilkinson
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 July 2014

    Good position, with lovely views across the bay. Our room was functional. Not great. Back view of fire escape, and a lot of noise from the residents of the hotel next door who were sitting out and also playing football. Bathroom did not have enough shelves or space in the shower for shampoo bottles, which then had to balance on the edge of the shower tray. It was nigh on impossible to drag the shower door to. The food was decent enough. Efficient service.. Breakfast was nice with a choice of cereals and fruit - BUT during our stay, out of the four of us none of us ever had a runny egg. We tried them all. Boiled, poached, fried - they were always hard, which spoiled the breakfast. We asked for the cream scones one afternoon,which were advertised on every table, only to be told they don't have them because there is no call for them, and there were no other cakes available either. On the last night there was no entertainment. There was also no TV and no music available. The girl did not know where the games were, or the cd's. All the guests were supposed to just sit there and spend a fortune on the extortionately priced drinks. Shearings are a large enough company to provide fairly priced beverages. Prices should not be compared to the area, but to other Shearing hotels, so that regular customers do know what to expect. This hotel does not seem to cater for it's guests and has an excuse for everything instead of sorting things out. Reception was poorly manned and when staff were in the back office they ignored you. They should look up and acknowledge you at least. We were also shouted to from the back office which meant we had to shout back. Very unprofessional.

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Pixiep92
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

    Dear reviewer
    I am surprised to read of your dissatisfaction with some elements of your holiday and take this opportunity to apologise for the dissatisfaction you feel.
    As part of the Bay Hotels brand we use the same bar tariff and food menus as all other hotels in our group. Bar food is served daily including scones and biscuits though these can be very popular leading to low stocks on occasions. I apologise if this was the case during your stay.
    The recent refurbishment of the bar lounge has meant the relocation of items such as games and again I apologise if staff were unable to find them during your stay.
    I have investigated the points you raise and have ensured that staff will do better in the future.
    Joanna Wilkinson
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 June 2014

    I'd like to thank all of the staff at the Strathmore for their superb support of St John's Hospice's recent fundraising night. The Strathmore continuously support St John's as their charity of choice - this time providing us with a function room to host our After Dark 'Carry on Doctor' Murder Mystery Night.

    The hotel served a delicious supper of 'hot pot & apple pie' for our guest to enjoy, with several vegan and vegetarian alternatives offered too.

    It was a wonderful evening and we would like to take this opportunity to thank all at the Strathmore once again for their continued support.

    We shall look forward to working with you again in the future.

    Anna Scott
    (Community Fundraiser for St John's Hospice)

    Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    4  Thank Anna S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

    Dear Anna

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.
    We are looking forward to planning our next joint fundraiser for the hospice.

    Regards
    Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 June 2014

    We went with Shearings Coach Trips on 8 day holiday Great bedroom number 101 overlooking the bay well worth the extra money all the facilities in the room and hotel were up to standard. As we were half board the breakfasts and evening meals were good with a nice selection to choose from.The only slight niggle was the bar prices which were exorbitant to say the least with beer at £3 /90 a pint a bit expensive for us pensioners. all in all venue.

    Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    3  Thank jazz336
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

    Dear reviewer
    I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and particularly the recently refurbished standard plus twin room 101.
    I shall pass on your compliments to chef and his kitchen team.
    I’m sorry you were disappointed by bar pricing but our prices remain competitive for a hotel bar in the area and hope you will consider returning .

    Regards

    Joanna Wilkinson
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

    Another fantastic night with After Dark Murder Mystery.
    A classic carry in theme, performed with real passion, from the cast.
    Had a fabulous night with friends as always but this time we also raised some money for a wonderful cause St. John's hospice.
    Staff really helpful and food was good .

    • Stayed: June 2014
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
    2  Thank Jacquishadowhunters
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

    Dear reviewer
    Thank you for your review of the Murder Mystery event we recently held in aid of St Johns Hospice, our community project for 2014. A great night was had by all, including the staff, and i am so pleased to read your satisfaction.
    I look forward to your return visit.

    Regards
    Joanna Wilkinson
    Assistant Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews