We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room needs refurbishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from 3 night stay. The room(114) was small. It was at the rear of the hotel view from small window was of the fire escape. This room had a fire escape door, which was not of a good fit, and had caused black mould around the wall and ceiling area. Bed linen clean, towels where very small, certainly not bath towels. This room really did need refurbishing. Most of the hotel was in need of attention. The lift was ancient, and for the last 24 hours that we were there, the light fitting was not working, and had two torches on the floor to light up the lift? health and safety???. On the Saturday night there was a wedding reception, by 9-30pm 4 policemen arrived as there was a disturbance with the wedding guests fighting!!! On the plus side the food was of a good standard. The waiter was a charming man and very attentive. All in all I would say do not expect 4 star, I have concluded that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen May B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I do apologise regarding your bedroom door and have investigated this issue with our housekeeping team. Again regarding the lift light I apologise but we were unable to resolve the light fitting on the Sunday due to an electrician being required to investigate, so two torches were in use to allow some light in the lift.
I do hope you will consider returning to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff were really great and helped make our stay such a good one.Meals were of a good quality and well served .The hotel was clean and well serviced and in a great position on Morecambe promenade with fantastic views of the lake District Mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mazungu_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
Indeed the views for the hotel of the Lakes are stunning and with both buses and road links the Lake District is only 30 minutes from the hotel, making us a great base to explore from.

I hope you are able to return in the future

Regards
Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was the fourth time we travelled to a Bay hotel and the Strathmore hotel did not let us down. The hotel has a great position across from the sea front and the meals and dining service were excellent. Entertainment at night varied and suited most ages. Morecambe, itself, did not have a lot to do as a family but only a short drive from the hotel you found yourself in the beautiful Lake District.

Room Tip: paying the supplement for a sea view is worth every penny and enhances the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Strathmore Hotel. I shall pass on your compliments to the Restaurant and kitchen staff.
Indeed the views across the Bay are outstanding and with only a 30 minute drive to the Lake District we are an excellent base to explore the area

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My Wife and I have just retuned from Holiday at this Hotel. The Food was Very Good and Served promptly. The Entertainment was also Very Good. The Driver ''Alan'' was very knowledgeable of the Area, and Quite Humorous. The Bedroom was very Clean but needed updating I in Some Areas. We would definitely use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your review of your stay at the hotel, i am pleased to read of your satisfaction with food, cleanliness, and staff and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. I have no problems at all, the hotel was clean and neat, food very good and staff great. Meals were on time and a good selection any requests you gave to the staff were seen too if possible. I would return without any worry keep up the good work and thank your staff as they make the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank 471MaureenHargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for posting your 5 star review, i shall pass on your compliments to the team who will so pleased to read of your satisfaction
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for your next holiday.
Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hotel is in a perfect location ,bus stop right outside so you could get anywhere, the only fault on that is watch the road as it is nearly non stop traffic . Our rooms were on top floor(3RD) facing backs of houses , but not a problem as curtains were kept closed to keep sun out, just wish there was air con as heat was unbearable. maybe need blinds in bathrooms, food and entertainment you couldnt fault , we paid a low price for holiday ,but some paid twice as much (i wouldnt have been as happy ).As it was beach front it was amazing watching the bay fill and empty, there was no problem from neighbouring hotels. pity the bar shuts sometimes before 11pm. i wouldnt say it was a family resort although beach was nice in areas .

Room Tip: 314 not good room due to shower being inadequate your more sweaty when you get out than when you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear reviewer
With views over the Bay and towards the Lake District and bus stops outside the hotel we have a wonderful location
I’m sure you’ll agree that the temperatures peaking at 30 degrees during your stay weren’t our normal summer weather. Shutting curtains and providing fans for bedrooms and having the luxury of air con in the public areas have definitely helped us all cope with the extreme heat.

I hope you will consider returning and sampling more of the Morecambe sunshine in the future

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have just returned having been on a Monday to Friday break with Shearings and only paying £129 for 5 days (including excursions) was fantastic value. Yes, the hotel does need updating in some areas but overall hotel and bedrooms were very clean. We were at the back of the hotel and room had a double and single beds with ample storage space. Staff were good, especially our waiter, Thomaz who could not do enough for you. Food and choice were 1st class. Sometimes I wonder what people want for their money and I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Its a shame that Morecambe itself is not as inviting - town needs a complete overall especially up the west end. Luckily this hotel is at the east end and has a magnificant park about a 10 min walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear reviewer
I am so pleased to read of your satisfaction with so many aspects of your stay and shall pass on your compliments to Tomasz, Chef and the kitchen staff and housekeeping.
Thank you for your review and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your next great value break

Regards
Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.1 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
827 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Strathmore Hotel

Address: Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range: £30 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Strathmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located on the beautiful East Promenade of Morecambe, this hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay and Lakeland Fells. The beautiful restaurant and cocktail bar is complemented by the stunning sea view across Morecambe Bay. The pleasant bar and lounges also have a great ambience in which to relax and enjoy the warm and friendly hospitality. The Strathmore benefits from a lift to all floors and there is plenty of parking available in the hotel car park which is located on the promenade. This hotel is close to many attractions and places of interest, but also offers the perfect base from which to explore the neighbouring Lake District and Lancaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing