We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay out of room 210”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break with shearings at this hotel. Great food, excellent service. Good choice of trips out. Good beach location. Long way from town centre.
The hotel is ok until you leave the main ground floor area. The stairs and landing areas are clean but shabby and in need of some attention. Paint work is chipped and the carpets are worn and stained in places. Our room was at the back of the hotel. It was very small and we had the lift shaft on one side . Every time someone left the lift the door banged on the wall making a loud noise. This was especially a pain at night when you were in bed. Bathroom was clean but in need of some minor improvements. Hand rail above bath was loose and there was a large crack in the toilet too. There was no space at either side of the bed to walk. We also discovered on the last day that the bed was broken(Not by us may I say). My advice is stay out of room 210!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank piggydm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear reviewer
Thank you for your review of your stay and for so many positive comments regarding the food and staff.
We are continuously working to repaint skirting’s and walls in the very busy public areas and have recently completed the refurbishment of the bar/lounge area.
Maintenance have investigated the issues you mention regarding the bathroom.
All standard rooms are at the rear of the hotel with the front view and standard plus rooms from only £7pp per night.
I hope you will consider returning in the future
Regards
Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed with family on a Shearings self drive 3 night break. Our room was small but clean and had everything in we required. The only thing we could grumble about was the space around the bed. It was very restricted! Everything else was fine. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and special thanks to our lovely waiter Maciewj? Probably spelt horribly wrong but I`m sure you`ll recognise the name! We were very impressed with the food both quality and presentation and the lovely hot plates at all meals!! Wish all Shearings hotels were the same!! The weather wasn`t very good whilst we were there so we couldn`t stroll on the prom and sit on the many seats that were out there. We could see the lovely Lake District across the Bay though! Wasn`t very impressed with Morecambe and the sea front looked a bit seedy but the Hotel met all our requirements and we would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Obviously sea views best but will be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puds_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your great review of your stay, I shall pass on your compliments to the Chef and both kitchen and restaurant staff, plus Maciej!
For your next stay why not upgrade to a view plus room where you benefit from both the beautiful views and larger more recently decorated rooms.

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from 3 night stay. The room(114) was small. It was at the rear of the hotel view from small window was of the fire escape. This room had a fire escape door, which was not of a good fit, and had caused black mould around the wall and ceiling area. Bed linen clean, towels where very small, certainly not bath towels. This room really did need refurbishing. Most of the hotel was in need of attention. The lift was ancient, and for the last 24 hours that we were there, the light fitting was not working, and had two torches on the floor to light up the lift? health and safety???. On the Saturday night there was a wedding reception, by 9-30pm 4 policemen arrived as there was a disturbance with the wedding guests fighting!!! On the plus side the food was of a good standard. The waiter was a charming man and very attentive. All in all I would say do not expect 4 star, I have concluded that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen May B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I do apologise regarding your bedroom door and have investigated this issue with our housekeeping team. Again regarding the lift light I apologise but we were unable to resolve the light fitting on the Sunday due to an electrician being required to investigate, so two torches were in use to allow some light in the lift.
I do hope you will consider returning to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff were really great and helped make our stay such a good one.Meals were of a good quality and well served .The hotel was clean and well serviced and in a great position on Morecambe promenade with fantastic views of the lake District Mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mazungu_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
Indeed the views for the hotel of the Lakes are stunning and with both buses and road links the Lake District is only 30 minutes from the hotel, making us a great base to explore from.

I hope you are able to return in the future

Regards
Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was the fourth time we travelled to a Bay hotel and the Strathmore hotel did not let us down. The hotel has a great position across from the sea front and the meals and dining service were excellent. Entertainment at night varied and suited most ages. Morecambe, itself, did not have a lot to do as a family but only a short drive from the hotel you found yourself in the beautiful Lake District.

Room Tip: paying the supplement for a sea view is worth every penny and enhances the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Strathmore Hotel. I shall pass on your compliments to the Restaurant and kitchen staff.
Indeed the views across the Bay are outstanding and with only a 30 minute drive to the Lake District we are an excellent base to explore the area

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My Wife and I have just retuned from Holiday at this Hotel. The Food was Very Good and Served promptly. The Entertainment was also Very Good. The Driver ''Alan'' was very knowledgeable of the Area, and Quite Humorous. The Bedroom was very Clean but needed updating I in Some Areas. We would definitely use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your review of your stay at the hotel, i am pleased to read of your satisfaction with food, cleanliness, and staff and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. I have no problems at all, the hotel was clean and neat, food very good and staff great. Meals were on time and a good selection any requests you gave to the staff were seen too if possible. I would return without any worry keep up the good work and thank your staff as they make the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank 471MaureenHargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for posting your 5 star review, i shall pass on your compliments to the team who will so pleased to read of your satisfaction
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for your next holiday.
Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.1 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 10 in Morecambe
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Strathmore Hotel

Address: Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Strathmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located on the beautiful East Promenade of Morecambe, this hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay and Lakeland Fells. The beautiful restaurant and cocktail bar is complemented by the stunning sea view across Morecambe Bay. The pleasant bar and lounges also have a great ambience in which to relax and enjoy the warm and friendly hospitality. The Strathmore benefits from a lift to all floors and there is plenty of parking available in the hotel car park which is located on the promenade. This hotel is close to many attractions and places of interest, but also offers the perfect base from which to explore the neighbouring Lake District and Lancaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing