We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Berkeley Guest House Morecambe Lancs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkeley GuestHouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at The Berkeley Guest House again at the end of March and we had a fantastic time. The staff were yet again very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. We also noticed the outside has been painted and new railings put in place and it really does look lovely and inviting, well done to the owners. Our room was very clean and we were extremely comfortable. Sambuca was flowing and we had a great evening in the bar. We have no problem in recommending this lovely Guest House. We will be back again. Many Thanks
John & Lorraine Mitchell

Room Tip: We have had a room at the front with fanatstic views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitchell_pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

You have actually been back again before i have responded to this review.
It was great to see you both again and glad you enjoy it and keep coming back.
There was no need for the envelope you left this time.
Found another flavour of Sambucca so now got 16. Hurry up back!!
Best wishes
Mal, Colette Thomas and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great place to stay, clean and tidy, very nice people. The rooms are comfortable and Wifi is available. Fully, recommend staying. Mal, Colette and staff are superb, nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveWri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dave, first of all we apologise for the response to yours and all other reviews. There is a new protocol been put in place regarding us registering with TA and we took our time deciding to the course of action.
It was nice to know you Dave and hope you will return even if you are not working up here. We have sent e-mails to your old works address hoping you would pick them up but no reply yet.
Thanks for the kinds words.
Mal, Colette Thomas and staff. Gerry saysd Hi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

It has been several months since my wife and I stayed at the Berkeley Guest House in Morecambe, Lancashire but such was our great experience there that I cannot put off this review any longer. We arrived 'on spec' and were immediately greeted as long lost friends. We were shown a lovely room overlooking the beach and made to feel at home at once by the hosts. The guest house is undergoing some renovations and, when completed, these can only enhance a great stay there. The place is warm and very clean. But the breakfast - oh the breakfast! Plenty of it and very well cooked and presented with loads of black pudding and locally supplied sausages - a real treat. We will certainly return when in the area. 10 out of 10 - a great guest house in a great part of the country!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thanks for the surprise review Stuart. Be it a one night stay or a longer break, we try and be as friendly to our guests as we are when we are alone with friends.
Glad you enjoyed the view, they are lovely.
As you found out, Colette doesn't know what small portions are and we think breakfast is the main meal of the day when you are going exploring the beautiful countryside around here.
As for the renovations, the next stage is underway and near completion ready for Xmas and next season. We try to keep the work to small stages so as not to disrupt our guests.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed at the Berkeley for 2 nights in October and my wife and I could not have been happier with the cleanliness,the airiness and freshness of the room (5A) and fluffy bath towels (bonus), Great sea views in a great position for all the amenities . Thanks to Mal and Collette for all the local info . Great breakfast and good priced bar . Would defo stay there again
Dave and Mandy

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thanks for the review Dave and Mandy.
Sorry you didn't see much of me, but i really wasn't well. Better now.
We sitting here now waiting for the carpet man to come so you'll have to keep your promise and come and see it when its all done.
Hope the house was in one piece when you got home!
See you again.
Mal, Colette, Thomas and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food excellent but what really made our stay special was the hospitality shown by Mal and Collette and their staff, who went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure all our needs were met. A big thank you and we hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WimbledonGoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Hi Wimbledon. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and glad you feel that you need to make such kind remarks. We do enjoy meeting and spending as much time as we can with the guests. We have all gone away and forgotten something and if we can help by having that one item to hand, it helps you enjoy your time instead of worrying about having to go and find one in the shops.
We do hope you return next year.
Regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A big thanks for a great nights stay! we were given the top floor overlooking the lakes mountains, lovely warm room with en suite, plus a seperate room with twin beds.
This was a freebie weekend for us as my father in law paid for us all, 5 rooms in total, but had i paid id have been more that happy with the service, surroundings and breakfast, which was ample, tasty and served with a smile!

Its easy to see why the Berkley is rated #1 hotel in morecambe, come and see for yourselves!

well done to Mal and the team, hope to see you again very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the spacious top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carlislejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Thanks for the review Bob. Its nice of Eric to take you all away for a weekend and you must thank him on our behalf for choosing the Berkeley this time round and we all hope he chooses us next time.
All the family seemed to enjoy themselves and the kids were amazed by the views from the top floor rooms.
Regards to all.
Mal, Colette, Thomas and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Mal & Collette are pouring heart & soul into this B&B. Everytime we have returned we can see the amazing efforts that they have poured into making this 'THE" place to stay in Morecambe ! Besides being clean, warm, cosy and in a fantastic location, the "Berkely Team" make you feel as if you are at home ! Forgotten your hairdryer? Just pop into the kitchen for a natter with Collette and borrow one !! Where else can you get such warmth and friendliness.

The poached eggs are the best on the planet and I would challenge anyone of these TV chefs to do a better one !! You won't find a warmer, comfier and friendly B&B than this !! Its excellent value, nothing is too much trouble and you would be mad to even consider staying anywhere else!!

Suzanne Knight (from Ascot, Berkshire)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ascotsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Thanks for your review Suzanne and thanks for your comment in the visitors book regarding who makes the best poached eggs!!!( scrambled for you from now on).
Its guests like you that come back time after time that manage to see the impovements we are making all the time. On your next visit, the colour scheme on the hall stairs and landings will have changed.
Thanks again and see you on your next trip to Morecambe.
Mal, Colette, Thomas and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 10 in Morecambe
285 reviews
1 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
205 reviews
0 mi away
The Balmoral Guest House
The Balmoral Guest House
#6 of 25 in Morecambe
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Trevelyan Guest House
The Trevelyan Guest House
#1 of 25 in Morecambe
279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yacht Bay View Guest House
Yacht Bay View Guest House
#5 of 25 in Morecambe
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Shipping Lanes Hotel
The Shipping Lanes Hotel
#12 of 25 in Morecambe
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley GuestHouse

Address: 39 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range: £52 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley GuestHouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley has just been awarded a Silver Rosette to compliment their 3 star rating with Visit Britain.A family friendly licensed guesthouse situated on the sea front with stunning views over the bay and the Lake District hills. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, freeview TVs, beverage trays. Wii, bar games and beach equipment available free of charge. Free wi-fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Berkeley GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing