We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkeley GuestHouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was the third year we have stayed in The Berkeley and it just gets better. A warm welcome from the beginning got the weekend off to a great start. Rooms have been refurbished since last year and the colour scheme in our room was lovely and very thoughtfully out together. Breakfast great as usual and Mal and Collette and staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Prices very competitive. Thanks for a great weekend and hope the puppy is settling in - thank you for letting me have a cuddle (of the dog that is!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SALspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thanks Salspoon for reviewing our guest house in such a positive way. Who comes up with the names on here?
Glad you like the changes we have made over the last 3 years. Cant believe we have been here 3 years already. It certainly looks 100% better than when we bought it. Its an on going job though and you will notice more changes next year.
Unfortunately the pup had to go as both me and Thomas were allergic to dogs and didnt know until we bought her. Maybe i'll get the cuddle next year!!
Best wishes
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was my second stay at the Berkeley in the last two years, and can not fault the comfort,of the rooms, the price,and friendlyness, of the staff and owners, Colette & Mal, who all make you so welcome, (this has not allways been the case at some locations I have stayed over the years)I found the cleanliness here, in all aspects second to none.
The Berkeley's location & frontage provide excellent views across Moirecambe Bay, & the Cumbrian mountains.
I do intend to visit Morecambe again next year,& I will be staying once more at the Berkeley, and finaly I must say I will give it a 10 out of 10 recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONCLOGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Hi Geddon. Thanks for you most kind review of our guest house. It was good to see you again and thanks for choosing the Berkeley for your stay.
It doesn't take much to keep a place clean as long as it is maintained. All down to Colette.
Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

An excellent 2 night stay, a very family oriented establishment with cheery staff and propietors, Mal and Colette.
Very clean, bright and welcoming rooms with good facilities.
Excellent full english breakfast

A very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thanks for your kind review Steve. It must be odd staying somewhere when you can virtually see where you live even though it is miles away.
It was good to see you after all this time and hope you can make again soon.
Regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I enjoyed my stay in Berkely House very much. Colette is a superb and very friendly host, always making sure you feel comfortable. Mal is a very nice chap who even can chatter with you in German - if you wish to do so ;-) The other members of the staff are friendly as well.
The room which I had was neat and cosy, faced the rear and was therefore very quiet. The breakfast was great, a full Lancashire breakfast including a slice of black pudding and a very good sausage.
Morecambe might have had busier days in the past as a seaside resort; however, since it is not as overcrowded as Blackpool it is much more quiet and relaxing. The Promenade is wonderful due to its fantastic views across the bay stretching to the Cumbrian coast, the Cumbrian Mountains and the Pennines. Liked it very much there. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastian55118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Guten Tag Bastion,
Thank you so much for those very encouraging words. I must admit your English is so much better than my German.
Colette thanks you for your kind comments as do we all.
Hope you enjoyed your travles around the North west and maybe we will see you again.
Kind regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Berkeley Guest House, they could not have looked after us any better than they did, my wife has Alzheimer's and get a bit confused and lost, they always pointed her in the right direction and made her fill like part of the family. I would recommend the Berkeley to anyone who was thinking of staying in Morecambe.

Room Tip: Sea View Room secound floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hi John,
Thanks for your kind review. It was good to see you again and hope Sheila is managing ok.
Anytime you are passing, call in.
Kind regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Myself and three girlfriends were starting the Way of the Roses cycle challenge at the end of September, which starts in Morecambe. We stayed at the Berkley for one night. Mal and Collette waited up for our late arrival and kindly showed us a good restaurant where we could eat. Our rooms were spotlessly clean with everything you need. The bathrooms were spotless and immaculate and the whole place smelled clean and fresh. Breakfast was served by a wonderful lady, who took careful note of our breakfast requests and the breakfast, toast and coffee were delicious. We were just setting off when I realised my day bag was too heavy and was pushing down on my back wheel. Mal appeared with cable ties to fix the problem and handed me about 20 more for the rest of the trip. What a lifesaver. Would recommend the Berkley to anyone. Thank you Mal & Collette.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusiePie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Hi Susie,
It was great meeting you all and hope you thoroughly enjoyed your trip across the country.
No problems with a few cable ties but they are a handy piece of equipment to keep around.
Hope your legs are back to normal now.
Kind regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Hi Mal@Colette,Can,t thankyou both enough for the great w/end Val@I had,just like home from home,stayed in many hotels and b@b,s all over the country but yours is by far the best for friendlyness,service,comfort,cleanleness,not to mention that great breaky.once again thanks to you both for a great w/end and we will be back!.Ben@val Casey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Hi Ben and Val,
It was great seeing you again and thanks for using our guesthouse on your trips to Morecambe.
It is remembered and will never be forgotten..... And the paddle is safe!
Hope you can make the trip again next year and hope you are on the mend.

Best wishes
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley GuestHouse

Address: 39 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range: £45 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley GuestHouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley has just been awarded a Silver Rosette to compliment their 3 star rating with Visit Britain.A family friendly licensed guesthouse situated on the sea front with stunning views over the bay and the Lake District hills. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, freeview TVs, beverage trays. Wii, bar games and beach equipment available free of charge. Free wi-fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Berkeley GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing