We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkeley GuestHouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Checked in to 2 rooms with my family of 5. Lovely fresh rooms with great comfy beds with good pillows. Great hosts Collete and Mal make you feel at home. Lovely sea view room on 3rd floor which we witnessed some stunning sunsets.We will definately return and book the Sunset Room !! Love the cotton wool and cotton buds in bathroom, normally something i forget. Mals cooked breakfast was yummy and you gets lots of tea and toast. Have to say though My other half said Collete egg was better ;-) Excellent location amd a lovely walk along the promenade. Would i return YES would i tell others YES. Well done to all involved and thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank 69CUPCAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Its off again. The great Berkeley egg challenge.
I am going to set up a competition between me and Colette for a full week and see who gets the most marks. Ha ha.
It was lovely to meet you and the family. Dont forget to keep practising how to spell Egypt.......

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mal and Colette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had a lovely stay in this very friendly hotel.It is perfectly situated for town or for a nice walk along the promenade. Food was lovely and rooms very clean. I would recommend this hotel for your stay.The proprietors are the perfect hosts. Katrina Hanan

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina Hanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you Katrina, for your kind review.
Everybody says the walks along the prom are relaxing with beautiful views of the Lakes.

Kind regards

Mal and Colette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our room was well equipped and comfortable with a great view of Morecambe Bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent - freshly cooked, tasty and lots of choice.The Wifi worked well, even though we were in the top floor room.
Only criticism was the bathroom which looked tired and in need of a revamp. The shower unit was strangely located outside the shower cubicle which made it difficult to adjust the temperature and turn it off without getting the floor wet!

Room Tip: Front rooms have overlook Morecambe Bay so there are great views of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you Bridget, for your review.
The en-suite rooms are in the process of being revamped but, as we are that busy, we are finding it hard to close a room off to get the work done.
Some of the rooms have been done and the others will be completed by early next year.
The reason the shower unit is outside of the cubicle is for space reasons. We tried to place them close enough to the cubicle for ease of use. Hopefully the revamp will sort that.
As for everything else, we are glad it was to your liking.

Kind regards

Mal and Colette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Berekely is located on a beachfront row of attached buildings. The surroundings aren't especially attractive; Morecombe may have seen more prosperous times. Never mind. Once inside the Berkeley, you are immediately impressed by the cleanliness, comfort and care to detail evident therein. Our room had been nicely updated and completely satisfactory for our needs. Very good value!

Room Tip: Not much of an issue, but quieter away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 47kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello our new Canadian friends.
Really good to talk to you and pick your brains. Couldnt believe we had 2 lots of guests from your area within a week of each other.
Yes, Morecambe is not as good a seaside toen as it used to be but it depends what you are after. Busy busy busy then Blackpool.
Laid back, nice quiet walks and outstanding views then Morecambe every time.

Maybe see you in the new year.

Mal and Colette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just like to thank Mal and Colette for a great stay, lovely clean room 7, such a friendly place to stay. A great pair of hosts all ways a smile a laugh and a joke . Breakfast lots of choice.
BEWARE MAL LOVES A GOOD LEAVING PARTY

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank neilg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Neil,
You never paid your bar bill. I know i like a good leaving do but pay for it all as well???
Great to see you back up here and hope they find another job here for you again soon.
NO LEAVING DO THOUGH.

Cheers
Mal and Colette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for an overnight to celebrate a Silver Wedding being held in Morecambe and we were all very impressed. It was very clean and tidy throughout and the bed was really comfortable so we all enjoyed a good nights sleep. Tea and coffee being available was a nice feature. We were made very welcome on our arrival and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious, hot and very well presented. The wee bar was quaint and there was a patio you sit out on but unfortunately we did not have the time. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Berkeley GuestHouse to anyone who comes to Morecambe - so much more personal than any hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet14M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi Janet,
Thank you kindly for your lovely words.
We try our hardest and hope to please at least 99.9% of the guests.
Its good that people are reading these reviews and realising that we are what we say we are, a 3 star guesthouse and not a 5 star hotel.
It seemed the party went well and hope you return to visit the family again soon and stay here.

Kind regards

Mal and Colette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I admit that I was a little nervous about staying at a B&B in Morecombe, but that was dismissed quickly upon arrival. We were staying there the night before our Way of the Roses Cycling challenge. I have to say that Collete and her Hotel were great. I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay. Everything was clean and tidy. the rooms were comfortable and the service was excellent. great place to kick of the trip and very cycling friendly, with secure storage as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnewsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

So sorry for the delay in responding to your kind review. Missed it somehow.
Glad everything was ok for you and you enjoyed he Way of the Roses.

Regards

Colette and Mal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
343 reviews
1 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
205 reviews
0 mi away
The Balmoral Guest House
The Balmoral Guest House
#6 of 25 in Morecambe
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sea Lynn Guest House
The Sea Lynn Guest House
#7 of 25 in Morecambe
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Trevelyan Guest House
The Trevelyan Guest House
#1 of 25 in Morecambe
279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yacht Bay View Guest House
Yacht Bay View Guest House
#4 of 25 in Morecambe
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley GuestHouse

Address: 39 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range: £53 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley GuestHouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley has just been awarded a Silver Rosette to compliment their 3 star rating with Visit Britain.A family friendly licensed guesthouse situated on the sea front with stunning views over the bay and the Lake District hills. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, freeview TVs, beverage trays. Wii, bar games and beach equipment available free of charge. Free wi-fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Berkeley GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing