We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great food!”

Aspect Bar & Bistro
Ranked #22 of 111 Restaurants in Morecambe
Price range: US$4 - US$45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Designer inspired modern Cocktail Bar & Bistro with outstanding view over Morecambe Bay to the Lakeland Fells.Serving sublime Cocktails and Fabulous top notch food at sensible prices. Our focus is on quality and locally sourced ingredients such as the Award Winning Mrs Dowsons real dairy ice-cream and our Morecambe Bay potted Shrimps.Our Cocktail Bar is Open all day everyday from 8am until 11pm and your welcome to enjoy a freshly ground coffee or one of our fantastic Cocktails.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Overlooking Morecambe Bay, Aspect Bar & Bistro has to offer one of the finest views in the area. Welcoming and attentive staff made the meal a real treat from start to finish. The new menu offers a wide selection of dishes using locally sourced, seasonal produce and as a vegetarian I was delighted to have a choice of dishes from the main menu and the Tapas style menu. I would definitely recommend the Mushroom and Beetroot Salad starter and the fish main course was beautifully cooked.Tempted by the Chocolate Torte...delicious!
The suggestion of a bottle of white wine from Orvieto, was good and proved a wise choice.
We shall be returing to taste more of the menu and of course recommending it to our friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie53476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    53
    34
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good ambience, stunning view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Trying somewhere different for a change - what a pleasant surprise. An interesting menu of freshly cooked food, and a wine list to match. I chose the goats cheese tartlet, the Cumbrian lamb, and sticky toffee pudding - all hitting the spot - but my memory is of the flavours in each dish, which were excellent. A great Orvieto white wine and stunning panoramic view across Morecambe bay (I thought only the Midland offered this) made for a very pleasant evening. Attentive and courteous staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDS332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

There cannot be many restaurants in Morecambe with views, excellent fixtures and fittings and more importantly good food.!!!! At our last visit we stayed on the tapas menu, which was good value....5 for the price of 4, On this occasion we choose from the new menu, which was varied and good value......We never give 5 stars to any restaurant, but we will defiantly be re-visiting this one in the near future.......its well worth a visit and not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Booked a table in the window for a meal for two. Stunning views across the bay. Ordered soup and garlic mushrooms to start, soup was ok but a tiny amount of bread. Asked for more which was provided. Mushrooms were ok however I had to ask for a spoon as there was so much liquid in the dish with big chunks of garlic in it was impossible to eat with the fork. The mushrooms were served in a small dish with no salad or bread, either of which would have added to the presentation.

Mains were braised beef and minted lamb. We were both a bit disappointed with these dishes, the lamb was fatty and had not been cooked in the minted gravy as some of the lamb was quite dry. The dalphinoise potato was small slices of potato with slices of onion. Not what I expected and it was hidden under the lamb. There were two pieces of broccoli.

Hubbies beef, I honestly thought it was pork! It was a strange unappitising grey colour and had fat round the edge. It was served with a tiny amount of mash and a tiny amount of veg. Disappointing when the dishes are £12/13 each.

We then overheard a member of staff chatting to customers about a subject which, in our view, should not have been discussed within earshot of paying guests.

As we waited to order one desert and one coffee and when the waiter turned up apologising for the delay in taking our order. This would have been acceptable if he very obviously hadn't just been for a cigarette break, as we could smell it as he approached our table! Not pleasant when he is serving food.

All in all, the whole experience was disappointing but maybe we just visited on a bad night or were unlucky? A bit more bread, potato and veg would not break the bank and make the whole meal appear much better value for money (our bill was in excess of £50).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Lindaloo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Truly excellent dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first visit to Aspect after being recommended by friends.
It certainly lived unto expectations.
Smart & contemporary surroundings with spectacular views over the bay.
Welcoming, friendly & attentive staff.
The food was really excellent using good locally sourced ingredients. Cooked & presented to perfection.
Relaxing ambience created a most enjoyable experience.
We will definitely back and would highly recumbent this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bikergaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aspect Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Aspect Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing