We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional,delicious,honest fish and chips.”

Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 112 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: A traditional fish and chip take away with a modern stylish cafe with waiter/waitress service.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional,delicious,honest fish and chips.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I had many years in the business myself. You can't get better than this. Top quality products cooked and served with real affection.Perfect fish and chips.The three of us cleaned our plates,even my 96 year old wheelchair bound lady friend who normally eats about as much as a sparrow.We had to wait a while for her to finish but she even picked up the last of the batter scraps on her plate before she looked up.Great food,great value,great service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WaldoYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    75
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, shame about the service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We ordered fish and chips with mushy peas and curry sauce - the whole schmeer - and I have to say it was one of the best feasts you could imagine. Our experience was marred however by the extremely grumpy young woman who served us. Our only mistake as far as I can tell was to order cod rather than haddock (which is synonymous with fish in Morecambe). Be warned, soft southern folk!

As an aside I would like to give a special 5* mention to the Wellington café down the road from Atkinson's. Not only do they give a warm welcome to folk with the temerity to come from south of Blackpool, but the menu of classic Northern fry-ups, hotpots, filled Yorkshire puds etc, plus the imagination and wit of the proprietor, and the remarkable good value make this one of the best cafes that I've ever been to

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

warm and friendly welcome,lovely and clean and the most fantastic haddock we have ever eaten.we will definately be back and would recommend for a great value meal,freshly cooked and piping hot.staff very friendly ,nothing too much trouble and service with a smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This review is for the takeaway section. My partner called in and ordered 1 fish supper and 1 chip bun with a large sausage with no salt which he repeated 3 times to the girl . Normally the food is lovely. Tonight the young staff were more interested in chatting to one another the sausage was missed off the order and there was salt on it so inedible. The chips were over cooked and disgusting totally inedible totally disgusted and feel that had the staff been paying attention to their JOB rather than gossiping then we would have had a better experience and not wasted money

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracyann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Greatest haddock every time”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Been to Atkinsons approx 10 times now and being a haddock lover I have that every time (A Pensioners haddock, chips, tea and bread). Hot, succulent, and large!. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jpmageddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant also viewed

 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing