We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, great choice of food”
Review of Hest Bank Inn

Hest Bank Inn
Ranked #10 of 112 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ulverston
Level Contributor
307 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great choice of food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I eat at the Hest Bank regularly. The location in Hest Bank village, right by the Lancaster Canal is excellent. The canal-side garden is a great place to eat and drink in the summer. Service is always good. The fish, chips and mushy peas is second to none but there are plenty of other options, including salads and sandwiches, local specialities such as Morecambe Bay shrimps and speciality sausages. There are always 3 or 4 good real ales on draught and some very drinkable wines by the glass. So I shall keep on going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    114
    27
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect pub food ”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great food, well presented and friendly service. Relaxed atmosphere and a nice location too. What more can I say?!

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pub food restaurant prices”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very very disappointed in the recent visit on Friday .the food was over priced and not all was edible
My wife ordered a chicken in the basket when it came we were horrified to find out the chicken
Was nuggets probably from McDonald's or from Iceland the steak was mostly gristle and we were not asked if everything was ok we just paid and left we won't be going back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGChef, Owner at Hest Bank Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit and that you felt unable to complain at the time, we would have been more than happy to replace your meal.
However I must explain that our chicken goujons,which we serve in a basket, are freshly prepared from whole chicken breasts and coated in our own beer batter and in our opinion neither look nor taste anything like "nuggets".
Our steaks are freshly cut from a 28 day matured,Cumbrian, Cornvale whole sirloin; we believe in paying a premium for local, quality products and this is reflected in our selling prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to sit in the gardens”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

... When the sun is shining, what better way to past the time!
Sat by the canal, cold drink and great food. It's always been very busy when we have visited- testament to the quality and great selection of drinks. We have always sat outside but the interior looks nice too.

Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just stumbled across this little gem. Unfortunately they were out of Sunday roast - so we had a starter and carried on to find another venue for a roast dinner.

The atmosphere was lovely - excellent for families. The starter - Salmon - oh my goodness!!!!! Quality food.

Looking forward to visiting again - hopefully I'll make it in time for a roast dinner ;0)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BubsnMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hest Bank Inn also viewed

 
Slyne, Lancaster
 

Been to Hest Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing