We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location not so good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hest Bank Inn

Hest Bank Inn
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location not so good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a lovely pub with friendly, helpful staff. The food however is average at best and overpriced. Great place for a drink but wouldn't bother eating there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S85Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    111
    26
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A rollercoaster!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stopped eating at the Hest Bank Inn about three years ago after a couple of very poor meals. Having read the reports on Trip advisor we decided to give it another try. April 2014 What a change!!! Quality, friendliness and all at a very reasonably price. It is not a gastro or fine dining pub and has no pretensions of being so but the menu, food and attention to detail is far better than some that do have that pretension. Visited twice since then, one still good. BUT a recent chef change has been a disaster. On 21/5 My wife's scampi was obviously burnt!! but still served to us. What an insult!!! My gammon was thrown on top of the other items on the plate. We did not complain but left half our meal, paid and left. Visited again since then and watched before ordering. We left before ordering!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bloobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Level Contributor
308 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great choice of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I eat at the Hest Bank regularly. The location in Hest Bank village, right by the Lancaster Canal is excellent. The canal-side garden is a great place to eat and drink in the summer. Service is always good. The fish, chips and mushy peas is second to none but there are plenty of other options, including salads and sandwiches, local specialities such as Morecambe Bay shrimps and speciality sausages. There are always 3 or 4 good real ales on draught and some very drinkable wines by the glass. So I shall keep on going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect pub food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great food, well presented and friendly service. Relaxed atmosphere and a nice location too. What more can I say?!

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pub food restaurant prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very very disappointed in the recent visit on Friday .the food was over priced and not all was edible
My wife ordered a chicken in the basket when it came we were horrified to find out the chicken
Was nuggets probably from McDonald's or from Iceland the steak was mostly gristle and we were not asked if everything was ok we just paid and left we won't be going back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGChef, Owner at Hest Bank Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit and that you felt unable to complain at the time, we would have been more than happy to replace your meal.
However I must explain that our chicken goujons,which we serve in a basket, are freshly prepared from whole chicken breasts and coated in our own beer batter and in our opinion neither look nor taste anything like "nuggets".
Our steaks are freshly cut from a 28 day matured,Cumbrian, Cornvale whole sirloin; we believe in paying a premium for local, quality products and this is reflected in our selling prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hest Bank Inn also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Slyne, Lancaster
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Hest Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing