We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, but a rip off” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spanish Bar

The Spanish Bar
Ranked #52 of 110 Restaurants in Morecambe
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming, but a rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The proprietor was charming and friendly, but conned us into going for more expensive options.

The chorizo was rubbery, and all the dishes too salty. Cost more than we had been led to believe.

Not happy and won't go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent true tapas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

After living in Morecambe for just short of 1 1/2 years, we finally caught this restaurant open.It only opens in summer and when the weather is good according to the owner. The Spanish owner, Jose, is a lovely character. The restaurant has a nice authentic feel. We tried a few different tapas and tried a couple twice. My favourite was the chorizo in red wine and my husband loved the Spanish prawns. We had a look at the many Spanish bottle above the bar, which brought back memories for my husbands, from his time in Teneriffe. We were so pleased we had managed to find it open.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janeen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening Sangrea!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had a beautiful summers evening, walked on the beach paddled in the sea ! then a lovely cheeky glass of authentic sangrea sat outside in the warm summers evening.. Bliss. Would well reccomend this Tapas Bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you like your cheeks hurting from laughing so much this is the place to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had an excellent time and what a bloody good laugh, we will defo try and get there again this year, if not I can't wait til may/june. Jose is by far the best host in this town. Basically if you like nice food, great sangria and laughter this is the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

If it's a sunny day I love to sit outside with some Sangria & Tapas. Jose is a wonderful host. I'd recommend the Sangria & tapas deals.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiggyStarDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spanish Bar also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Spanish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing