We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!”

The Golden Ball Hotel
Ranked #25 of 116 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My daughter, granddaughter and I wanted to have something to eat on Sunday after a busy day in Morecambe. I decided to try Snatchems, not having been for over 40 years. I had no idea it had been refurbished, especially to such a high standard. The new extension is certainly not in keeping with the inn built in the 1600's but it is hidden on your approach and it is certainly well appointed and thought about. The pub garden looked inviting in the sun, it was quite busy but not overly so, so it was exactly what we were looking for.

There wasn't a huge menu but the meals were hot and plentiful and reasonably priced. We had no complaints about the food. It was a cut above the usual chain pub restaurants and the terrace looking out over the River Lune was a pleasure to sit on in the sunshine. Having a play area for the children also added to the relaxed, safe environment so we were able to eat our meal in peace.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    20
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, England
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wont go again!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

went for a family lunch. I chose the ham sandwich, there was no ham, it was just fat!! the bread wasnt fresh either! the waitress didnt smile at all n not helpful at all! no one asked if meals were ok so hopefully the chef will read this!

Helpful?
6 Thank gemmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best pub in Lancaster/Morecambe”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I live a few miles from this pub and for the past 18 months or so have enjoyed watching its revival under the new landlord and staff. The beer is well kept,there is always a warm welcome and the prices are the lowest in the area The other day we decided to have a meal in the pub and the food was wholesome, well cooked and reasonably priced. We visit at least once a week and whenever we have visitors we make a point of taking them to what has become our favourite watering hole. All of our visitors are impressed and love the location and the friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Possibly my favourite place in Britain”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Thirty years ago i used to work in the area and fell in love with this place. I had heard it had finally closed its doors a while back only to reopen and be revamped. We finally got round to visiting last summer to find that the place had be not only been saved and revamped but had been heavily invested in. Snatchems has a great spot on the River Lune and the old pub part looks great again, with a fantastic extension, There is a great choice of beers, ales and drinks, the food was very good and there areas at the front in order sit and look out at the river and to the side and rear. They were dog friendly, providing water on warm days. I really hope that the owners are successful with their investment, they deserve to do well and I hope that as many people as possible who read this review visit this place and support this attempt to breathe new life into this country's dying rural pub trade. I am planning to take some friends up there soon and hope that we can get a lock in at high tide.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-le-Willows, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This pub is located at the front of our caravan site, it has been totally revamped by the new owner Steve and his family to a magnificent standard. The beer is always perfect having a range of real ales especially Cross Bay ones, the food is standard fare but always well cooked and tasty, only thing missing on the menu is a Steak pie but hopefully that will come soon. My husband loves the place and always makes sure he gets a pint or two in there every weekend we go upto the van, has to sit outside with the dogs but he doesnt mind. Beautiful views of the River and wildlife especially when the tide is high, terrific place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LouChappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Ball Hotel also viewed

 
Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Golden Ball Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing