We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice hotel in an older building with lots of original features on the inside. Staff were excellent, restaurant was good on the whole but let down by really tough steak (I did return it but the second one was just as bad) - I think they need to change their butcher.

Rooms were clean and well maintained and bathroom was spacious. My main complaint was the floors in Room 27. The noise is horrendous and considering the carpets look new I would have thought the problem could have been fixed before they were laid. Overall I would recommend this hotel especially for people using the ferry from Heysham.

Room Tip: Room 27 floors - will wake you every time somebody goes to the toilet (it is a family room with 3 si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLellan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We chose this hotel for my wife's 65th birthday party and the evening was a complete success.The dining room in particular was really well presented with great attention to detail.Manager Jackie Dawson and her friendly staff deserve full credit for looking after all our family so well,providing a superb buffet,and nothing was too much trouble.Some of our family stayed overnight (free car parking)and all commented on clean and comfortable rooms with lovely views over Morecambe bay.A lovely breakfast completed a great experience for us and we recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Ask for the Gressingham suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpamMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed at the Clarendon Hotel in Morecambe for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. My partner and I and two friends decided to have a go at the Cross Bay Walk from Hest Bank to Grange Over Sands on Sunday. We booked at the Clarendon Hotel and must say that everyone was really helpful and friendly. We had a very good sized room at the rear of the hotel which was fine, a little shabby perhaps but clean and comfortable with a nice big bathroom and lots of hot water. The food at this hotel is faultless. We ate both evenings at thier Waterfront Restaurant and I have to say the food was as good as any I have had at restaurants in Manchester such as Jamie's, Brown's and Rosso. I would highly recommend a visit to this restaurant, the staff were good, the service attentive and the chef obviously knows his stuff. Breakfast was also good with a good selection including smoked haddock and kippers and an excellent english. All in all, a very good stay at a very good price for the room and the food.

Room Tip: I think probably the rooms on the front are better as they have a view and despite the road would pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbushStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

stayed here before so thought it was time to review it,
not the most modern hotel but it has loads of history.Staff are amazing, sooo helpful,cant do enough for you,rooms are clean and comfortable.We stayed one night and ate in the hotel restaurant,I am a fussy vegetarian and even I wasnt a problem for them.The food was amazing and certainly not expensive,well worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for a double as they seem to be seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Aussies travelling found room on Laterooms. Bit worried when saw outside but nice old hotel on the sea. Small room but separate shower. have to watch hallways with uneven floors. Great dinner overlooking sea. Good breakfast. Free parking. Staff friendly & efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canberra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was a very last minute booking. The hotel is olde worldy but that made a nice change from modern white and chrome and all looking the same. We only stayed one night but the food was gorgeous. The fish deal was great and the prices were reasonable which makes a change from being over priced at a lot of the other hotels that we have stayed in. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in bed as we are not early risers, and again the food was wonderful. Such a good choice and no skimping, juice, loads of coffee, toast with butter, jam, marmalade and the best English breakfast I have ever eaten, my husband had fish which was great. Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: You could ask for a room at the front as you can see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorkshireJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had our wedding reception at the Clarendon hotel, which was booked approx 1 month before the date of the wedding. All the staff, especially the manager and the night porter were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The bedrooms, although slightly dated in decor are large, clean and well equpped - a huge improvment on grim Travelodge rooms. The views from the seafront rooms are excellent and are a huge plus point. There are some lovely period features in the hotel and various items of memrobilia from Morecambes tourist heyday add to the traditional seaside feel. The breakfast was excellent, a wide variety of cooked and continental items on offer. There is a carpark which is a big bonus and quite rare compared to other hotels in the area.

If your looking for a flash modern hotel or a cheap and cheerful basic room this is not the place for you. If, however you are looking for a good, well priced tradional british seaside hotel then this is perfect

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Master_of_Reality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
Travelodge Morecambe Hotel
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 10 in Morecambe
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 74-76 Marine Road West | Morecambe, Morecambe LA4 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel affords spectacular views of Morecambe Bay towards the peaks of the Lake District. The Clarendon's 29 bedrooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard assuring you of a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Why not relax and enjoy a drink in our newly refurbished lounge bar before sampling some of the finest produce Lancashire has on offer in our Waterfront Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing