We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in two deluxe rooms for two nights.

First the good bits. Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds with stunning public grounds.
Now the negatives... Bedrooms could do with a spruce up. Furniture old fashioned (not quaint) and tatty in places.
Plus we were disappointed with breakfast. It is very expensive for little choice. Cheap sliced bread/toast instead of nice fresh bread. Could do with some nice meats and cheeses. There were some but hardly any choice. Eggs from the buffet kept warmed and therefore like rubber. This could be so much better.

Service was good. All in all not dreadful but not the wow factor that it could be which is a shame because the hotel itself is lovely.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lizzidripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet expectations. Please do be assured that your comments have been discussed with my department managers. Please do give me a call if you would like to discuss this matter further.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here with friends on the 19/20th June.

First impression when you arrive is what a wonderful building & it continued inside with super lounges & restaurant , while the bar in a new extension has a wonderful veranda overlooking a large balancing lake.

We signed in with a happy, smiley receptionist & given our room key. Our room No37 was in the new part which tastefully blends in with old building.the room was specious & had everything you needed. The only slight problem the room was a tad musty, which I feel came from the sandstone wall of the room, this was not a problem as it is only slight & didn't effect the enjoyment of the room. .

The dining was simply superb, although the chopped veg., with my beef was not particularly good. The service was superb.

Breakfast good quality ingredients, bacon a bit underdone & the mushrooms awful. We had a buffet breakfast second morning & was very good.

The staff are super, from the receptionists, dining staff, to the the young man who was
excellent behind the bar. Finally to the outstanding Rachel who was a pleasure to meet & be looked after by her(others mentioned this too) she understood our repartee & willingly joined in, she gave us a lovely goodbye & gave us all a hug & a kiss. What a star, I miss her.

Once again fantastic time & all the staff should be proud of themselves.Thank you.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that your stay with us at Madeley Court was such a positive experience. I am grateful for your high praise for the service provided by my team and thank you for making special mention of Rachel.
We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Pros: convenient for ironbridge museums, really nice setting, great food and lovely historic rooms.
Cons: my original double room was tiny and had no shower so asked to move. Next room was in the modern(ish) annex and was bigger with a shower but suffered from poor attention to detail: mismatched furniture, knackered bed, no nets or voiles on windows (despite it being a ground floor room), cracked tiles and mouldy grouting in the bathroom and not that clean. The low point was finding someone else's toenail clipping on the carpet when I stood on it!

I might just have been unlucky but this did not feel up to the normally high standards of a Mercure hotel and it isn't exactly budget prices.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are in the eaves so have sloping ceilings and therefore less useable space. In m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatashaR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you have been left with a poor impression of the hotel. Please do give me a call if you would like to discuss further.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely hotel once you find it! Food good, staff brilliant. Historic rooms lovely, different. Booked a good all inc deal..

Nice sitting with a drink overlooking the lake, lots of ducks and geese, even a heron joined the show.

Room Tip: A historic room. We had the gatehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOJO_1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Many thanks for your review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Madeley Court. Hopefully, we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fab lunch - been twice - once on a Friday and the following Sunday - both great! Really good menu too and had coffee later in the lounge overlooking the lake.
Service, food and location and even better brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your lunches at Madeley Court. I do appreciate your comments on food quality and the service provided by my team and, hopefully, we can welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We used this hotel as a base for a trip to Ironbridge. Our first choice hotel in Ironbridge itself was booked up but we were glad it worked out that way as this one was a lovely hotel. It was only 10 minutes drive from Ironbridge so the distance did not matter. Top tip though is not to trust your Sat Nav as it took us very close but down some "offroad" road near the back of the hotel and we had to retrace our route and ask someone.

The hotel had all you could ask for with clean, spacious rooms, comfy beds and so on. One pleasant surprise was that everything was easy to work- TV, bath etc. I'm amazed the number of times we go to a hotel and it takes you ages to learn the remote, work out how the bath works and so on, often because of the need to make things look posh. This was relatively posh but functional too. Everything here was simple to use and TV and Wi Fi both had good signals. Our room overlooked a pond/lake and we were greeted with the sight of ducks outside our window using the ground as a place to have a kip. Don't worry- there was no early morning quacking to wake you up (just an unfortunate fire alarm going off one of the mornings!).

Both the hotel and Ironbridge were beautiful. The hotel obviously has history but what was nice was that everything blended in and had a natural feel to it rather than the traditional landscaping you get with so many other places. There were lots of nooks and crannies both inside and outside and plenty of greenery scattered about plus stunning architecture and antique looking paintings.

Although we did not have an evening meal there (seemed a bit pricey) breakfast was fine and the breakfast room was spacious. Staff were helpful and efficient.

Ironbridge itself is a must see place. It has a similar feel to the Lake District but was less crowded and, as with the hotel, the town blended into the surrounding greenery very well. Victorian Village and tar mine were our favourites.There are not too many restaurants in the town but plenty of pubs serving food and we did find two nice restaurants for the two days we were there. Parking looks like it can be a problem- plenty of spaces at the Victorian Museum and we always managed to get a space elsewhere but it felt like we were just lucky so make sure you suss the parking out when you plan your day.

Normally when I like a hotel I am still not that bothered if I go back as it's nice to try different places. In this case I really do hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rach_and_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Madeley Court. I am delighted that it was a positive experience and I am grateful for your comments. I hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 1 night whilst working in the area. Lovely old building full of character. Nice big room on the ground floor, well equipped & clean. Shower water temperature fluctuated wildly! Was with colleagues and ate out so can't comment on restaurant food. Breakfast had a good selection and the Eggs Benedict was nicely cooked, however the croissant and subsequent 2 i tried to eat from the cold buffet were like rocks!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a shower but a handheld attachment on the bath taps according to colleague...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atters68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I appreciate you highlighting the positives to your stay and also where we can improve upon our service standards. I do hope that you would consider the hotel again next time you are working in the area.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
997 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
729 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range: £48 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing