We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Priory
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Madeley
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
swansea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Service in the priory was first class although I found the food a little average dressed up a little "cheffy"

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank richandsueSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Slow Service and Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

On my visit to the hotel I chose to eat in the restaurant.

It took a while for someone to take my drink / food order, there didn't seem to be any plan of covers on tables as I was approached by someone different each time.

25 minutes after I ordered my food arrived however my drink still had not arrived and I had to ask for it two more times.

I had pate to start with which was quite good, followed by Piri Piri chicken which I found to be just okay.

the bill came to just under £30 which I didn't think was value for money.

One or two visits were okay but I wouldn't choose to go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea - AWESOME !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

My Wife and our friends visited for Afternoon Tea on 28.12.12.

Although we were fortunate to have a voucher deal we would gladly have paid double for this excellent FEAST.

On arriving we were greeted by a charming young lady with a SMILE.

We were then shown through to a cosy & comfortable lounge area by a very personable young man who attended to our every need.

The food was just AMAZING ( sandwiches / cakes / scones ) with abundant Tea / Coffee.

The hotel is a little tired in places but this only adds to its considerable charm.

Would rate as follows.

Staff - 10/10

Service - 10/10

Value - 10/10

Comfort - 10/10

All in all EXCELLENT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roseskidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

The Food in the restaurant at Madley is just wonderful - and the staff listen - and if you don't want mayo - you don't get mayo - simple

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WhiteBd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea here very poor!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel is very nice but the quality of the afternoon tea is very poor for £15.
Having had afternoon tea at lots of hotels this was by far the worse and not displayed in an appealing way and the sandwiches were dry and only a slice of lemon cake and scone. I did complain but the reply was the same poor. if you want afternoon tea i suggest you go into Ironbridge and frequent one of the many hotels, cafes and restaurants whose wares are by far superior and much less costly.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happygrannynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Priory also viewed

Madeley, Shropshire
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Madeley, Shropshire
 

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing