We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what I needed”
Review of 40 Robyns Way

40 Robyns Way
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sevenoaks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
40 Robyns Way
Ranked #9 of 12 Sevenoaks B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for what I needed”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The overall rating gives you the option of 'average' or 'very good', I would have ticked 'good' if that had been an option. Service was great from hosts, decor dated and room a little dusty but linen and bathroom clean. Wifi did not work in the room (out of range). I paid £45 for the double room with en-suite (single occupancy), and it was good for what I needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for our third night in the area and found it rather disappointing. The main reason is the distance from Sevenoaks itself. It takes about an hour to walk to the centre, and the bus service is not regular (and not at all on Sunday) A taxi back to the B&B cost £8.50. The accommodation is in a self contained bungalow in a housing estate. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the decor was old fashioned and it all felt a little dated. Cereal and sliced bread for toast in the morning, or some cold croissants still in their Tesco packaging. The lady who runs Robyns Way was very friendly and welcoming, but we are used to better standards for these prices and will not be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopTapir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Convenience galore!! Only 1 1/2 to 2 hours drive from London, Heathrow, or Gatwick -- you can have it all, staying at the B&B "Robyns Way" in Sevenoaks (Kent). Not only that, the location is just about 10 minutes drive south of the M25 ring road around London, and provides a terrific base for visiting numerous castles, historical homes, gardens, battlegrounds, airfields, and other historical sites located from south of London on down to the English Channel.

I enjoyed the quiet area, with a grassy front yard, and room to park the car (Yes!), not to mention the large lounge with TV and large kitchen at your disposal, with dishwasher, washer, and dryer. I had my choice of either eating a continental breakfast, with no extra charge, or paying 5 pounds extra per day having a cooked breakfast. I chose the continental, of which I could have my choice of various cereals, toast, croissants, packaged cheeses, marmalade, fruit, yogurt, and of course, tea or coffee. I saw others eat the cooked breakfast of sausage, bacon, eggs, and mushrooms (probably other items I didn't see, as well).

A bank with outdoor ATM is located about 5 minutes drive away. Valerie and John say the train station is about a 15 min. walk away, which can be taken into Charing Cross Train Station in London. They have other suggestions for saving money while traveling around London.

I had the larger of the two single rooms, both located on the front of the B&B on the ground, yes you read right -- on the ground floor. Though these two rooms share a bath down the hall, it is large (plenty of room to turn around in and even do a cartwheel) and has a large bathtub with shower over. A double room (ensuite--shower only I think, no tub) is on the back side, ground floor. One floor up, one finds the twin room, with its own bathroom (shower only).

The TV with remote had MANY channels (You're NOT going to get stuck with just news and "the Simpsons" here.); there were instructions in the room for operating the TV. John mentioned having yard furniture for enjoying the outdoors (should you choose a time that is not rainy).

One important notation: you must have cash, no credit cards accepted; hence the helpful Barclays Bank nearby. I loved the room, taste, and freedom, and the owners Valerie and John were both friendly, thoughtful and helpful.

Room Tip: There are large windows in both single rooms and in the lounge that all look onto the quiet front gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for one night for my birthday celebrations, they were given the whole run of the guest accommodation and were made very welcome. My mother said it was the best nights sleep she ever had! All the rooms were clean and comfy. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because there was no hot breakfast Sunday morning just a cold selection, not what you want after a Saturday night out

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ndick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had 3 wonderful days at this B&B, the accommodations, the amenities and the overall atmosphere of this lovely place were so perfect! The owners are the most helpful and pleasant as I've ever seen. This will be the only B&B I stay at when I am in the Kent area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ess j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Stayed for one night to be able to visit Miles from Kent Guitar Classics.
See: http://www.kentguitarclassics.com/
Ideal when you want to try out and play the guitar in a quiet and comfortable place.
The owners were very helpful and their tips for interesting places to visit in the area were
welcome indeed !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevenoaks
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
7 Hotel Diner
7 Hotel Diner
#1 of 1 in Halstead
372 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Orpington
5.8 mi away
Grasshopper Inn
Grasshopper Inn
#3 of 7 in Westerham
240 reviews
4.7 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#4 of 7 in Westerham
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Robyns Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Robyns Way

Property: 40 Robyns Way
Address: 40 Robyns Way, Sevenoaks TN13 3EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Sevenoaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sevenoaks
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Robyns Way 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
40 Robyns Way Sevenoaks, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing