We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austens Cottage is a delight”
Review of Stable Cottage

Stable Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sevenoaks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stable Cottage
Ranked #1 of 12 Sevenoaks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Austens Cottage is a delight”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had a delightful 5 night stay at Austens Cottage 21st - 25th May. We knew we were going to be in the smaller room, but despite being rather compact, it is very comfortable, with a nice bathroom. Bill & Ronnie are good hosts, and Bill produced delicious breakfasts each morning. The choice of a variety of fruits & berries and toast in addition to the cooked breakfast each morning was very enjoyable. The breakfast room is very attractive with different flowers on an attractively laid table each day. We had an appointment in Sevenoaks one morning when it was raining and Bill insisted on giving us a lift into town, much appreciated.

Room Tip: If possible book the larger twin room, the smaller room is very comfortable but is on the small side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
47
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
251 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed with Ronnie & Bill for four nights and can only agree with all the other comments: the most hospitable hosts you could imagine who go out of their way to ensure that you have everything you need. We stayed in the larger of the two rooms (about 230 square feet) which is a very pleasant room on the second floor overlooking the garden with a modern bathroom and equipped with coffee, tea, television and hair dryer. Bill cooked a superb breakfast which included lots of fresh, local produce, and was also a dab hand at helping us plan our daily outings.

The Sevenoaks location is excellent for walking into Sevenoals itself, for driving to many beautiful spots including some marvellous National Trust properties, and even for getting into London by train.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend break in Kent, where we stayed for one night at the lovely Austens Cottage. The twin room was very comfortable, in fact more so than many hotels we have stayed in, and there was even free broadband. Bill and Ronnie have made us feel really welcome in their family home - they were warm, helpful and always smiling. What more could we ask for? We definitely recommend a stay if you're looking to see the many attractions in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Located off a quiet private road, this is a charming home with gracious hosts. As many guests (like me) are in Sevenoaks to see the beautiful neighbouring countryside (Chartwell, Hever Castle, etc), you will very helpfully be loaned a marked Ordnance Survey map with all required directions and suggestions. The Sevenoaks High Street (with Knole House not much farther) is no more than 5-6 minutes away on foot. I was very kindly given a lift down to the railway station when I left, as it was spitting rain. The accomodation was comfortable, cosy, clean and quiet with a fine shower and everything you would expect in a classy B&B (nice toiletries, etc). Breakfast was from the same drawer and you are likely to waddle off replete and ready for your day.

A bonus for lovers of the game of rugby is that Bill is a connoisseur with plenty of oval-shaped tales, if you are interested!

One of the best and I have stayed in many.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaricUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Visited Sevenoaks with my son and stayed with the Campbells for 3 nights in May 2013. Austens Cottage is such a lovely place in a central location and Bill and Ronnie were such perfect hosts too. Thank you and we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorTan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Thouroughly enjoyed our stay.
Ronnie and Bill are excellent hosts and set us up for the day with a fabulous breakfast.
Austens is very handy for the centre of Sevenoaks which has no shortage of good places to eat.
It is also surprisingly quiet and peaceful for such a central location.
We will be back.

Room Tip: There are only two guest rooms to choose from. A large, light twin room with a view over the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertcarter190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We decided last minute to stay for 1 night at Austens cottage, guided by the good reviews on this site. Ronnie and Bill warmly welcomed us in their lovely house. We stayed in the twin room, which was reconfigured as a double bed. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was very good with a large walkin shower. Bill and Ronnie have a lot of attention for their guests and Bill makes a great cooked breakfast in the morning.

We would love to come back here and warmly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevenoaks
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
3.9 mi away
7 Hotel Diner
7 Hotel Diner
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stable Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stable Cottage

Property: Stable Cottage
Address: Stable Cottage South Park, Sevenoaks TN13 1EL, England (Formerly Austens Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Sevenoaks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sevenoaks
Hotel Class:3 star — Stable Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Stable Cottage Sevenoaks, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing