We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Stable Cottage

Stable Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sevenoaks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stable Cottage
Ranked #1 of 12 Sevenoaks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I love Austen Cottage. Bill and Ronnie are wonderful hosts and treat guests like real family members. A very relaxing B&B which I can only highly recommend. The rooms are very comfortable with great bathrooms. The breakfast is great and delicious. The vicinity of Sevenoaks (literally 3 minutes walk) is a real advantage as well as the charming and quiet surroundings. Love the place and the hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfreud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
49
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Bill and Ronnie took care of us like family. A deluxe room with bath and a great English Breakfast. And they drove us to Chartwell on a rainy day and to the train station on the way out two days later. So delightful and close walking distance to the charming town and to Knole Castle. Would we go back? In a heartbeat. Its the best in the area !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at Austens. Despite arriving late, we were warmly welcomed by Bill and Ronnie. The double room is very comfortable, I slept very well! Breakfast was served in the hall and was delightful. The setting is so relaxing it makes for a lovely stay when combined with such friendly helpful hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Loved this B&B. So much better than any of the hotels in the area that we have stayed at before. I travelled with my 4yr old daughter and my sister, and the room was perfect, with a lovely modern on-suite. Charming house in a nice quiet secluded location but still convenient enough that you can stroll into Sevenoaks town. Bill and Ronnie are the most warm and friendly owners you will ever come across. I highly recommend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MkellyS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My daughter & I stayed only 1 night at Austen's Cottage (visiting The Sevenoaks School the next day) and we were delighted with our find. The hosts, Bill & Ronnie, obviously took great pride in keeping this a warm and cozy place away from home for their visitors. Our room was well appointed with really comfortable bedding and an upgraded bathroom. The location is a short walk from the town centre where the shops and restaurants were. Hosts served a lovely full English breakfast the next morning while we had the company of another couple from the United States. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteRose90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond upon Thames, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This B&B has a lovely feel to it; warm and stylish at the same time. The bedroom I had overlooking the garden has country touches (shabby-chic leather sofa in alcove) whilst the en-suite has the kind of shower you'd find in a very good hotel. Feather duvet and Egyptian cotton sheets make for a very good night’s sleep. On arrival, fresh milk offered to go with the tray of tea and coffee in room (no biscuits though!) Convenient, yet serene, location – just a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. Breakfast: delicious fresh fruit salad and yogurt, followed by a good full English. Not huge and very tasty.

Welcoming and helpful hosts. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveWinterLoveSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were lucky enough to spend two nights here - unfortunately we had to move for the third night as there was no vacancy. How I wish we could have stayed. This delightful B&B is hard to beat. We struggled to find it on arrival, you turn in just past the cinema, then turn again into a secluded private road. It feels like the middle of the country but is only 5 minutes or so walk from the centre of town. Ronnie and Bill were so welcoming and efficient. The place runs so smoothly,there must be so much planning to achieve something so bright and informal. The cottage is spacious and airy, with fresh modern decoration and some great works of art. The rooms have everything you might need and are so clean they sparkle! We loved the breakfast, especially the fresh fruit;the crisp streaky bacon and tiny roasted tomatoes were so tasty. You always hope to find accommodation this perfect, and it is wonderful when you do. We definitely plan to return as there is so much to see and do around this lovely town

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopTapir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevenoaks
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
3.9 mi away
7 Hotel Diner
7 Hotel Diner
#1 of 1 in Halstead
375 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Hadlow Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hadlow
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stable Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stable Cottage

Property: Stable Cottage
Address: Stable Cottage South Park, Sevenoaks TN13 1EL, England (Formerly Austens Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Sevenoaks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sevenoaks
Hotel Class:3 star — Stable Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Stable Cottage Sevenoaks, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing