We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRULY OUTSTANDING THANK YOU KERRI HANNAH LEE DIANE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sevenoaks
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TRULY OUTSTANDING THANK YOU KERRI HANNAH LEE DIANE”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We held my husband surprise 50th party and also stayed the night
The service from start to finish was amazing we could not fault one thing Kerri Hannah Lee and Diane just made the complete party wonderful nothing could have made it any better
the food was excellent beautifully presented and every plate served was lovely and hot all of our guest said they had never been to any event where food had been of such high quality the standard is truly outstanding
the staff work so hard right till the end of the evening which was early hours on sunday also we must say a special thank you to the extra staff that were brought in for the evening they were outstanding as well and they were all a great joy to be part of our celebration we thank them very much
our rooms that we stayed in were lovely and clean and very welcoming everything been there that you would need for our stay excellent
we live ide hill sevenoaks now if you have taken the trouble to read this review you will realise this hotel is absolutely a must to hold any party or wedding you would not be disappointed
living locally we did not realise what secret gem of a hotel this place is
also i must add we had a thank you from every one of our guest they all wrote to us with in a week of the party and they commented on the quality of the food and the staff
this is a very true review
closing comment my husband say was can we do the same again next year !!!
very big thank you to kerri hannah lee and diane you made it truly special
chris zoe and oliver

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoemurraybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    48
    55
    80
    74
See reviews for
40
93
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived late to find room not cleaned-bedding slept in, wet towels on floor, mugs used. When going to reception told 'sorry nothing we can do'. We had to suggest clean sheets would be a start! Eventually given clean bedding but needed to make up our bed ourselves and just leave the dirty stuff in a pile in the corner of the room.

Given the room free of charge so grateful for this. Also felt sorry for the poor receptionist on her own running the bar, reception and the complaints! These things happen but if they do you need to be staffed to deal with them as opposed to expecting guests to make there own beds late at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R3620GD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife & I had 2 nights here, July 2014. It was suggested we try this hotel as we wanted to be near Sevenoaks town centre & this is a short walk away. We could see from previous reviews that the 'refurbished' rooms were better than those that weren't yet refurbed.
The refurbished rooms are small, and beds very uncomfortable (rock hard) and the refurbishment appears to have been done on the cheap, with imported furniture & fittings from Asia.
The public and communal areas have been redecorated recently and brought up-to-date, although stairways & corridors still have threadbare carpets, wallpaper peeling off and squeaky floors everywhere.
On the up-side the reception staff & bar staff were very helpful. The sooner they can continue with the refurb the better.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord-Lady-Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We paid £315 for three nights so probably expected more for our money, but when we arrived we were given breakfast which made it a bit better value. Checkin was easy and we were given a room in the seperate building at the back where most of the rooms appeared to be.
The room was a little tired but was comfortable enough but not worth £105 per night. There was peeling wall paper but in general ok. The bathroom was ok again a bit tired and not really well cleaned.
There is lots of parking and in general was very quiet, with no noise. Breakfast is overpriced at £13 with little choice.
The wifi is good. There are plenty of cafes and restuarants within walking distance and Knole House (NT) is just across the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had a booking on a South England roundtrip. Hotel rooms need refurbishment - especially in the separate building. On the first night we had no warm water in the rooms - this was a known issue by the hotel staff - they gave us the rooms though they knew this fact. When we complaint, the issue was fixed the next day.
Service could be improved

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank falke401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I had a refurbished room which was very dark and cheaply furnished. The bathroom floor was dirty and the bed was uncomfortable. The breakfast at £13 was poor value - eggs benedict were hard and hollandaise congealed. The staff needed a course in customer service. Only good things were clean towels and bedding.

Room Tip: If my room was refurbished goodness only knows what the rest were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel last weekend for 2 nights. To be fair there are major improvements going on and have been achieved downstairs, but upstairs it is pretty awful, rooms are not too clean, paper and paint peeling off, lights not working. I had read the reviews before we went so refused to eat there in the evening and had a great meal elsewhere. Some of our party had their meal there and said they waited for over an hour and then the meals that came out were not as ordered. I asked for a bedside lamp to be fixed as it was not working but this was not done and we were there for two days. We were also charged on arrival which I thought was odd, now I think it is because they realise people would refuse at the end of their stay! Very expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Do not book at front as very noisy at night. I believe the annex at the back was thought to be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DOREENBirdbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevenoaks
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
4.3 mi away
7 Hotel Diner
7 Hotel Diner
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
6.0 mi away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
7.3 mi away
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 5 Upper High Street, Sevenoaks TN13 1HY, England (Formerly Brook Royal Oak Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Sevenoaks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sevenoaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Sevenoaks
Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel Sevenoaks, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing