We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best holidays in UK”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Natalia K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays in UK”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Its one of the most unique place in England. Its a private island with only 2 houses, miles of land, sea and birds. So if you tired of crowd and would like to enjoy beautiful landscapes and wildlife, with NO ONE around, this place is for you. !!! I don't want to tell too much about this place, as its so special that you have to see it yourself. But truly unforgettable experience.
The owners of the island such a kind and generous people and its the only reason i am writing this review. Otherwise i would prefer do not tell anyone about it and keep this secret only for my family and friends . :-)

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey...
County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We throroughly enjoyed our visit to Horsey Island”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had been looking forward to our visit to Horsey Island and we were not disappointed. Crossing the causeway was the start of a delightful four days. The cottage is very spacious and well appointed, and we felt at home straightaway. Jo and Vicky who own the island and who work very hard running the livestock farm there still had time to chat to us and were most friendly and helpful. We saw an abundance of wildlife and we found walking across and around the island very invigorating. With the arable land, freshwater ponds, saltmarsh, views of other islands, and of the sea, there was such a variety of scenery. A beach area on which there are large numbers of shells is a great attraction.

On one of the days we went on a boat trip on Hamford Water, and on this we saw quite a number of seals as well as getting close to some of the other islands. The boat trips are operated by Tony Haggis who knows the area extremely well and who has a wealth of knowledge about its natural history.

We think anyone who is adventurous, likes being outdoors, who doesn't want a crowded resort holiday, and is happy to cook for themselves, but who still wants comfortable accommodation, will find a stay in the cottage on Horsey Island an ideal way to meet those needs.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalee P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horsey Heaven Holiday”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

2 kids (6&8) 1 husband a dog and me and we all had the best time. Victoria and Jo are the best. Vicky knocked for kids at 9am to go feed the lambs the kids best bit then off we all went on our adventures. There are loads to be had. Walking, canoing, beach combing, swimming, fishing it was all brilliant. My fav bit was watching the boys chop wood for the fire and building it up. The cottage has central heating but what the heck. The cottage was amazing, clean, all amenities top notch. Advice, take more food than you need its a hungry holiday.
We will be back!!!!! ******

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaun b
1 review
“An amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Horsey Island is a magical get-a-way.
The cottage was very homely and had everything we could possibly need during our visit. Joe and Vicky made us feel incredibly welcome and really went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and special. Cut off from the rest of the world, we were able to explore the whole island and immerse ourselves in its wonderful habitats.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic cottage in an idyllic setting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anu C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A peaceful relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My sister, her kids, my mother and I have just spent three lovely days on Horsey Island. It's a great escape from the urban life. I feel pretty relaxed. There was plenty to do for everyone. The kids got to see friendly horses, jumping lambs and all manner of birds including geese that had come all the way from Siberia. We were made to feel very welcome. The thing I miss the most is the bed - it was the best mattress ever.

Date of stay: March 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Em1ko
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hooray for Horsey Island”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for one week with our three children (all under 5) and we had a fantastic time.

Vicki and her family made us feel very welcome and were great hosts with a personal and friendly touch.

The whole island is their farm and is crossed via a tidal causeway which adds to the adventure and uniqueness of this location. The island is beautiful and has a little bit of everything: beaches (sandy and pebbly), ponds and fields. Our children found the farm animals and wildlife both fascinating and exciting.

The cottage is spacious and comfortable with enough books, games and DVDs to keep our children occupied on the odd rainy day. The kitchen is well equipped and clean so we could cook a range of meals from chateaubriand to nachos! The bedrooms are good sizes and with warm bedding. There is a lovely outdoor space with a pond, lots of grass and beautiful views. Our children loved the regular visitors we would get; hares in the morning and peacocks during the day. Their best friend was a handsome pony called Floyd who lived next to the garden.

Out and about, we enjoyed the natural landscape and beauty of the island. Our SUV finally got the outing it deserved instead of the streets of London! Great fun!

On the mainland, there is good local produce with an excellent butchers, greengrocer and bakers in Frinton.

We give an enthusiastic two thumbs up to Island Cottage and Vicki and her family.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoAberd...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a unique place, with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Island Cottage is lovely and simple with stylish touches by Vicky - who (along with her husband Joe) are the most wonderful and welcoming hosts. Joe has lived on the island all his life and is a true English gentleman farmer and Vicky (an Aussie) is warm, friendly and fun. The island has beaches, lakes, open fields and is very beautiful. The animals are fantastic mother hens with little chicks scuttling around the place, sweet lambs everywhere (in April), two cute pigs, runner ducks and geese - all around the cottage. Plus a huge amount of birds to spot. We were very comfortable and cosy in the cottage, with a very welcoming wood burning stove perfect after a morning helping to feed the sheep.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was so attractive and comfortable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.