We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic B&B”

Uplands Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Uplands Guest House
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic B&B”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

5 nights with a 4 year old couldn't have been easier but if you're looking for more space then choose a Premier Inn. Great traditional seaside b&b, clean, tidy and very friendly. Price slightly on the high side but there again it was the middle of August and if you want to stay inside Frinton gates and really near shops and sea then this is one of only 3 options. That said, I felt it was good value for money with all the little extras, tea making facs, TV, free Wi-Fi, mini fridge all in place. Stairs are quite steep for the elderly and even little ones. Would happily recommend to family and friends. Tim & Fred

Room Tip: Rooms are by what you require so location not relevant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just travelled down to Frinton to take the Grand-kids back home,what a nightmare drive,having read some of the reviews... "spolit by dirty bay windows. received a very poor reception and made to feel a nuisance room dissapointing small issues not dealt with i.e. the wallpaper was comming off the wall in places, the cupboard..bla bla bla ." WHAT A LOAD OF CODSWALLOP....we were greeted within seconds by a most pleasant young lady who showed us to our room which was LOVELY,nothing was too much trouble..even had a mini fridge in the room,breakfast was EXCELLENT, 10 out of 10... RECOMMENDED
John and Andria 11/08/13

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Johnclegg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This B&B is exactly as described, a bed, and a breakfast, in an English seaside town. It is very business-like and does not pretend to offer more. In that, there are no complaints.

They were accomodating with a large family group and the breakfast was generous. The price is fair.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CF y Flia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

After a long journey from Newcastle and having to do some work in the town i needed a good nights sleep. I was shown to room 4 which is a single by the landlady and was more than happy with what it had to offer. Room was at the right temperature bed was comfortable with tea and coffee making as well. WIFi was free and the landlady even offered to make me breakfast earlier than her normal time as i had an early start back home. 10 out of 10 for this place will defiantly stay here again if I'm in the area

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Driller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Clean & tidy, good food, welcoming hosts. what more could you want?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a traditional B and B, the main plus of which is its' easy proximity to Frinton High Street, shops and tea rooms (5 mins walk)- and beach (10- 15 mins walk).

We found it perfectly comfortable and at £66 a night for a twin room with breakfast, it is good value. We did not drive, but car parking arrangements looked ample. The room was small, but cosy and did us fine. Wardrobe door was broken, but we didn't report this as we were not too bothered for one night. Tea and coffee in room. It was clean, ensuite and with a hot shower.

Ambience is definitely a little old fashioned, sort of a 1950's landlady type B and B. Yes, it could do with updating (and no doubt that would put the prices up), but we found it ideal as a good old-fashioned B and B with a nice breakfast. Freshly cooked, I must add, as the egg was done exactly to my friend's fussy instructions!

Welcome was pleasant, as was the service at breakfast. We were mildly disconcerted that there was noone to return the key too at 10 am but not too worried as it all seemed very trusting.

Overall summary- Not luxury accommodation, but priced accordingly, clean and in a good location, so suited us well for a good value break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

It was mine and my girlfriend Emma's first anniversary dating so we decided to go on a weekend break in frinton on sea so we found this guesthouse and stayed there two nights from

since the day we rung the doorbell we were well looked after by the owners while we were there, the double en suite we stayed in was a lovely room very comfy bed and warm even better we could make tea and coffee =) the best thing was the food, me and emma both had full english which was cooked to perfection especially the mushrooms!!! i would defiantly recommend Uplands guesthouse to any person/couple/families wishing to stay at a hotel in frinton. i can defiantly say I would be visiting again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frinton-On-Sea
3.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
5.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands Guest House

Property: Uplands Guest House
Address: 41 Hadleigh Road, Frinton-On-Sea CO13 9HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Frinton-On-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frinton-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Uplands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive Edwardian house, Uplands is situated in the quiet, timeless resort of Frinton-on-Sea. The town is renowned for its wide sandy beaches, attractive greensward and old world charm. Connaught Avenue, the main shopping street, was once known as "the Bond Street of East Anglia" and still boasts a fine array of individual shops, delicatessens, cafes and restaurants. Frinton Golf, Cricket and Tennis Clubs are nearby, all three hosting important championships. There is also the immensely popular and long established Summer Theatre, running for a six week season each summer since 1930. For those arriving by train, Frinton station is but a few minutes walk away. The towns of Clacton and Walton are both within easy reach, offering the livelier pursuits of pier and amusements. Nature lovers will enjoy the huge variety of wildlife in the surrounding countryside and backwaters, and the Roman town of Colchester - complete with a Roman castle, leisure centre and a variety of shops - is just a short train ride away! Centrally situated and close to all of these amenities, Uplands makes an ideal base from which to enjoy this peaceful spot and explore the surrounding area. Rooms are comfortable and well maintained with Televisions, radio alarm clocks and tea/coffee making facilities. We have one standard single, two single en-suites, one twin en-suite, one double en-suite and a family room en-suite. A choice of breakfasts is offered free of charge and special diets can be catered for. Children are welcome. There is ample off street parking for guests arriving by car. Free Wi-fi facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and LateRooms so you can book your Uplands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uplands Guest House Frinton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing