We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meal with a friend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barham's Restaurant

Barham's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small restaurant serving English and French style cuisine seating a maximum of 30 people. Private parties can be catered for.
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meal with a friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our first meal in Barhams and it was a most enjoyable experience. The restaurant is small which makes for a more 'intimate' atmosphere. The food was delicious and there was a wide selection of vegetables. The waiter was helpful and it was good to be able to see our food being prepared in the kitchen. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Purple_Dreamer_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Barham's Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your very nice comments. Yes we are a small restaurant but I also think that can add to the atmosphere. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Set lunch for a small group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not my favourit restaurant in Frinton but one which is going to attract interest as time goes on.
This is a relatively recently opened restaurant with a set menu available at lunchtime. i went with 5 others and we all enjoyed our meal. Although the menu was not wide it was interesting and the food well cooked and served without undue delay but not so quickly that you felt you were being chased out of the restaurant. As the restaurant is not on the main shopping street but on Old Road which is a road parallel to Connaught Avenue it does not catch so much of the passing trade but is gradually building up a reputation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tom's birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had been to Barham's once before and they certainly did not disappoint, meal was absolutely wonderful, service was the best received locally. Will certainly be going again very soon. Thank your Andrew and your team for a fabulous evening. xxxxx

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DisappointedofEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Barham's Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you all enjoyed the special birthday celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Front room dining experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Feeling like we were stepping into the proprietors lounge we were ushered to our table in front of the bar, on the bonkets. Served a 200ml mixer sized coke and an orange juice in a lip stick stained glass, I was already less than impressed. I went for the twice baked soufflé to start, a bad choice in retrospect. It bore no resembelence to what I know of a soufflé, more like an overcooked cheesy Yorkshire pudding. It was quite possibly the worst thing I have ever tried from an a la carte restaurant. I held out no hope for the mains, I ordered the easiest thing I could imagine on the menu, the gammon and eggs, my partner had the chicken with cous cous. Neither were inspirational, mediocre at best. For the price I paid and the food I ate I felt truly underwhelmed. I would not go back to the new worst restaurant in frinton, a title fiercely fought over.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Miseenplacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Barham's Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I was very disappointed to read this review as I have not had any complaints in the restaurant itself since opening. It was also disappointing that the customers didn't feel that they could raise their issues with me directly giving me the opportunity to put right any problems that they felt they had. It is always preferable to raise any complaints at the time in that way the customer has a much better experience and doesn't leave feeling aggrieved. Regarding "front room dining experience", décor is always a matter of personal taste and I have had many compliments on the fixtures and fittings. This is a small restaurant recently opened and I appreciate and welcome any constructive criticisms in order to improve customer satisfaction and standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frinton on sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We enjoyed a Sunday lunch, choosing from the set menu. The food was very good and excellent value for money. It was lovely to eat in a 'proper' restaurant rather than in one of the many 'pub' restaurants. The meal was relaxed and the restaurant had a nice ambience. Holiday makers are in for a treat this year with the opening of Barhams.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FrintonOnSeaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barham's Restaurant also viewed

Frinton-On-Sea, Essex
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex
 
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Barham's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing