We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My new husband and I spent our wedding night here, when we arrived, and got into our room, we were OMG WOW! very contemporary really really lush, but was so hot in the room, we had to open the windows, but its very noisy as its in town. Kettle in room, tea coffee etc provided.
To be honest we were so tired we had a huge bed each!!!lol, breakfast was included next day, very nice staff, cant do enough for you. Breakfast hot cooked breakfast with everything, which was to die for, and cereals, toast etc, coffee, juice, we ate loads, because we love our food.. I would recommend the hotel, its gorgeous, but take on board the heat in the room, and the street noise, take earplugs...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Karen L, thank you for the excellent review, we do have fans that we could have offered you for the bedrooms so the windows wouldn’t of needed to be opened, I hope that you can come back to the hotel, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Grand Hotel this week for a business trip. Our room was on the third floor (at the top) and was clean and comfortable. We found the hotel and our room stifilingly hot with radiators full on in the corridors. That said it was warm outside too. The parapets of the top floor are favoured as roosts by the local herring gulls who argue about their positions .... they also woke up earlier than us - at about 5am - and their squawking was really loud - you can't sleep through it! Also watch out for the limited parking allocated by the hotel on a first come first served basis. There is also a free municipal car park next to the hotel as long as you leave it before 8.30am .... the bad news ... it is below the herring gull roosts so expect a few 'deposits' on your car!

Overall a good place to stay but if you ask for a quiet room you may end up on the third floor with the far from quiet gulls!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear John H, Thank you for your review, I am sorry about the issue with the seagulls, we are trying new measure to hopefully stop them nesting around the building, we have invested in a new hawk kite which is doing the job at the moment, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Grand twice. I found that the room layout and decor is quite contemporary considering the age and style of the building. We were delightfully surprised considering their rates!

Parking is a bit of an issue and the majority of it is in the council parking next door. You have to move the car by 08:00 in the morning or get a fine. The other parking bays are outside the job centre and these fill up quick.

The restaurant was brilliant. I have never had such good value for money meals. Eat between 17:00 - 18:45 three course meal for £4.45. Where else can you have that! The staff were really excellent (restaurant and hotel).

The rooms are hot, there is not escaping from that. Our first room had a fan, the second visit didn't.

Room 316 is amazing! If you stay in one of the back rooms you will have to endure the bottles being thrown into the skip all night and this can and will wake you.

The other slight problem is the youths wallking and shouting drunkedly about the town at night. This is not the hotels fault and is perhaps a matter for the law enforcement. The hotel can help by installing airconditioning and then you won't be forced to keep your windows open. I was forced to buy earplugs from Boots to get some sleep after a sleepless night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel - Top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Jules0131, thank you for the excellent review on our hotel and restaurant, I am sorry for the noise that you had incurred and if you come back again we will put a note on your reservation to be in a quiet room, Kind regards craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here 14th July for one night found the hotel receptionist to be really friendly and helpful.Our room was very spacious and the bed was one of the comfiest we have ever slept in.Only thing that spoiled the room was a large damp patch on one of the walls but the building is over 100 years old and is in good condition for its age.Unable to use the main bar as a private party was taking place might be worth checking when you book.Hotel is near the coast so expect to be woken by seagulls.Breakfast was self service eat as much as you want, real value for money.Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELBOY160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear delboy1960, Thank you for your kind review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will use us again, Kind Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed there last weekend as part of a coach trip, it was our base while we visited Beamish.
We had a twin room on the 3rd floor which was huge. 2 twin beds in one room and 2 pushed together in the other. A double wardrobe with a little box of drawers in it that held our drawers and nothing else!! Chest of drawers a necessity, we had to keep everything that wouldn't hang up in our cases. Lovely warm rooms and comfy beds but why no hot water in the shower? We were ready for a shower when we arrived but it wasn't even tepid so I went down to reception to ask did it only come on a a certain time, and was told 'no, but you have to let it run for 14 or 15 minutes 'til it gets warm, we do have a lot of rooms you know'. We had to make do as best we could with cool water.
I was looking forward to a good breakfast, I always have the lot when on holiday, but again was disappointed. Nice bacon, tasty but undercooked sausages, no fried eggs only scrambled each morning we were there. Plenty of options ie black pudding, mushrooms, beans,hash browns, and cereals, juices etc. And worst of all it was all on cold plates! One morning we came down to find the plates stacked at the end of the table right in the way of a draught from the open door. We walked to our table on the first morning hoping to find tea and toast but no, we had to go back to the serving table to toast our own.
Dinners were no better, only 2 choices for each course and one day the starter was tomato soup or tomato bruchetta. Hard luck if you don't like tomatoes! Main courses were both 'fancified' with sauces, dressings and the like. why doesn't anyone serve good plain cooking any more? Is it because they have to dress up their cooking to disguise the fact that it isn't cooked well?
On our last night the main course was pork 'dressed up with lemon sauce' or plaice dressed up too. We resorted to room service and had lovely fish and chips which just went to prove they could cook after all. The problem is there are too many chefs on tv and they feel they have to copy them.
The wait between courses on our second night was about 20 - 25mins because they'd lost our menu sheet - which was given them the night before. Also the veg followed the plates by about 5mins and the roast potatoes were almost black and should never have been served. Four full dishes of veg went back as by the time they arrived people had cleared their plates of the main course which was going cold - again, not served on hot plates!
I'm sorry but I definitely wouldn't stay there again, it didn't live up to it's name at all.

Room Tip: Check out the shower before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Tythe, Thank you for taking the time to write a report on your stay, i am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the Grand Hotel and we always to try and make every guests stay enjoyable and i would like to apologise for not meeting these expectations, Kind regards Craig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Not expecting a lot given we only paid £19 on late rooms but we were pleasantly surprised and really liked this hotel. On arrival, parking is in council offices c/park adjoining. Receptionists very nice and helpful once they know you are not hassling to book in early!! Shopping centre and immediate area are a bit dire but head off to the marina/docks and take a walk around the Maritime experience and HMS Trincomalee. Back to the hotel, the room was really nicely done out, modern decor, good bed, comfortable and warm. Bathroom was old and dated but huge and functional. There was a locals wedding reception going on so the bar was full of triple roll necks and tatoos...the blokes were pretty scary too! To be fair, although there were more skinheads than a BNP convention, they were all friendly and chatty. We were on the top floor so the disco was only a distant noise only as walls and floors so thick. We went to the Italian restaurant in the basement which was good value, had a superb atmosphere, great service and fantastic food. Monster breakfast in the morning. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the top floor to escape any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harv1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Harv1909, thank you for you comments and we will hopefully look forward to seeing you return back to the Grand, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 22 May to 22 June 2012 while on business. I found this hotel perfect for my work situation at Seal Sands. The staff were very friendly and some names of people who went out of their way to be helpful and friendly are: Jill and Rachel (reception), Marcus, Gavin and all the staff in the Italian Restaurant including my friend Nejib; Johnny and Paul in the bar and the other bar staff who were also good. If I am working near Hartlepool again, I will definitely stay here.
Furthermore, the food in the restaurant was superb and very reasonably priced.
Good stay.
The only 'down side' is the noise from 'rock bands etc.' on a Friday night, but in fairness to the hotel the groups do finish at 11pm so this wasn't a problem for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with double bed, and far away from any music / noise on a Friday night. My room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKMorison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear CKmorison1, Thank you for writing a nice review and identifying certain members of our team, i will make sure they are made aware. Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
235 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
143 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel

Address: Swainson Street, Hartlepool TS24 8AA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range: £50 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing