We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand in Size”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is typical of a Victorian 'Railway Hotel' the likes of which can be found near any major railway station throughout England. Built in the heyday of the railways at the latter end of the 19th century (a date stone dates it to circa1899) it is truly a grand hotel. The aesthetics of the beautiful staircase greeting you in the lobby has been destoyed by the need to put a lift in the middle of the spiral and has so destroyed what was once its major feature. But guests needs must take precedent over aesthetics!
In general our stay was without complaint and the hotel and staff were as you would expect from a hotel that subscribes to the Best Western chain. It would be wise to be aware of the hotels parking arrangements. It does not have an 'attached car park' but uses a public car park immediately in front of the local job centre and this is not very easy to identify when you are a first time guest at the hotel and trying to find the car park in a strange town. Both ourselves and the other party we were travelling with had to stop and phone the hotel for directions before properly identifying the correct parking area. The hotel issues a parking permit to cover you for the days you are staying with them to display on your windscreen. Parking your car on a weekday in front of the local job centre may not be to everybody's idea of a secure and proper place to park!
The main bar is also very popular with the locals and majors on sky sports, so is very noisy and again would not be to everybody's idea of a place for a relaxing drink after a long drive. The draught beers were supplied by a never heard of before brewery and it didn't help that the barman didn't know what a pint of bitter was!!! Best to go to Wetherspoons, 5 minutes walk away!
Overall our stay was uneventfull, breakfasts were good, rooms were a good size and comfortable and the price paid was reflective of the service the hotel gave. No complaints and we would probably stay there again if we needed to.

Room Tip: Top floor will give you the chance of a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTreborM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear JTreborM, Thank you for writing a review on our tripadvisor page, i am happy that you enjoyed your stay whilst in Hartlepool, I am sorry to hear about your experience in our hotels bar and i have spoken to the relevant manager who ensures that more staff training is given, Kind Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

The hotel has comfortable rooms with all the normal things you would expect (tea, coffee, ironing board). Nothing exceptional.
I stayed here for 3 weeks for work and the advantage was its closeness to amenities within the town). The hotel professes an "arrangement" with the Springs gym but the reception staff knew nothing about it.

The restaurant - a few different issues :
They seem to have what I can only describe as an identity crisis. They advertise themselves as Italian but really it seems more of a mixed bag with lots of different steaks and sauces combinations, lots of chicken dishes, even stroganoff with rice and a few pasta and pizza dishes thrown in.

I did have a fillet steak which was really tender and the prices are reasonable however the two Ita
Ian dishes I tried over a couple of weeks were not impressive. Their Percival meat pizza is totally indelible nod nobody even queried he fact that I left it uneaten. As for their meatballs and linguini - I am convinced the sauce came out of a bottle.

The restaurant also should do something about the flies - very unpleasant.
The other action they should take is to update their cutlery.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor - attic rooms so you can't stand up in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Sandra M, Thank you for writing a review on our trip advisor page, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the restaurant, you have made some points that we will be addressing, thank you for your feedback, Kind Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we had a good night at this hotel, nice and cosy with good staff, we also went downstairs to the "parmo's" to eat, this does not belong to the hotel but they do some good offers together, we had a three course meal that was really good value for money, they also do the breakfast for the hotel, it was a buffet of hot and cold food and you just filled your plate and went back for more if you needed it. all in all we had a geat time at the grand hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy_transit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Tommy_transit, We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and will hopefully see you in the near future, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have sopped at the grand a number of times so let have a quick review of my time there
First off it’s a beautiful building and as you come through the main entrance up the steps to reception you are always met with a smile and a nice greeting from the person on the reception. You notice that the staff greeting is an individual greeting by this I mean me I like to be called by my fist name other will be met by a Mr Sir or madam they have the knack of just knowing how you like to be addressed

Then off to the room these are big very clean and the huge beds are the best I have ever slept in as soon as you lay down your asleep

The bath rooms are very clean and there is always plenty of hot water for me the only let down is the standard plastic glasses in the bath rooms I hate these

Then it down to the bar it’s a huge bar again the staff are very pleasant and they show all the football on large screen TVs but if this is not your thing there is a quiet area at the side couple of beers then the restaurant well the food there must be the best in Hartlepool not just because of the taste and quality but for a hotel the have a very extensive menu and at reasonable prices too again noting is to much trouble for the staff (I think they must get paid extra to be so nice and helpful )

Off to bed for a good nights sleep in the mornings when you bump into the housekeeping staff again all smiles and nice greeting

All in all this is a good hotel with very comfortable rooms and good food I think it must be a family run hotel as there is one guy Gavin he looks like he is one of triplets as he work in every department he’s every were

But jokes side for me this is a great friendly hotel cant say more than that

Room Tip: every room i have had has been very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Tony B, Thank you for the positive review, i will pass your kind comments to Gavin who will be delighted to hear them, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

The warm welcome of the receptionist Gavin is always a great start to the stay, we were upgraded to an executive room as we had stayed before, the room was very spacious and clean. The room was facing the direction of the sea but we weren't able to see it. Dinner on both nights was excellent and good value for money, breakfast was also good and they were able to accommodate my girlfriends allergies, overall excellent stay and great value for money

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poolie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear poolie247, Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again the near future, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Excellent hotel with superb staff and lovely food. Our room was nice, spacious and clean. All staff throughout the hotel and restaurant are extremely friendly and kind. The hotels restaurant "Tavistock" is fantastic with attentive staff. We would like to say a special thanks to the hotel reception team and the restaurant team especially Emma b, Jonathan and Marcus for their kindness during our stay. We will see you again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodygoofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Foodygoody, Congratulations on your engagement and we at Best Western Western Grand Hotel wish you all the best for the future, Thank you for your kind review and will look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I have to stay over a number of times for business trips. Accept the reviews on the big rooms, fairly good service with friendly staff. However....very creaky and ageing hotel. Hot, stuffy rooms, zero water pressure if you get a room on the 3rd floor, kitchen at breakfast time is regularly without hot food and bathrooms could mostly do with an upgrade...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Vip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear 8vip, I am sorry that we didn’t serve your correctly on this stay, if you were to visit us again you can personally speak to me regarding your comments and I will make sure that your next stay would be perfect, Kind Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
235 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
143 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel

Address: Swainson Street, Hartlepool TS24 8AA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range: £49 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing