We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, central location, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hotel, central location, value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have just stayed at the grand hotel with a group of friends and had an excellent stay. The staff were friendly and courteous, its a great central location for shopping and for the nightlife in the town and the marina. The room was modern, the bed was comfy which meant I got a good nights sleep.

We ate in the hotel restaurant "Grand Central" and found it had a good choice and was reasonably priced.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear JazzyBunny, Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    134
    75
    40
    31
See reviews for
77
129
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berwick
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for one night; asked for quiet room & was assured allocated room (2nd floor) would be fine; function two floors below made floor vibrate; staff however arranged a more satisfactory change; staff positive & welcoming; rooms well refurbished. If you want a quiet room go to the 3rd floor & check whether there is a function that night.
Grand Central diner exceptional value; breakfast absolutely fine

Room Tip: Avoid function nights / upper floors likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Colin6612, Thank you for your review of the hotel, I am sorry that you were disturbed from the noise from the function room, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst on business. Hotel Service was excellent, restaurant naive. Room was a bit stuffy (you can turn off the radiator, but not the 3" bore pipe that leads up to it!). Opening the window (& getting it to stay open) & operating the blind, 3 floors up is certainly a challenge, not for the faint hearted. Big bathroom, but no bath. Restaurant - my meal experience, the little of it that I could eat, was one of the worst I've ever had. Conversely, the breakfast, is pretty good. I had no problem with the reserved parking across the road (don't forget to get a displayable pass from reception on arrival). Room/bed excellent - really comfy, even my single. If you've ordered a morning paper don't be tempted to expect to read it whilst breakfasting (unless you take the latest sitting)! Quaint, but endurable, & probably reassuringly comforting once you get used to the Grand House style. It's definitely worth another try. All in all about a 3.1/2 to 4.

Room Tip: Asked for top floor room (for quietness) but discovered the pigeons & seagulls had the same idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Lee Michael d, Thank you for your review, i am sorry that you didn't enjoy our restaurant meal but am happy you found breakfast enjoyable, We will hope to see you soon, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We just arrived back from the grand hotel, I've stayed a few times before & we love it!! The hotel is in a excellent location for the pubs & shops. The marina is just a short drive or about a 20 min walk, it's has some lovely little bars & restaurants. There are plenty of taxi ranks in & around Hartlepool as well. The hotel has a bar & parmos Italian restaurant down stairs, they also serve the breakfast in there on the morning. The rooms are smart & spacious, with a super king size bed, the only thing that could be update is the showers. The staff are all very helpful & pleasant. We stayed on the £40 Friday offer, this included a 3 course meal or anything on the menu for upto £15 each, a bottle of house wine & 3 free drinks tokens to use at the bar( any drinks as well)£80 for a couple is excellent value for money & I hope they continue on with this offer. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickbi1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Vicki, Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Really very good value - best points were the very comfy bed and the freshly cooked breakfast. Hotel a little bit dated, but staff very pleasant and professional, parking was easy. Central position, but also easy to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Rachel S, Thank you for the kind comments and glad you enjoyed our breakfast and comfortable beds, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

From the very beginning the people at The Grand Hotel have been extremely helpful and have allowed us to shoot a murder mystery on the premises. It is a beautiful building and was ideal for the project I shooting... I would definitely love to come back. Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Jaesm C, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
Address: Swainson Street, Hartlepool TS24 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing